We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Cubble Head and grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views
The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Delicious welcome tray!
The living room is great for relaxing
There are also DVDs, books and games for any wet days
Fresh flowers in the living room
The separate dining room means the cottage is spacious for a larger group
The original fireplace and alcove are stylish features
The main bedroom has a very comfortable superking size bed
A detail in the bedroom
Bedroom 2 -A lovely double room with window seat, views, walk in cupboard and a TV
Bedroom 3 - A cosy single room, newly redecorated; the window seat has lovely views of Burtersett
Bedroom 4 - A cosy single room,  newly redecorated with a window seat and antique Lloyd Loom chair
The downstairs bathroom also has a shower and terrific views!
View from the kitchen window
..and this is the view from the patio
Early summer meadows, seen from the kitchen window
Summer picnic in the garden (one of our guests took this photo!)
Drink in the view from our picnic table!
Looking South from the patio by the kitchen, up towards Wether Fell
Burtersett village, across the meadows in early summer
We have marvellous wildlife including Little owls in the old barn  - photo taken at Cubble Head
A snowy morning in December
Cubble Head all ready for Christmas
A snowy walk from the cottage to Gayle for hot chocolate in the Creamery
Spring lambs in the field  - a week old
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harrythed...
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our last night in Cubble Head and what a fantastic stay. A spacious well equipped cottage which is modern and tastefully decorated without losing the character or charm of the building. Superb views to the front and rear and a large garden which the dogs loved. The welcome was second to none. Fresh flowers in every room, a food basket including cake, cheese, chutney, biscuits and milk in the fridge. Liz could not have been easier to deal with directly and was most helpful. Hawes 1.5 miles away. If you want pubs and local facilities on your doorstep this cottage is not for you. But if you want to be close enough to be convenient with peace and quiet, mountain air and lambs and rabbits as your neighbours don't hesitate to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that you clearly enjoyed Cubble Head as much as we do. Many of our guests have commented on the tranquility of the cottage, the views and the marvellous wildlife - yet with the convenience of Hawes just a few minutes' drive or half an hour's walk across the meadows.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B
1 review
“Gem of a property - best ever.”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our first stay at Cubble Head (31st October to 6th November 2015). What a gem of a cottage to find. This will now be our absolute favourite cottage, and we have stayed in many. Superb location with fell views from every aspect.

The personal welcome by the Liz and Richard, the welcome pack of food, wine and fresh flowers was much appreciated. Such high quality furniture, fittings and attention to detail everything we needed and more.

Comfy beds with pretty covers and curtains and cosy warm lounge with log fire to while away the evenings.

Our two cocker spaniels were in seventh heaven ! walks straight from the door in abundance with all the necessary information in the owner’s manual. In fact other than getting there we hardly needed to use the car at all, can easily walk into Hawes for any necessary shopping, or if required only four minutes drive away.

Pheasants in garden, and owls in the barn so peaceful and quiet, a perfect place to recharge your batteries away from the hubbub of every day life. We were sad to leave, already planning our return.

Thank you Liz and Richard

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cubble Head and we completely agree with you that it is a perfect place to recharge your batteries. Thank you for your very kind comments about the furniture, fittings and attention to detail and we are very glad that you enjoyed the contents of the welcome basket! As you say, there are dozens of different walks straight from the door and the stroll to Hawes is a firm favourite of ours.
We are very pleased that you have chosen to rebook Cubble Head for 2016 and are looking forward to seeing you again then.
Kind regards
Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah m
durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had an excellent week there. Fantastic welcome pack from owners - just a shame we didn't meet them. Garden is perfect for throwing balls for dog to chase! Absolutely stunning views from kitchen window so don't mind washing up! Lovely walks around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and views
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Thank you very much for this lovely review - much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Cubble Head. Many of our guests have commented on the views from the kitchen window and we sometimes find that guests have in fact hardly used the dishwasher!

We were so sorry not to be able to meet you - we almost always meet our guests in person but a family commitment meant that we were unable to do so on this occasion. Next time, we hope!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoeysmama
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Yorkshire”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't imagine a more perfect home-base for a vacation in the Yorkshire Dales. The only downside was having to leave! Liz and Richard gave us a warm welcome (and excellent directions), provided an excellent orientation to their wonderful cottage and left us with everything we needed for an amazing week, including a lovely tray of "welcome gifts" that included tea, coffee, wine, cheese, biscuits, crackers, fudge -- we were enjoying these treats all week. The house is comfortable, immaculate and beautifully furnished. Everything we needed was provided, as well as thoughtful extras like fresh flowers. We definitely appreciated having dependable WiFi. Although there was certainly enough room for more people, the two of us were very happy there on our own, with room to spare, and loved going "home" to Cubble Head after long days of walking. Liz and Richard gave us wonderful suggestions for various walks and itineraries and also provided a wealth of maps and guidebooks for our use. We enjoyed the quick walk to Hawes (either the slightly longer route through Gayle or the more direct "paved path") for dinner almost every night and were happy to find a good choice of pubs, shops, grocery stores, etc., there. And walking back to quiet Burtersett in the twilight was a highlight of the day for us. Probably the best part of our stay was the gorgeous setting. As "urban dwellers," we luxuriated in the location of Cubble Head, with its beautiful grounds, exceptional views (I will never forget looking out the kitchen window every morning to see "my" lambs and rabbits) and peaceful quiet. Our experience at Cubble Head exceeded our expectations -- thank you, Liz and Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2015
Wow! Thank you very much indeed. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Cubble Head so much and very pleased indeed that the cottage exceeded your expectations. As you say, the cottage is a haven of tranquility in the countryside and yet just a lovely half hour stroll from Hawes for eating out or shopping.
We would love to welcome you back and do hope that you will return to Cubble Head.
Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage, excellent facilities”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here from 28th September until 4th October 2014. We were met on arrival by Liz & Richard, who were very welcoming and there was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us.

The house has lots of open space and tremendous views. It is well equipped with all you need and more. Very clean and spacious.

The house is ideally located with plenty of walks nearby and only a short walk to Hawes itself. Overall a brilliant house, great holiday and can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review Cubble Head. We are delighted that you enjoyed the space in the cottage and the fantastic views all around. The walk into Hawes is one of our favourites and we do this nearly every week but you can set off from the cottage in any direction for shorter or longer walks.

We are very pleased that you found everything you needed and more - we try and make the cottage a 'home from home'. Our welcome pack seems to be very popular and we love to showcase local goodies to our guests!

It is great to hear that you can't wait to return and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Just get in touch!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique...
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house.”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cubble Head is a lovely spacious house. It has all the facilities you need. Like home. A convenient kitchen. Cosey sittingroom and beautifull diningroom. Nicely decorated bedrooms. The beds are very comfortable. It has one bathroom and one shower room. The garden is large with wonderfull views. Its perfect for walkers and bikers.
If the weather is nice there's enough possibility to sit outside to have breakfast, lunch or dinner or just to watch the birds.
When we arrived, Richard gave us, after explaining some things, a lovely welcome package. Tnanks again!! We had a wonderfull week in Cubble Head.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Cubble Head and that you found it equipped with everything you needed! As you say, the views from the garden are spectacular and we now have 3 separate places outside, with garden furniture, to sit and eat, drink a glass of wine or just enjoy the birds and the views. You can choose your spot (east, south or west) to make sure you get the sun.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the contents of the welcome basket - we try to make sure that you have a lovely start to your holiday with goodies from local shops and suppliers.

We would love to welcome you back to Cubble Head at any time - just get in touch!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revallie
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and beautifully appointed cottage.”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners took great care to make the house welcoming and attractive. The garden is lovely and the location perfect. Washing up was a joy and you will see why when you get there! With laminate floors throughout and new bathrooms it was a really easy house to live in with the dogs and baby. I heartily recommend this cottage. Thank you for a wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Many thanks for your very kind review of Cubble Head. We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday. We do our best to make the cottage as welcoming as possible for guests with everything you would expect to find and a few little extras! As you say, the view from the kitchen window is indeed very special and we sometimes find that guests do not appear to have used the dishwasher at all, preferring to take in the view whilst hand washing.
We have renewed the downstairs bathroom and the upstairs shower room in the last couple of years, so both are modern and stylish and we are very pleased that you found the cottage practical for your family with both babies and pets. The floors are easy to keep clean - though in fact the only laminate is in the kitchen and the rest of the downstairs has solid wood (English oak)floors. Upstairs, there is a mixture of original pitch pine boards, some newer timber floors with rugs, and fitted carpets in 2 of the bedrooms.

We would be delighted to welcome you back any time - just get in touch!

Kind regards

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing