We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One incident let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One incident let it down”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and myself spent 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast last week over our anniversary. All was well, we knew the hotel from walking in the area and stopping in for a cup of tea. The hotel itself could not be better, the house has the feel of a country mansion, and the public areas and rooms reflect this. We had room 4 and were not disappointed. It was large with probably the most comfy bed we have ever stayed in. The views from the window are absolutely stunning. The furnishings throughout the hotel have been well thought out and make the guest feel very comfortable. The barman was a little bit abrupt but this wasn't a problem.

However, when we had dinner that night my husband found his steak quite tough but decided not to complain as the service and other parts of the meal were fine, although not quite the ' fine dining ' we were expecting for an expensive country hotel of this standard.

The next morning the breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of choice. But, when we came down for dinner we ended up feeling very angry. We were first down and others followed after 10 minutes or so. The service and food for the starter and main went by without a hitch. We then ordered our dessert and waited and waited. We did not expect it to come immediately, however, we sat patiently for 25 minutes whilst watching other diners being served with starters, mains, wine etc. and by this time we started questioning what was going on, and had the feeling that the kitchen wanted to catch up service with everyone else before dealing with our order, and at that point we decided to enquire. The waitress apologised and said she would go and ask. No more than 2 minutes later she returned with both our desserts, and stated that the chef had apologised, saying that ' the delay was because the waffles had been freshly made ' When my husband put his fork into the dessert it was obvious that this was not the case. They were hard and cold and certainly not what any diner would expect from a 4* country house hotel. My husband left the restaurant straight away to find someone who would deal with this as the statement by the chef simply wasn't true. This totally spoilt our meal that night.

The waitress was very polite and offered to get the chef so we could speak to her, and she was very apologetic on the chef's behalf and dealt with it very well. My husband decided that he did not want to make any more fuss as it was our anniversary and we had not anticipated having any confrontations.

We have left details in our feedback at the hotel and hope this is dealt with appropriately by the management.
The hotel has a policy of adding a service charge to the final bill, and, under the circumstances we asked for it to be removed. The receptionist asked me the reason which I told her, as they need to address this sort of behaviour to really live up to the stunning building, location and overall comfort of this beautiful part of the world.

Finally I would like an answer to this review by the management so that they can give inform me by e-mail what the outcome has been

Room Tip: go bed and breakfast there are a great many good, friendly places to eat in Hawes that give far bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonstonehall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Good Afternoon, thank you for your feedback, could you please contact myself Nigel Turnbull on 01969 667255 to discuss this in person at your earliest convenience. Thank you Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    128
    49
    38
    12
See reviews for
78
309
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked a two night bed breakfast and evening meal stay to break the boredom of february. We were met by lovely staff, wonderfully comfortable bed and great food. The roaring fire in the lounge and bar make a welcome retreat from the snow. Highly recommend a stay here

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed bed breakfast evening meal when we went in we were greeted very nicely by a young man who I think was passing at that moment.
We went and had a drink after a long trip,before going to our room to chill before dinner and we did it was cold.
The bathroom was fantastic as was the room (other than temperture) and I loved the greet tray,the veiw is Fantastic from all round really.
The meal in bassiser was fantastic white bait followed by steak pie we both had the same we had a young man servering us who was attentive and very nice and had a lovely smile ! Wonderful.
We had wine with our meal, then drinks in the bar after really cosy.
The room seemed a little warmer when we returned but not great. The bed was so comfy and we were very cosy, in the morning the room was warm ,
The breakfast was really nice and relaxing local produce the sun was shinning the views are stunning I went for a short walk before we left Recommend The mark down is for the temperture

Room Tip: Ask about heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexadams22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were looking for a short break to shake off the winter blues after Christmas.
We checked out a new of country house hotels in the area and thought Simonstone looked good value for money.

It was.

We stayed in room 7, honeymoon suite, with 4 poster bed. The room was spotless, they even invite you to look under the bed. There is a sign in the room. The views from the room were magnificent down the valley over looking the river and Hawes beyond.

We went on the BB and D package so every thing except drinks were included.

The hotel was vi ritually empty only 3 bedrooms occupied which meant the bar and restaurants were very quite. It was nice having the place to ourselves so as you would image the service was very attentive. Food was diff inversely acceptable. We have had better but definitely had a lot worse. Breakfast was as you would expect we had full English. Very tasty bacon and sausages cooked as we requested.

Location is good near to lots of waterfalls and the Wensleydale Cheese factory.

It was a very nice way to spend a January weekend and best of all the weather was great.

We worth a visit and good value.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a drink and a quick lunch the staff were very friendly and the drinks were perfect. The sandwich was fine if a little normal. The hotel seemed very clean and I would like to revisit one evening soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about 3pm on Christmas Eve for a three night Christmas Break. The outside temprature was 2 degrees c. The public areas seemed quite warm, unfortunately the tea & scones being served were minus the scones. When we were shown to our fairly large room the heating was not on and the room was very cold. We were informed that the heating was due to come on at 4pm. Other people arriving at about the same time were all complaining about the lack of heat in their rooms. The person in charge at that time agreed to put the heating on immediately, During the remaining time the heating was on most of the time ( except for the night), even then the bedroom was not particularly warm. At our request we were provided with a portable heater.
There was no attempt to get guests to mix together a quiz for example. The food was good but not exceptional. The cooked breakfast was very good but, could have been preceded with a greater choice of cereals and fresh fruit. The fresh fruit salad was adequate, but no grapefruit or orange slices as you would get at most budget hotels.

The buffet on Christmas night was ample but lacked imagination and if you didn't like gateau there appeared to be no other choice of dessert.

For the amount of money we paid the whole experience was disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not go in the winter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MALCOLM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed there 2 nights recently for a wedding, and we really enjoyed our stay. The room had a comfortable bed and a very nice shower. All the staff were friendly and accommodating, including the bartenders. The grounds are great! We walked down into town, which is probably just over a mile. It's not a bad walk. It would be nice if they could provide a shuttle service, but I understand that may be beyond their control.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
590 reviews
18.0 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
337 reviews
16.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing