We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lexy, dave and roona our dog”
Review of The Board Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Board Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My partner and i booked for a 2 night stay to do some sight seeing and walking with our dog roona, arrived on a cold afternoon but got a very warm welcome off the landlady Helen. the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We would recommend this B&B to friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms were of similar size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Decided to have a short walking holiday in Hawes with three other friends. Very friendly and helpful over the phone when I booked the hotel well in advance.
Arrived lunchtime and had a drink in the bar. Beer OK but have had better.
Returned to the pub later that day after an afternoon out walking. Shown to our rooms which were comfortable and clean, although the twin room two of us were sharing was slightly on the small size. Our other friends had much larger rooms and they looked more modern in style.
We ate in the hotel bar that night and the food was good. We also had to order our breakfast that night for the next day.
At breakfast the girl serving seemed totally disorganised and the breakfast when it arrived was only partial correct to the one we ordered the night before. The sausages were badly burnt at each end although the middle part was OK. Tea, coffee and toast did not arrive until we had nearly finished our meal !
We then went out for the day and when we returned later that afternoon none of our rooms at been cleaned or the bathrooms. No explanation was given for this.
The following day the breakfast was slightly better but the sausages were still burnt at each end !
So all in all not a bad hotel and very resonable at £30 per person per night B & B, but could be improved on with a little effort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I returned to Hawes for a short break in this wonderful part of North Yorkshire and chose to stay at the Old Board Inn. We arrived to find Helen, the Landlady, waiting to greet us and show us our accommodation. Her greeting was as warm as the the open fire burning invitingly in the bar area.
After a quick change of clothing and a refreshing cup of tea in our well appointed room we were in fine fettle for a walk around the town! Plenty to see and do and lots of smiles from the local people who have time for a chat rather than being in a rush.
Apart from the .diverse shopping opportunities a visit to the Museum, rope making factory or the cheese factory are all worthwhile. We returned to the Old Board and made use of the fine selection of draught beers on offer whilst waiting for our dinners. Both dinner and ales were very much to our satisfaction and we spent a very convivial evening before retiring to sleep like logs!
Breakfast was a masterpiece with "full english" and I mean full, being the order of the day. Nothing was too much bother and we were asked if we would like more tea or toast, sadly we couldn't eat another morsel!
A big thank you to Helen and her team for another special occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We loved this quaint little inn, no disappointments and a good base for our walking break. On arrival we were welcomed by Helen, who was the perfect landlady, always interested in what we were doing, as were all the staff. Accommodation is ideal at a good price, cosy with comfy beds and one of the best showers we have come across on our travels. Used the bar and one of the friendliest we have found, locals always included us in their chats, most hilarious. We ate here too and it was all good, breakfasts too. We highly recommend this Innn and have every plan to return, especially as we need to do Great Shunner and the Roman Road again minus the fog. Thank you Helen and all of your staff.

Room Tip: We had a room with side view over the street, interesting to watch over this pretty town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMFPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely cosy pub. Fab service. However food a little disappointing. Venison lovely and tender but sauce and red cabbage absolutely tasteless. My hubby's steak very tender but peppercorn sauce left alot to be desired! Completely watery and tasteless. Shame! Very pricey considering it wasn't a good standard. Would go back for a drink only. Shame!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cabailey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A lovely cosy pub, frequented by tourists and locals alike. A few slightly wary eyes from the locals, but if anything that just adds to the ambience ;)

The main room is lovely and cosy, with proper wooden tables, and a warm fire to welcome you in from the brisk Yorkshire air.

The food was good, and clearly all made from scratch, which was a nice change to some pubs which seem an expert in just reheating stuff. Nothing too adventurous - steak, supreme of chicken, ham and eggs, that sort of thing - but all cooked well and with a degree of care.

They were happy to have our daughter in the pub (we were there from about 5-7pm). Would definitely return if we're staying in Hawes again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A busy, friendly pub with good quality food and a great choice of beers. We spent Saturday afternoon propped up against the bar and were so impressed that we went straight back on the evening for tea, I had rib-eye steak, my wife the steak and ale pie and both were delicious.

I also wholeheartedly recommend the home-cooked pork scratchings that are available in the bar for a quid. I'd have tried the sweet potato crisps too, but they were already sold out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Laburnum House
Laburnum House
#16 of 23 in Hawes
29 reviews
8.3 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: $108 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing