We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend booked this mini-break for my birthday and it didn't disappoint. Beautiful surroundings, gorgeous food and attentive but not overbearing staff, nothing was too much trouble. My friend didn't like the starter she ordered, but they gladly changed it for her, even though she said it was her and not the chef's fault. Rooms were clean and well decorated. The only "down" side was that the room was very hot, due to the pipes running through the room, but I just opened the window and it cooled the room down. I would imagine in the winter this would be a bonus, but I would not downgrade my review just for that. All in all a very enjoyable stay. If you are staying longer, there are plenty of things to see and do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Jacqui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 526 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great service from all the staff. Wonderful views, lovely luxury room. Would of liked afternoon tea but not available. Good choice of food. Excellent for couples. Great bar and comfortable sitting areas.

Room Tip: Ask for luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Revisiting this hotel was on the agenda and it did not fail us again, our room was clean, the bathroom a little dated but spotless

Great meal, wine and a good bar with interesting people to have a chat with before and after dinner

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was our room wasn't up to the same high quality as our last visit but still enjoyed it

Will return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just had a Family Gathering at the Simonstone Hall Hotel near Hawes in the stunning Yorkshire Dales. Top marks for the view, it cannot be surpassed. Top marks for the staff as well, they gave us perfect service, polite and attentive, but not ever in our way. The food was excellent. Some of us stayed over for bed and breakfast. The rooms are spacious and elegantly furnished, the breakfast was top class.
Do also visit the Wensleydale Creamery to see the local cheese being made and then buy some. Delicious.
Many thanks to the staff at Simonstone Hall for a memorable family gathering.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After having a bad carvery meal at Simonstone Hall during a walking holiday last year I was a little bit dubious when my Sister booked a 2 day break here as a surprise. However, there was absolutely no need to be whatsoever. We had the most fantastic stay. Reception Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Our Room was amazing, we had a luxury room and it was faultless. Huge, comfy four poster bed, spotlessly clean room and bathroom. Lots of lovely little extras, like ground coffee and cafetiere, bottled water and very good quality complimentary toiletries. The food in the Restaurant and Brasserie was excellent and the Waiter (Ewan I believe) couldn't have been more efficient and attentive - nothing was too much trouble for him. The Hotel has the most breathtaking view. I couldn't fault one thing and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doncaster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

First visit to Simonstone Hall we had a lovely dales view from our luxury room . The food in the restaurant was excellent with varied choices, good service with friendly staff.The weather was very good and we had a lovely time we will return in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy64stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this hotel as a surprise hen party for my daughter. We booked it online without having seen it (only photos) and so were a little apprehensive as to what it would be like. We need not have worried, the hotel was perfect in every way. A beautiful building, beautifully located (great views and gardens), fabulous rooms and a wonderful welcoming atmosphere. The staff were amazing, helpful and friendly, especially Hannah on reception. The food was superb so the chefs should also have a special mention. We all had a weekend to remember and will definitely return. Thankyou Simonstone Hall.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26Sadie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
566 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range: $158 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing