We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely 4 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Board Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Board Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Perthshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely 4 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We loved this quaint little inn, no disappointments and a good base for our walking break. On arrival we were welcomed by Helen, who was the perfect landlady, always interested in what we were doing, as were all the staff. Accommodation is ideal at a good price, cosy with comfy beds and one of the best showers we have come across on our travels. Used the bar and one of the friendliest we have found, locals always included us in their chats, most hilarious. We ate here too and it was all good, breakfasts too. We highly recommend this Innn and have every plan to return, especially as we need to do Great Shunner and the Roman Road again minus the fog. Thank you Helen and all of your staff.

Room Tip: We had a room with side view over the street, interesting to watch over this pretty town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMFPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
94
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely cosy pub. Fab service. However food a little disappointing. Venison lovely and tender but sauce and red cabbage absolutely tasteless. My hubby's steak very tender but peppercorn sauce left alot to be desired! Completely watery and tasteless. Shame! Very pricey considering it wasn't a good standard. Would go back for a drink only. Shame!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cabailey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

A lovely cosy pub, frequented by tourists and locals alike. A few slightly wary eyes from the locals, but if anything that just adds to the ambience ;)

The main room is lovely and cosy, with proper wooden tables, and a warm fire to welcome you in from the brisk Yorkshire air.

The food was good, and clearly all made from scratch, which was a nice change to some pubs which seem an expert in just reheating stuff. Nothing too adventurous - steak, supreme of chicken, ham and eggs, that sort of thing - but all cooked well and with a degree of care.

They were happy to have our daughter in the pub (we were there from about 5-7pm). Would definitely return if we're staying in Hawes again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A busy, friendly pub with good quality food and a great choice of beers. We spent Saturday afternoon propped up against the bar and were so impressed that we went straight back on the evening for tea, I had rib-eye steak, my wife the steak and ale pie and both were delicious.

I also wholeheartedly recommend the home-cooked pork scratchings that are available in the bar for a quid. I'd have tried the sweet potato crisps too, but they were already sold out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

No frills but a decent pub meal and good ale. Service was reasonable and what you'd expect in a local pub. Colourful locals gave the place a good atmosphere. Might not be everyone's cup of tea but friendly and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed for one night with my Son, every thing about the Old Board can be summed up as “Basic but Good” Room, Food, Beer Range, only one small criticism the table at breakfast was far too small for two people, on the plus side the staff where all friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of rooms take a look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

...........................from The Old Board Inn and what a lovely friendly place to stay. We were for the 3rd/4th September leaving this morning and we were so comfortable in room 2 which was large and overlooked the main street. Helen and her staff are so nice and always had a friendy word for us. The breakfasts both mornings were good and filling and we ate in the pub both evenings and the meals were superb.


The weather was beautiful so we spent time in Middleham and watched the racehorses being taken up on to the moors for their run, Leyburn which is a lovely small market town and this morning Richmond which again is a lovely market town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Property: The Board Inn
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing