We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful family friendly cottage in the Dales”
other travelers have booked this property
Cubble Head and grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views
The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Delicious welcome tray!
The living room is great for relaxing
There are also DVDs, books and games for any wet days
Fresh flowers in the living room
The separate dining room means the cottage is spacious for a larger group
The original fireplace and alcove are stylish features
The main bedroom has a very comfortable superking size bed
A detail in the bedroom
Bedroom 2 -A lovely double room with window seat, views, walk in cupboard and a TV
Bedroom 3 - A cosy single room, newly redecorated; the window seat has lovely views of Burtersett
Bedroom 4 - A cosy single room,  newly redecorated with a window seat and antique Lloyd Loom chair
The downstairs bathroom also has a shower and terrific views!
View from the kitchen window
..and this is the view from the patio
Early summer meadows, seen from the kitchen window
Summer picnic in the garden (one of our guests took this photo!)
Drink in the view from our picnic table!
Looking South from the patio by the kitchen, up towards Wether Fell
Burtersett village, across the meadows in early summer
We have marvellous wildlife including Little owls in the old barn  - photo taken at Cubble Head
A snowy morning in December
Cubble Head all ready for Christmas
A snowy walk from the cottage to Gayle for hot chocolate in the Creamery
Spring lambs in the field  - a week old
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adamhM797...
Thornton Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful family friendly cottage in the Dales”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

From the warm personal welcome and excellent goodies pack, to the chocolates by the beds and the best set of house instructions ever - this is a well run and efficient rental property in a beautiful part of the Dales. it is well maintained, well decorated and very warm. Open fire, good kitchen, lovely grounds, all set in an a very picturesque village with walks from the front door and even an artist in residence in the village. You can be in Hawes with all its attractions within 20 minutes on foot (their is an ancient paved path for the Parson) as well as being within striking distance of all that the Yorkshire Dales has to offer. Would thoroughly recommend (including to dog owners.)

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Many thanks for this lovely review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Cubble Head and hope that you had a wonderful holiday despite the somewhat elemental weather. Thank you for mentioning the 'house instructions' - we revamped these this year to make, I hope, an interesting and comprehensive guide to the cottage and the area, with all its many attractions.
Our local artist, Brian Alderman, is a lovely man and is always delighted to chat to anyone who visits his studio - and he can often be seen walking in the village accompanied by his 2 very tame tabby cats who follow him everywhere. We love his paintings of the local landscape, the sheep and the farmers, and think they are very reasonably priced.
Hawes is indeed 20 minutes by footpath and 5 minutes by car, so although Cubble Head is very peacefully situated above the valley, everything you might need is close to hand. We have had some guests who haven't touched their car all week, choosing instead to walk for shopping, eating out and everything else.
A note to TripAdvisor readers - pet owners and non-pet owners: We do indeed welcome well behaved family pets but ask pet owners to ensure that all traces of their pet are cleaned up to ensure that Cubble Head is a great cottage to stay, whether or not you have a pet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellish63
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage in the Dales”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fantastic cottage, really warm and cosy and in an beautiful location - ideal for walking and exploring the area around Hawes and the Dales due to its central location. Owners welcomed us on arrival which was lovely and even provided us with a gorgeous hamper of goodies. Extremely well equipped, amazingly comfy beds with lovely linens! Dog friendly! Will definitely come back!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Many thanks for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you on your arrival and we are glad you enjoyed the goodies! We are very pleased that you found the cottage well equipped and the beds comfy - we think so too!
We do hope you will return in the near future and explore some more of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommyC64
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderfully comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed for a week with my wife, daughter and her husband and two young daughters. We were very impressed with every detail of our stay, from the warm welcome from the owners of the beautiful house, the box of goodies and the comfortable and well equipped house - ideal for a relaxing family holiday.
The weather during our stay was rather mixed but that didn't stop us getting out and discovering a little of the Dales delights. Hawes, Butter Tubs Pass, White Scar caves and Hardraw Force were our favourites. We were thankful for the owners recommendation of The Crown Hotel for a delicious Sunday lunch, and lunch on another day too - great.
I have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone who wants a warm, comfortable stay in glorious surroundings.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Many thanks for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Cubble Head and we are so pleased that you had a warm and comfortable stay despite some mixed weather. We are delighted to hear that you got out and about so much and we would endorse everywhere that you mention!
We do hope that you will return to Cubble Head in the future.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menumore
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The most relaxing holiday that I have had for years. The location was perfection with lots of local walks on the doorstep. Nice walk each day down to Hawes to get the local paper. Very dog friendly area. Lots to do in Wensleydale for getting out and about. The accommodation was so homely and comfortable - I did not want to leave. The facilities in the house are excellent with more than what was expected. Thank you to Liz and Richard for their welcome and the hospitality basket which was more than good. Lots of local shops with good home made produce. Thank you for a fantastic holiday

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are delighted that you were able to have a very relaxing holiday - Cubble Head is a great place to do as much or as little as you wish. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and its facilities, and the welcome basket and we completely agree with you about the excellent local shops.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect holiday home in an amazingly beautiful location”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We absolutely loved staying at Cubblehead! It is a very comfortable and well equipped house in a very beautiful location, with amazing sweeping views across Wensleydale. Although it's in a very quiet and peaceful rural location, it is also brilliantly located to explore the Yorkshire Dales and surrounding area. There's lots of seating outside, with a sheltered sunny south facing patio at the front and 2 lots of seating overlooking the stunning valley below. The owners were there to meet and greet us and provided a really excellent hamper of tasty Yorkshire goodies. Wensleydale and Swaledale are both very beautiful and unspoilt, with lots of great walking, pubs and activities. Loved it. Loved it.Loved it! We very much hope to be back.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Very many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you loved staying at Cubble Head and enjoyed the house and the panoramic views. We completely agree with you about the location - although just a mile or so from Hawes and well placed for exploring the Dales, Cubble Head is indeed very quiet and peaceful. We are very pleased not to be near the busy valley road.

So glad you enjoyed the hamper of goodies too and we hope very much to welcome you back in the near future.

Richard and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate cottage in beautiful Dales quiet countryside.”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location could not have been better, quiet countryside, but within walking distance of Hawes on good footpaths.

The cottage was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. We appreciated the flowers, welcome pack and local information on walks.

We came to walk some of the Pennine Way, and were really pleased to see the diversity of flora and fauna, especially the moorland birds.

We would highly recommend the cottage and would like to return sometime.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Cubble Head and that you found the cottage comfortable, clean and well equipped. We try and make it a 'home from home' - including flowers and welcome goodies.
The local flora and fauna are indeed wonderful - on the moors but also in the garden where we regularly have visits from owls, woodpeckers and goldfinches. There is a lovely patch of early purple orchids not far from the cottage.
We are delighted that you highly recommend Cubble Head and hope very much that you will return.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrythed...
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Another fabulous and peaceful stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our second holiday in the Dales staying at Cubble Head and it was once again it was
wonderful. We had fond memories of the house but had forgotten quite how lovely it is. Spacious, homely and full of character. The dogs love the huge garden but couldn't catch the rabbits!
Once again a lovely welcome pack of food, wine and fresh flowers makes our welcome so nice after a 7 hour journey.
Quiet with stunning views. A proper home from home.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Many thanks for this lovely review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you back to Cubble Head and we hope that it is indeed your home from home in the Dales. We try to make the cottage as welcoming as possible so that you can start your holiday from the moment you arrive and thank you for mentioning the food, wine and fresh flowers. The garden is a great place for both relaxing and roaming free and the rabbits are a bonus.
See you next year! Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing