We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Campsite & Meal”
Review of Green Dragon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Dragon Inn
Ranked #17 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The campsite is located by a picturesque waterfall. The pub was cosy. We had roast beef & lamb dinners and they were good. The toilets were ok. The full breakfast was good but we did not like the sausage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I arranged 12 people from a cricket team to have a weekend in the Dales, we stayed in the bunk house accommodation which is similar pricing to what you would expect from YHA (if not a little cheaper).

The beds were extremely comfortable. Far far more so than you would ever get in YHA - the place was clean and well kept. From the 12 of us, not a single complaint.

The hightlight though, has to be the pub. This is a pub as pubs were intended to be. Character oozes from the walls, it is the polar opposite of the high street conveyor belt pubs that crop up all over these days. Prices range - most beers I had cost £3.45 a pint, which I find perfectly acceptable for a rural, independent business, especially one which clearly reinvests so much of its gross profits back into maintaining such high levels of nostalgia.

I looked on here before going and was somewhat concerned by the negativity - much of which was about Yvonne (the dragon). If you really got offended by her then, sorry, but you need to get a sense of humour, Mark and Yvonne are great inn keepers, know their trade and look after their punters. Both Mark and Yvonne came over had a chat and a laugh whilst we were drinking some exceptionally well kept beer and the atmosphere was great throughout the whole weekend. If you want a yes sir, no sir, silver spoon up you style of atmosphere then perhaps go somewhere else - this is more for real people. You are made to feel welcome - there is no doubt about that.

The only reason I could (reluctantly) not give the Green Dragon 5 out of 5 is because we were disappointed somewhat by the food, it wasnt as bad as some have made out, but the menu is uninspiring and execution really was quite poor, which is a shame. We therefore ended up eating in Hawes the second and third nights but even with that this is without a doubt the best pub I have ever been to (and I have been to a lot of real ale pubs). We will certainly be spending more weekends here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived here as a group 9 of us in total 3 adults and 6 children. On arrival we were met by a lovely lady who took payment and told us to camp where we wanted. We pitched up on the top field a bit rocky in places but as we had children we went where it was quieter. The waterfall is wonderful and a very unique addition to the campsite. The only downside is that there is no washing up facilities you have to boil water ect don't forget a washing up bowl, however we mentioned this and were told to go to pub kitchen and use the facilities in there. The toilets and showers are lovely clean and warm lots of hot water. The visitor centre could really do so much more by stocking and selling bread milk ect. We had a meal in the pub which is lovely and food was good too. Again its a shame the pub doesn't serve a breakfast for campers as we ended up going into hawes where we spotted a few other campers from the site all having a breakfast.
Overall we all enjoyed this trip the site is not commercialised and very relaxed the welcome from the owners was brilliant. Looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purvismcginnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and i decided to have a couple of nights camping here after seeing the place on a BBC programme. Our stay was part of a months camping trip in and around the Yorkshire Dales and the West Lakes.

We arrived at The Green Dragon Inn in Hawes and were shown to the camping area and we count our selves as very lucky to have camped in such an atmospheric setting, with the 30m Hardraw Force Waterfall at the head of Hardraw Scaur, a few minutes walk up the stoney path from the camping ground, which itself was next to the flowing Hardaw Beck river. There are some very nice facilities for campers here, with a free 24hr hot water modern shower/toilet block and ample water taps around the site. My only criticism of the site is that these facilities would not be enough at peak season.

The Green Dragon itself is quite a charming little place, with open fire, regular live music, some delicious ales and great, friendly staff. We didn't get a chance to sample any of the food unfortunately!

There are plenty of walking and cycling routes around this area so you won't be short of options and the staff at the Inn know the area well, but by far and away the best local attraction, for us, was the Wensleydale cheese factory (to be reviewed soon!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sockjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Owner at Green Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Sockjockey

Thanks for your positive review and comments on the inn and campsite. The latter is run as an ancillary to the pub. We do not take bookings and in high season we refer those we cannot accommodate to our good friends who have a farm campsite in the village, they have three fields so everyone can be accommodated! Naturally this means there are enough facilities for our numbers, however I am continually improving the premises year on year so watch this space. Next job a wash up area!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Arrived after cycling through some of the most beautiful countryside I have ever seen; the fabulous Yorkshire Dales. Nice clean campsite in the best setting. Clean, but limited shower/wash facilities! had to hand over a £20 deposit on payment for our pitch (be prepared you will need lots of cash if staying) for what exactly we could not fathom? what they thought we would run off with I do not know! prices extortionate in the pub £ 3.80 for a pint of Timothy Taylors Landlord? and not the best kept either, Come on guys! just because you are out in the sticks, don't rip us off. Would not be so bad if you kept a good pint. My advice; go camping there, it is great but cook for yourself on site and take a few tins.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Owner at Green Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Andrew

You can learn about the economics of the real ale side of my business if you care to read my reply to Moorsiders comments of July 8th 2013. Perhaps you had a cloudy pint it happens sometimes..

As to camping deposits, these are priced at ten pounds per tent per stay. Initially brought in to pay for reinstatement of grass areas burnt and damaged by fires lit without permission. In recent years we have managed through the deposit system to get rid of a certain element of negligent camper. Sadly however from time to time we found people booking in for one night and staying for two before making a run for it in the early morning! So the deposit goes a small way to helping avoid that one!

If you had looked around you and seen the two avenues of new lime trees, the five hundred pounds worth of recent beech hedging which will in time give the campers extra privacy and as from this week the new rockery and pathway you will realise we are people committed to giving back and not graspers - as your comment implies.

Come again and talk to me, you will go away with an understanding of what we put in - and how little we take out..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked b&b as a stop on the Pennine Way. On booking we were told we were in a self-catering apartment but on b&b terms, no problems with that. The accommodation looked great, just the space to stretch out we needed after a very long walk on a very hot day. However, there were no hangers in the wardrobe, cleaning could have been more thorough and there was no milk to make a drink though tea, coffee etc were in the kitchen. The kitchen was stripped of most of the utensils, presumably because we were on b&b terms but some milk should have been available. We were so exhausted that neither of us could be bothered to go back to the pub after we had showered. If we had done so I'm sure the missing items would have been provided. At 8am we tried to go for breakfast but couldn't find the way into the pub we had used the night before. When we finally got in, about 8.10am, the tables were not ready and we had to ask for milk so we could eat our cereal. It wasn't easy to hold a conversation with the staff as they seemed to have very little English. We could have done more about making our feelings known at the time but, with another long walk ahead and a relatively late start, we needed to be on our way. These things seem very petty and could have been resolved at the time but, at £90 per night we expect standards to be higher than we found here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Owner at Green Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Come on Barc!

By your own admission your points are 'petty and could have been resolved at the time'
You were tired and 'could not be bothered'.
The kitchen was 'stripped out because we were having b and b"! Do you think for a second we would contemplate such an idea?
Here's a tip: Stick with the walking and enjoy life for what it is really all about - none of us have as long as we think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We go here for a long weekend yearly camping trip as a large group. The site is clean, friendly and is set in beautiful countryside close to the village. Excellent for getting away and spending time outdoors. Will continue to visit each year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kittycat201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Myrtle House B&B
Myrtle House B&B
#23 of 23 in Hawes
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Dragon Inn

Address: Hardraw, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: $15 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old fashion 13th century Inn with open fireplace and live music, Dog friendly 8 en suite rooms, 1 self catered apartments, 11 bunk rooms sleeping 2-8 per room New management as of the 6th of September. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Hawes
Green Dragon Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing