We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$102
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
$153
$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tennant Arms Hotel(Kilnsey)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorns Hall(Sedbergh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Traddock(Austwick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
297
142
56
39
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
142
56
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommain restaurantwine cellarviews are stunningsunday lunchfour poster bedantique furnitureevening mealyorkshire dalesrelaxing staylarge roomlovely atmospherebooked a tablelovely weekendstayed for one nightfollowing morningbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 547 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

...let down in other areas.
We were staying nearby and booked Friday dinner and Sunday lunch by phone. The girl on the phone couldn't really explain the difference between the two restaurants so we settled for the 'bistro' on Friday. We arrived to find a bunch of guests for the next day's wedding already loudly occupying the bar. Very loudly indeed.
The requested Black Sheep was undrinkable so had to settle for the bland Theakstons Best. The bistro menu turned out to be pretty standard pub grub which was surprising.
In the bistro the wedding guests were warming up for the next day's bunfight by shouting at each other and encouraging their children to bang their cutlery on the tables. An atmosphere more like Macdonalds than a country house hotel.
Fortunately the staff took pity on us and moved us into the main restaurant where we looked at the menu and cancelled our bistro order. The food was generally excellent, though a pork fillet was a touch dry. Wines were excellent and well-priced. Service wasn't quite professional in some cases, but most of the staff made up for this in attentive friendliness.
Thankfully the wedding party had departed by Sunday lunchtime and an excellent table had been reserved for us. A carvery was a surprise (again) - generally when out for a meal we prefer to be served our food and will avoid carveries. There was a full-service menu but we were desperate for a roast lunch. Again the food was pretty good and more excellent wines.
The views are stunning - out over Hawes and the surrounding hills. Shame the Friday evening was spoiled by, how can we put this diplomatically... the kind of people who wouldn't normally frequent an establishment like this.
Superb building, fantastic location, mostly great staff. The bistro should really offer something different than you can get in all the local pubs. Not sure the Simonstone really knows what it wants to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Hand2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here 6th and 7th September for my son and daughter-in-law's wedding. Have nothing negative to say everything from start to finish was amazing. Special thanks to Emma wedding coordinater. The rooms are beautiful, the food was good especially the wedding reception food. Anyone wanting a spectacular small wedding this is place to be.

Room Tip: splash out on a luxury room worth the money.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for 2 Nights whilst celebrating our Friends Wedding. The tone of our stay was set immediately when we walked into reception. Never before have I not been requested to "take a swipe" of my Credit Card for pre-authorisation purposes. This showed a level of trust by the Hotel and was extremely refreshing. The warm and relaxed nature of our Welcome was carried through the rest of our weekend stay. This is a proper Hotel. I'm not sure of it's specific history but due to its location in rural North Yorkshire, I would imagine it's an old stately home that has been transformed into a Hotel many years ago. The decor is typical of what you would expect of a beautiful old mansion with wood panelling in the stately rooms to the front and old wooden floors throughout. The views from the restaurant and breakfast rooms are breathtaking as they take in the rolling Hills and Dales. The old Bar is stunning with a fantastic range of Scottish & Irish Whiskey and the food served after the Wedding was fantastic. Service was superb and very discreet with everyong having a smile on their face. These people obviously enjoy their work and aim to please. Nothing appeared to be too much bother to them all. Special mention to Tim in the Bar who was extremely knowledgable on the history and various tastes of the Whiskies on display! Our en-suite Room was spacious with a comfortable Double Bed and the Breakfast was delicious and served Hot. There was lots of choice as well. The Gardens and Patio to the front of the Hotel was a fantastic space for our group to enjoy photogrpahs of their special day. It is also safe for Children to run around in. A fantastic Hotel in a lovely location just 1.5 Miles from the small Town of Hawes. A trip their too is a must!

Room Tip: Try asking for a South Facing Room as you will have fantastic views over the North Yorkshire Hills & Dales.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArmaghArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a beautiful day on Sep 5th 2013. Perfect for a trip to the Dales. And the Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel has the most perfect view over the Wensleydale countryside. It's only a 50 mile journey but well worth the time.

We arrived, and sat in the wonderful garden, enjoying perhaps the last of the summer sunshine, I then went inside to order drinks - so far so good. As I asked for the lunch menu I was totally surprised with - "we are not serving food today, we have a function".

It seems that they can't serve food to passing trade when a handful of people are coming to a special function. It also tells me a lot about the attitude of the management to regular, if casual, customers. So my recommendation to potential visitors is to always check before you travel. As for us, well we were hungry and found the most superb place nearby - guess which we'll visit next?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Tired with the overcrowded and pubs and restaurants in Hawes, we booked a table At Simonstone Hall for an evening meal. The hotel is a few minutes’ drive from Hawes itself and has a spectacular setting on a hill side overlooking the dale. First impressions from the car park were good, although a large noisy kitchen extractor fan on the side of the building was a little off putting. Once inside though we were welcomed by a friendly receptionist and shown to a pleasantly furnished bar area. After buying or drinks we made our way into a large terrace with simply stunning views over the dale to fells beyond. A waiter brought the menus and after ordering, we were shown to our table in the Brasserie. The meal was delicious, as well as being very well presented and excellent value for money. Local ingredients were used throughout and we finished with a very impressive local cheeseboard with a beautiful homemade fruitcake. We took coffee in the lounge area which was tastefully decorated with comfy sofas and armchairs.
We didn’t get a chance to see the rooms, but the overall impression I took home form Simonstone Hall is that I would like to come back and stay sometime very soon. The staff were lovely, the food excellent and good value. I have no doubt that this Hotel would make an ideal place for a romantic stay in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews