We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked this on the very last minute as per a recommendation from a neighbouring hotel that was full. We were not disappointed. We booked for one night only with breakfast.

The room was very pleasant and extremely clean and well presented. It had all we needed for a one night stay.

We booked dinner which again was lovely, no complaints. Average prices and plenty on your plate without feeling over faced.

The couple who run the hotel were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. They even stayed up waiting for us knowing we were going to be back late. They don't give out a front door key. We were back for 12.30 which was most certainly not a problem fro them. Door closes normally around 12.

We had a full Yorkshire Breakfast as they put it and and again we were not left disappointed. There was no immediate rush to vacate in the morning either which was quite refreshing these days.

£60 B & B (at time of booking) so very affordable.

Overall a lovely, pleasant stay and would we go back should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIFILEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    48
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
114
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at the Crown in Hawes with Jasper the orrible ound! Can't really recall a more genuinely friendly, welcoming, warm reception at any previous hostelry! The orrible ound got an even better reception! From there on in the service from all members of staff and management was exemplary - warm, friendly. efficient and professional. Menu not too extensive but food good and reasonably priced. Cask beer range reasonable but quality good. Perhaps a little too much emphasis on Theakstons (tie?) but thankfully the Crown had not fallen into the lure of so-called "micro breweries" A most pleasant stay and one which I will certainly try to repeat very soon. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello Ray. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure serving you. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

After a genuine mistake in the number of nights we booked Adam&Lindsay made it their prioity to get us another hotel for the 2nd night. Whilst the other hotel had a more modern room ( due to a recent re-furb) the service was no where near as good. At the crown you are made to feel welcome, The beer is great, food is excellent as is everything else. Its the best& busiest pub in hawes for a reason. Once again Adam&Lindsay thanks for what you did for us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luapnotlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel and for your generous comments; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Made welcome, good room. Bar with range of Theakstones beer. Beer well kept. Good bar atmosphere and plenty of space to be quieter if needed. I had the steak in ale pie with chips and veg and enjoyed it. Breakfast excellent. Hosts could not do enough. Staff pleasantly attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello again John. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guest. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We received a warm welcome and immediately made to feel at home. The room was spotless and looked newly decorated (didn't look like other people with dogs had stayed). Loved the chunky wood furniture. Plenty of room to accommodate our large dog.

A table had been reserved for us for our evening meal and was moved slightly to allow our dog to sit comfortably too. The food was lovely with plenty of choice. All members of staff were friendly and helpful towards us. Breakfast the next day was one of the best we have had at any hotel. Again, plenty of choice. Really appreciated the little touches such as a bowl of butter on the table (rather than those fiddly packets) and thickly cut slices of bread for toast. Our dog was also given a sausage as a breakfast treat.

Wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night. Would very happily book to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited The Crown on Friday evening, when I booked I mentioned we had family visiting from Australia and that they were hoping to play dominoes in a Yorkshire pub, when we arrived we received a very warm welcome and when we were seated at our table the dominoes were waiting for us, great friendly service, great pub with a great atmosphere, food was fantastic as well. Would highly recommend The Crown but be sure to book its very popular and I can see why!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Lisa. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We only stayed for one night as we wanted to see how our one year old Cocker Spaniel behaved before we book a holiday . We were very pleased with the way we were welcomed with the dog and also the rooms were spotlessly clean with no sign of animals being in there before we were . The food was great and lots of it and breakfast was all locally sourced with a sausage for the dog too . Would we go again definitely

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Lynn. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Hawes
YHA Hawes
#3 of 4 in Hawes
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel in Hawes, a traditional Yorkshire Dales country pub and restaurant. ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** I took over The Crown in December 2012 to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with honest, delicious food, great beer and attentive, friendly service. There are three completely redecorated and refitted guest rooms available. One is an en-suite double room (one double bed), one an en-suite family room (one double and one single bed) and one is a twin room (two single beds) with a large private bathroom. The tariff includes full English breakfast. All rooms include TV, clock-radio-alarm, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary snacks, supplementary plug-in radiator and free broadband WiFi throughout. Dogs are accepted in all rooms free of charge and will be offered a sausage for breakfast! Be our guest - we won't be comfortable until you are! ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing