We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from the stone house as a birthday treat for my boyfriend , could not fault this place , our room (19) was lovely four poster bed tv tea and coffee facilities and a mini bar and also had an amazing view , the staff were friendly and professional at all times especially Martin . The food was to die for and plentiful .we walked into hawes which takes about 20 mins which is worth a visit especially the creamery , all in all we had a fantastic weekend despite the weather and will defiantly be returning . Vicky and Adrian , ps we left our bag of cheese in your fridge :-(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickymckirdy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    70
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
249
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just spent four nights here with my husband and in-laws. It was the first time here for my husband and myself but the in-laws had been here on numerous occasions, hence why we were there!

My husband and I had a room over looking the conservatory rooms at the back and we found the bedroom to be fine but the bathroom which just housed a shower, loo and sink to be quite small and only big enough for one to be in there at a time.

The service at breakfast and dinner time was excellent with all the staff being very helpful and attentive. There was a good choice to choose from at each meal and something to suit every ones taste. I am sure if you have any dietary needs then they would be able to accommodate you!

There is a small bar in the lobby with seating and most people congregated here either before dinner or after, to have a pre-dinner drink or to take your coffee after your meal! It was a very good place to talk to other guests to find out where they had been that day and gave you some idea for you to do the next!

Stone House Hotel is a family run business and invites owners with their dogs to stay. We only encountered one dog whilst we were there but not sure what it would be like with lots of them around. It is a lovely place to stay and would recommend it to other people, who wants a home from home hotel experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked one night in a Standard Double Room at The Stone House Hotel based on reviews and photographs. We arrived to see the beautiful exterior and received a warm welcome. Unfortunately, we were then extremely disappointed to be allocated a very small room (which, in comparison to the others on the website, we would describe as a box room) with a 4'6" bed (No. 16). A 5' bed would not have fitted as the two bedside tables alongside the bed completely filled the width between the room walls. Although the bathroom fitments appeared new, the decoration of the room was quite inferior, with wallpaper coming adrift.
In addition, the room appeared to be above the hotel kitchen from which there was noise and voices until 11.00pm and then again from 7.00am.
On the plus side, breakfast in the dining room was served with smiles and was of very good quality.
Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to voice our disappointment as we were anticipating the usual 'We hope you enjoyed your stay? / Was everything ok for you?' on our departure.
The £135 charge for room and breakfast was, we feel, very high for the standard of this room. As we said, very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raycasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It is always disappointing when a guest leaves unhappy, especially when you try very hard to do the best you can. In difficult economic times, when money is particularly tight for everybody, poor reviews by "Expert Travel Reviewers" can do a great deal of harm, particularly when there are so many incorrect points. I personally asked you if you had a good time, and if everything was ok, You made no comment. Yes some of our rooms are smaller than others, this is made very clear on our web site, and on- going improvements are a continuous process. If some things were not quite right I apologise, but we would have been much happier to hear of any issues directly from you while you were here. Then they could have been sorted on the spot, We pride ourselves on our personal, friendly service, and always, as mentioned try our very hardest. Reviews like this are hurtful, untrue, and do not reflect who, or what we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved this place, it was in a picturesque area of the Yorkshire Dales. The village of Hawes which was about 5 minutes drive was a lovely place to explore. The hotel provided a cosy and homely base to explore the Dales. The rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The whole hotel was overwhelmingly charming and well run. The rooms had a kettle and access to a communal fridge that contained fresh milk and bottled water. There is plenty of on sight parking. Dogs are permitted at this hotel and sometimes there was a lingering smell of wet dog.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 with 2 rooms and chose the hotel because of excellent reviews and the fact that we could bring our Labrador. We stayed in mid-April when there was still plenty of snow around and whilst it was cold outside, the welcome could not have been warmer. We had a standard room for the children which was fairly plain but had everything you could need and the adults went for the four-poster room which is absolutely beautiful with great views.

They made the dog extremely welcome and it was allowed in most parts of the hotel except where food is served. They even have a walled dog exercise area next to the car park.

The hotel is very well positioned being a very pretty 30 minute walk into the market town of Hawes or a 5-10 minute drive.

Breakfast was high quality Yorkshire food with great sausages and bacon.We had a large family dinner in the evening and they looked after us very well. I would classify the food as 'posh Yorkshire' i.e. good portions, locally sourced, well cooked but not too fancy.

All in all a wonderful hotel, only a shame we didn't stay for longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, anada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel en route to the Lake District, but wish we could have stayed longer. The public rooms are charming and welcoming. Although we stayed in one of the smaller guest rooms, it was attractive and well furnished. The bathroom was smallish but had all the necessary ingredients. The location, only a lovely one-mile walk from Hawes, would have been ideal for hiking in the area. Our dinner was very good and breakfast the next morning--included in the room price--offered an amazing number of choices. Best of all was the outstanding service-with-a-smile from everyone we encountered. Special commendations to Josh who went out of his way to be friendly and accommodating. The only flaw, and it was a small one, was a temperamental shower, which may well be fixed by the time this review appears.

Room Tip: If you book one of the less expensive rooms, make sure that you get one of the refurbished ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many many times over the last few years and being a member of the ever growing Stone house family of ever returning clientele I am starting to run out of superlatives to describe the place
The welcome as always is genuinely warm the food is a culinary experience the breakfast is beautiful and I although We do our best never manage to quite finish the excellent dinners
A special thank you to the wonderful staff who really do go the extra mile and can't do enough for you particularly this weekend when we spent the weekend celebrating our Wedding Anniversary they were wonderful
Hotel is located over looking the village of Hawes and is an ideal base for touring if you are a walker it's Heaven already booked up for September which can't come quick enough

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 540PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
23.7 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing