We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptionally clean and friendly”
Review of YHA Hawes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Hawes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

great hostel situated within Hawes. Friendly people sharing the facilities. Very well looked after and clean. Helpful staff. Hawes is good for walks from the hostel and a choice of good pubs and food at reasonable prices

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Donaldo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Make no mistake its a YHA, rooms are small, my partner and I shared a double ( bunks!, yikes) This place was friendly with great atmosphere, great value for money. A lounge with maps, books and a great view and makes you feel at home. The breakfast was cheap and great just what we needed. Town is a very short walk away, as well as the walking trails, wensleydale creamery and ropemakers etc. We were in a room next to an extremely loud exhaust, adjacent bathroom ( I think we were room 14) this kept us up and woke us up very early 5:30 ! probably only complaint.

Room Tip: Im not sure about the best room, and not sure if all doubles are bunks, maybe avoid the room next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one night there.
We were two, but only a three berth (£60 - no breakfast inc) was available. Booked on line.
We didn't buy breakfast but it looked good.
The sides of the bunks were raised too high above the mattress, which itself was fine.
The mechanical clunking of the plumbing from the next room was startlingly loud and clear when the tap was shut off.
Duvets were far too thick for summer.
Office closed in a.m. had to find someone to give keys to.
Except for duvet - these were minor matters.
BUT we wish we had not booked there when we saw that there were several places which also supplied breakfast for a very similar price.

Will try YHA again sometime - nostalgia from our cycling days, perhaps.

Room Tip: Get what's available. Not a noisy place. Good view from triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to stay, fab breakfast, good bike shed.

Excellent, clean accommodation, 5 min walk into Hawes Centre, all down hill from the top of Fleet Moss.

Very good Members' kicthen, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hill-Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Shared a room for 6 with one other guy. Brilliant view from bedroom window although dairy refrigerators 100m away spoiled rural ambiance a tad. Breakfast OK, good drying room and secure bike shed. Good pubs in the village selling TT's Landlord. Nice short walks form just outside hostel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NerdyFerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This YHA has en-suite rooms which suited our needs, comfortable beds, and we were able to buy a breakfast which set us up wonderfully for the day. Well situated in Hawes,. there are 4 pubs in the locality, and also a very good fish and chip shop, so no problem obtaining a meal if you don't want to eat in the hostel. Only comment to make is that some people do not bother to close the fire doors properly resulting in them banging, so a pair of ear plugs would be a useful item to have with you.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed ovenight whilst doing the Pennine Way on May 16th, friendly welcome and good facilities, drying room could have been better. Shared room with another walker, all clean and tidy and quiet. Breakfast was good and packed lunch included peanut butter sandwich option, a rare treat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainbob542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawes hotels
1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
113 reviews
1 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laburnum House
Laburnum House
#16 of 23 in Hawes
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hawes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hawes

Address: Lancaster Terrace, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hawes
Price Range: $41 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Hawes 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Hawes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Hawes Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing