We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2008

After searching the net and reading reviews on here my husband and I booked this hotel for two nights for a relaxing, romantic getaway and were not disappointed by our choice of location. The area itself was gorgeous- the view from our window (room 19, in the coach house) down into the valley towards Hawes was stunning! And the room itself was lovely with a wonderful four-poster bed, sofa, tv, dvd player and a nice sized bathroom. The staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay (particularly when we requested more after dinner chocolate mints and some bonus chocolates in the night we didn’t eat in the restaurant!). We did notice that at age 26 and 25 respectively we were the youngest guests by at least a decade but this did not affect our customer service or enjoyment! Though we did feel a little conspicuous as we pulled into the car park in our Ford KA and had to park between BMW’s, Mercedes and land rovers.

At £30 a head we only ate in the restaurant on one evening but the food was delicious and worth the cost- the cheese board was especially good! We had breakfast on both mornings though and thoroughly enjoyed the choice which included a cold/starter choice (gorgeous local yoghurt, porridge, toast, croissants, muesli etc) and hot/main choice (full cooked breakfast, kippers etc). The hotel had lovely gardens and plenty to do including play snooker or sit in the reading room. We were particularly impressed by the extensive library, which included a dvd’s for watching in your room.

Due to bad allergies I am not a “pet person” so was a little concerned about the hotel’s “pet’s welcome” policy. I was pleasantly surprised by just how clean and well kept the hotel was despite there being a number of guests with pooches. It was slightly noisy at times as there was a dog howling in the bedroom next to us but generally speaking the hotel was lovely and peaceful. The conservatory rooms looks super for guests with pets and have access right onto the lovely lawn area.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family of all ages and would love to return there with my husband one day… perhaps when we drive a bigger car though? And next time I’d love to have time for a trip to the spa also.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Weenursekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 421 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2008

only stayed one night on 17th may, the room was very clean, the staff very efficient but friendly with it .plenty to do in the hotel itself with a library room and snooker room and plenty of comfortable seating to sit and relax just wished we had been able to stay longer.the dinner and breakfast menus were very good the food delicious.would recommend anyone to stay here ,we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dizzy0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We stayed at the Stone House Hotel for the night to celebrate my 40th Birthday and even though it was only one night, I left feeling like I had been away for a week. We had Room No 1 in the main house, an extremely spacious four poster room with en-suite bathroom. I disagree with the visitor who said the bath towels were too small, this is the first hotel I've stayed in for years where the towels did fit around your middle!
The hotel is charming, very clean and comfortable and the website does not do it justice. The staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I was treated to a facial and aqua detox footspa with Kathy in the spa and it was an experience not to be missed. By the time you finish your treatments you feel like you have made a new friend and I felt totally relaxed and pampered.
The meal in the restaurant was delicious and the same for the breakfast, with good choices for both. There is a well stocked bar and several rooms where you can relax to enjoy a drink.
We will definately be back later in the year and I can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaffYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Stone House Hotel Hawes
Date: 6th,7th & 8th March 2008
Reviewer: Penny, Bedfordshire.
We have just returned from having a short break at the Stone House Hotel.
We stayed in room 17 in the coach house. The rooms were comfortably furnished with everything you could want.
The hotel staff couldn't do enough to help, they were kind, thoughtful, polite curteous and friendly.
I'm sure there were some pubs or restaurants around the area but as we were only staying for two night we chose to eat in the restaurant. I'm glad we did, the food was of an excellent standard.
We didn't have to wait any length of time to be served, but at the same time we had the impression our table was ours for as long as we wanted, we weren't hurried in any way.
The Stone House is situated in the national park area and the views are fantastic. To wake up in the mornings and look out of the window at the sites of the dales is a privilege.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will surely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Stayed here for just one night with my elderley father when the weather was absolutely beautiful - the surrounding countryside looked stunning. We were in room 18 (Coach House) which had a wonderful view across the valley to Hawes. Accommodation, food and atmosphere of the hotel were perfect - very comfortable and welcoming. Would love to come back for longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maggiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Have just returned from a weekend at the Stone House Hotel and it was absolutely gorgeous. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the owners who showed us to our room and was very friendly and happy to answer any questions we had. The four course meal in the evening was preceded by a lovely glass of wine in the lounge area which is beautifully decorated with wood panelling, log fire and leather couches, perfect for relaxing in. The dinner itself was fantastic, both in terms of quality, choice and service, and we didn't feel rushed at any point. The room was small but cosy and had a lovely view of the countryside, sheep included! Breakfast was delicious, with waitress service and a large choice of hot and cold dishes. Overall perfect place for a romantic getaway and left us both feeling refreshed and relaxed. Would definitely recommend and would go again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Stone House for our wedding anniversary, with our dog. We had a wonderful stay, nothing was too much trouble and we were treated like valued guests. All the staff without exception were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the coach house room 19 which had a 4 poster bed. The room was very clean and presented nicely. The view was second to none, green fields with sheep, running water and a church. The food was plentiful and delicious. I can say that there was only one downside, the bath towels were not nearly big enough. You are provided with one bath and one hand towel each and it barely met around our middles! So my advice would be to go and stay at the hotel, especially if you are looking for romance, but take an extra towel with you!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faeriewings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
610 reviews
17.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
357 reviews
15.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: $167 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing