We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended: excellent service, food, decor and location”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended: excellent service, food, decor and location”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Stone House hotel for a couple of nights in August 2012 and cannot praise this hotel highly enough.

Peaceful location:
The Stone House is a small hotel bursting with charm. It is set in a peaceful location just outside of Hawes but within easy walking distance of the centre of the village (about a 15-minute walk). There is no traffic noise at all but the hotel does not feel remote as the village is just down the lane (no pavement for part of route). It's in an ideal location for walkers as footpaths are on the doorstep.

High quality food:
The food at the hotel really is fantastic. They serve high quality produce, cooked well and presented beautifully. I enjoyed every meal I had. The dining room is decorated in a warm farmhouse style in keeping with the age of the property, which makes for a cosy and relaxing atmosphere. Each bedroom has an assigned table at breakfast and the food is brought to you by the waiting staff. You are never hurried at mealtimes.

Public rooms:
The two lounges and one snooker room are tastefully decorated with heavy furnishings, antique objects and lots of armchairs. You can sit and read in peace or play snooker.

Small-ish standard rooms:
Some guests have complained about the small size of the standard rooms and this is true. We had a standard room (with bath) on the first floor. The room was a little on the small side but it was warm, clean and had views over the garden and dales. Do not equate "small" with "pokey" as the rooms are very welcoming and pleasant. Nonetheless, if you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room it may be best to opt for a superior or conservatory room as these have more space. However, for us the smallish size of the room did not matter as we were out walking most of the day and the the public rooms of the hotel are so inviting.

The best service:
What impressed me most about the hotel is the way it is run -- it is very 'personal' in the best sense. We found the proprietor and his staff very polite, professional and approachable. The proprietor was always around to answer questions and give recommendations and had a genuine, sincere and relaxed manner. That is one of the main reasons I would recommend this hotel: the service is considerate, personal and never pushy. A welcome change from the service in most other hotels I have stayed in.

Car-parking:
There is free car-parking for all guests, just drive up and park -- no formalities.

Better than neighbouring Simonstone Hotel:
Before deciding to book a room at the Stone House we also visited Simonstone Hotel just up the road to compare the two. We visited one of their standard rooms and the public rooms downstairs. The Simonstone caters for conferences and weddings and other functions with large numbers of people; it therefore completely lacks the charm and personal touch of the much smaller Stone House Hotel.

Amenities the Stone House lacks:
There is no swimming pool or gym. However, there is a book and DVD library, any of which you can borrow free of charge.

Nice quirks at the Stone House:
There is a small fridge housed in an old cabinet on the first floor where a bottle of fresh milk is always stored for guests to help themselves at any time of day (no UHT here).

Overall, a charming hotel with excellent food and service, in a peaceful location.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are smallish so opt for a superior or conservatory room if you are planning to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    74
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
257
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights recently and booked direct from the hotel website on a DBB offer, which was excellent value. We had a superior double which was worth paying the extra for. Dinner was a 5-course presentation, starter, main, dessert, cheese (very good) followed by coffees & petit-fours in the lounge. If you can manage the lot, you will do far better than us! Only disappointment was the extremely small portion of lamb that arrived on my plate for the first meal. Three relatively small thin cuts were a surprise and certainly didn't fit in with the quantities found in other dishes served during our stay. This issue was also mentioned by a previous reviewer, so if they had identified the cause then, it surfaced again during our stay. However, the remainder of the food was of a high standard. The lounge is a good place to relax after dinner and chat to other guests, many of whom are clearly returning visitors which is always a good sign. During dinner, there is usually recorded music playing in the background and whilst this is not unusual, many selections are relatively inappropriate for the occasion. A nice bit of mellow Norah Jones was a good choice but not so good when followed by a lively 'My Beautiful Balloon'. Just my opinion but a visit to the CD cupboard to tone things down a bit may be advisable! All in all, this is a good place to spend some time in the Wensleydale area, and we are likely to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1961Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel is very comfortable and homely. The room was good although slightly on the small side. Next time we will book a bigger room. The food was exceptionally good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We took our cairn terrier with us and she was allowed anywhere apart from the restaurant. It is situated in a wonderful spot and good for local walking and sightseeing by car. We were very impressed and hope to visit the hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: Next time we visit we will probably choose a conservatory room which will be easier with a dog as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Still Coming back after many years. Now got a Young Family and Still Really Impressed. Chilled out but but great! Food and accomodation Excellant. you will feel one of the "stone House family" here If you visit. it is a genuine Family hotel where the owners are hands on and in touch with the guests.
Great Base for the Northern dales and not to far from the "Lakes" should you wish to venture.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to get a Much Better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

On first arriving the place feels like a slight step back in time to a country house, then you look around and see the place is all very up to date as the owners have re-invested their profits back into everything about the place!
Stone house staff have an easy going way about them ensuring your stay is relaxing,the food is very good, the dinner menu will leave you stuffed full, more than 3 days and my waistline would expand greatly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We're a group of 6 couples who meet every year. We're in to our 60s so know a thing or two about what we like. This provides great food, great breakfasts and dinners, VERY friendly staff, and ok comfortable rooms. The surrounding area is great for walking, and Hawes is a pretty touristy market, antique shoppy, craft fairey town. Been twicena dn already booked for next year.

Room Tip: You're there for the food and surroundings. ALL the roooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked a 2 day break in order to R&R in beautiful surroundings with the added benifit of fantastic food and drink and the service of wounderful extremly friendly and helpful staff - all these above points were more than evident.
However we did not expect our relaxing break to be missing the basic comfort of warmth and hot water.
Our relaxation was ruined by a very cold room - the radiators when heated were only hand hot
- although we were warm in bed at night it was never comfortable to walk around our room in our night wear - we found the room chilly the very 1st night but even worse the next day after returning from a morning out (it was snowing) we were looking forward to a afternoon reading and watching tv in our room - no heating on at all (2p.m} this was communicated to a staff member who assured us this should not be the case and it would be checked - at 3p.m the radiators were still cold - we were still sat in our outdoor layers (exept coats) even boots were left on and snuggled under a duvet and still cold - once again the member of staff was alerted who found us a small fan heater that came on and off intermitantly and made very little difference - the radiators finialy got some wamth at about 4pm.
The only heating in the bathroom was a very small fan heater at cealing hight - when activated this stayed on for a short limited time and could not be activated again until a much longer time scale elapsed - a cold environment is hardly compatable with the roles one expects to carry out in a bathroom - not even a heated towel rail to dry towels yet we are requested to help save the enviroment by using towels on more than one occassion!
To top it all our evening bath water was only warm enough for a quick dip - cold water was not required to be added.
The above points were raised with The Director on settling our account whilst checking out - appologies were given - (heating is timed to be off between 11am to 2p.m and a new heating systemt was to be installed and water is normaly constantly hot) but appologies hardly compensated for a ruined expesive treat. (our total bill was over £500 all inclusive exept for warmth and on one occassion hot water!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Whilst i am delighted with your positive comments regarding the surroundings, food and service i am very dissapointed with my failure to guage the level of your dissatisfaction caused by the heating problems and act accordingly. It is of no consolation to you now but the problem has been identified and repaired (faulty thermostatic valves), I only wish that we could have done that immediately when the problem was first highlighted by yourselves.We look forward to welcoming you back (reference my call to you earlier) so that we can show not only the warmth of our welcome but also the warmth of our rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
23.7 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stone House Sedbusk, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing