We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and cosy”
other travelers have booked this property
Cubble Head and grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views
The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Delicious welcome tray!
The living room is great for relaxing
There are also DVDs, books and games for any wet days
Fresh flowers in the living room
The separate dining room means the cottage is spacious for a larger group
The original fireplace and alcove are stylish features
The main bedroom has a very comfortable superking size bed
A detail in the bedroom
Bedroom 2 -A lovely double room with window seat, views, walk in cupboard and a TV
Bedroom 3 - A cosy single room, newly redecorated; the window seat has lovely views of Burtersett
Bedroom 4 - A cosy single room,  newly redecorated with a window seat and antique Lloyd Loom chair
The downstairs bathroom also has a shower and terrific views!
View from the kitchen window
..and this is the view from the patio
Early summer meadows, seen from the kitchen window
Summer picnic in the garden (one of our guests took this photo!)
Drink in the view from our picnic table!
Looking South from the patio by the kitchen, up towards Wether Fell
Burtersett village, across the meadows in early summer
We have marvellous wildlife including Little owls in the old barn  - photo taken at Cubble Head
A snowy morning in December
Cubble Head all ready for Christmas
A snowy walk from the cottage to Gayle for hot chocolate in the Creamery
Spring lambs in the field  - a week old
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geraldine...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Staying anywhere in November is a risk but we were rewarded with a well equipped cottage that was warm and welcoming. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome and to facilitate our needs (we had a change over of guests). There were small attention to details that were lovely (fresh flowers) and nice thick towels.
The location is handy for access to Hawes which can be reached by a gorgeous walk. The views were lovely and we were content to sit and watch birds feeding and rainbows!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you found Cubble Head warm, welcoming and well equipped. We were very pleased to be able to welcome you and it was no problem at all to help you with extra bedding etc for your guest change over.
As you say, the walk to Hawes is wonderful - and there is a choice of routes there and back so you can do a circular walk if you wish. We totally agree with you about the views from the cottage and the wildlife!
It was lovely to meet you all and we do hope you will come back to Cubble Head in the future.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edna H
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awesome abode”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous house to stay in. Very comfortable beds, clean spacious rooms, and a fabulous welcome tray on arrival. An open fire ensured cosy evenings too.
The views from the house are outstanding, with lots of wildlife to be seen too.
A great base for lots of walks and places to visit... The walk into Hawes is a delight too.
This was our second stay at Cubble Head, and we are planning on staying again.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the house, locality and views are outstanding.
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
Many thanks for such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and are planning to come back. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable beds, the spacious rooms and the open fire. We agree with you that Cubble Head is very well located for walks and trips out and very pleased that you enjoyed our wildlife and, of course, the panoramic views!

Looking forward to meeting you all again in 2017.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hor51
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our first visit to Cubble Head and we were highly delighted with our choice!
We were met and welcomed by Liz and Richard who showed us the ropes and left us with a beautiful welcome basket of local goodies together with a very palatable bottle of the old Vino!
This old detached property has been tastefully and passionately refurbished with everything you would need to make your stay cosy and comfortable! We loved the decor and wood floorings making it very child and dog friendly!

The views are just awesome from both the front and rear of the house and the tranquility of the setting is wonderful! However you are only a stone throw away from the vibrant village of Hawes where you will find everything you would need! The local area is breathtaking with walks on your doorstep and many exciting places to see including Leyburn , Muker and Masham to name a few!

We didn't want to come home as we enjoyed our stay thoroughly even though the weather wasn't kind to us!

A very lovely property!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole stay
Liked least: Packing up on Saturday!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you chose Cubble Head for your holiday and that you very clearly enjoyed your stay so much. We love the Yorkshire Dales too and completely agree with you that there are so many exciting places to see and wonderful walks in all directions. Thank you for your comment that we have refurbished the house with taste and passion - we have certainly tried to do so!
When the sun shines, the Dales are even better and we do hope very much that you will return to Cubble Head to experience this in the future.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrythed...
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our last night in Cubble Head and what a fantastic stay. A spacious well equipped cottage which is modern and tastefully decorated without losing the character or charm of the building. Superb views to the front and rear and a large garden which the dogs loved. The welcome was second to none. Fresh flowers in every room, a food basket including cake, cheese, chutney, biscuits and milk in the fridge. Liz could not have been easier to deal with directly and was most helpful. Hawes 1.5 miles away. If you want pubs and local facilities on your doorstep this cottage is not for you. But if you want to be close enough to be convenient with peace and quiet, mountain air and lambs and rabbits as your neighbours don't hesitate to book.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that you clearly enjoyed Cubble Head as much as we do. Many of our guests have commented on the tranquility of the cottage, the views and the marvellous wildlife - yet with the convenience of Hawes just a few minutes' drive or half an hour's walk across the meadows.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B
1 review
“Gem of a property - best ever.”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our first stay at Cubble Head (31st October to 6th November 2015). What a gem of a cottage to find. This will now be our absolute favourite cottage, and we have stayed in many. Superb location with fell views from every aspect.

The personal welcome by the Liz and Richard, the welcome pack of food, wine and fresh flowers was much appreciated. Such high quality furniture, fittings and attention to detail everything we needed and more.

Comfy beds with pretty covers and curtains and cosy warm lounge with log fire to while away the evenings.

Our two cocker spaniels were in seventh heaven ! walks straight from the door in abundance with all the necessary information in the owner’s manual. In fact other than getting there we hardly needed to use the car at all, can easily walk into Hawes for any necessary shopping, or if required only four minutes drive away.

Pheasants in garden, and owls in the barn so peaceful and quiet, a perfect place to recharge your batteries away from the hubbub of every day life. We were sad to leave, already planning our return.

Thank you Liz and Richard

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cubble Head and we completely agree with you that it is a perfect place to recharge your batteries. Thank you for your very kind comments about the furniture, fittings and attention to detail and we are very glad that you enjoyed the contents of the welcome basket! As you say, there are dozens of different walks straight from the door and the stroll to Hawes is a firm favourite of ours.
We are very pleased that you have chosen to rebook Cubble Head for 2016 and are looking forward to seeing you again then.
Kind regards
Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah m
durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had an excellent week there. Fantastic welcome pack from owners - just a shame we didn't meet them. Garden is perfect for throwing balls for dog to chase! Absolutely stunning views from kitchen window so don't mind washing up! Lovely walks around.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and views
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Thank you very much for this lovely review - much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Cubble Head. Many of our guests have commented on the views from the kitchen window and we sometimes find that guests have in fact hardly used the dishwasher!

We were so sorry not to be able to meet you - we almost always meet our guests in person but a family commitment meant that we were unable to do so on this occasion. Next time, we hope!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoeysmama
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Yorkshire”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't imagine a more perfect home-base for a vacation in the Yorkshire Dales. The only downside was having to leave! Liz and Richard gave us a warm welcome (and excellent directions), provided an excellent orientation to their wonderful cottage and left us with everything we needed for an amazing week, including a lovely tray of "welcome gifts" that included tea, coffee, wine, cheese, biscuits, crackers, fudge -- we were enjoying these treats all week. The house is comfortable, immaculate and beautifully furnished. Everything we needed was provided, as well as thoughtful extras like fresh flowers. We definitely appreciated having dependable WiFi. Although there was certainly enough room for more people, the two of us were very happy there on our own, with room to spare, and loved going "home" to Cubble Head after long days of walking. Liz and Richard gave us wonderful suggestions for various walks and itineraries and also provided a wealth of maps and guidebooks for our use. We enjoyed the quick walk to Hawes (either the slightly longer route through Gayle or the more direct "paved path") for dinner almost every night and were happy to find a good choice of pubs, shops, grocery stores, etc., there. And walking back to quiet Burtersett in the twilight was a highlight of the day for us. Probably the best part of our stay was the gorgeous setting. As "urban dwellers," we luxuriated in the location of Cubble Head, with its beautiful grounds, exceptional views (I will never forget looking out the kitchen window every morning to see "my" lambs and rabbits) and peaceful quiet. Our experience at Cubble Head exceeded our expectations -- thank you, Liz and Richard!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2015
Wow! Thank you very much indeed. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Cubble Head so much and very pleased indeed that the cottage exceeded your expectations. As you say, the cottage is a haven of tranquility in the countryside and yet just a lovely half hour stroll from Hawes for eating out or shopping.
We would love to welcome you back and do hope that you will return to Cubble Head.
Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing