We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Hart Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. I stayed for just one night and had lovely stay in one of the ensuite rooms overlooking the church. Beautiful rooms, quietly and tastefully furnished with superb bathrooms. I also had two meals in the bar downstairs and can throughly recommend both the steak and ale pie, with home made chips and fish and chips, cooked to perfection, with a well chilled glass of wine. I was also able to take the dog with me which certainly made life much easier for me, and she could even sit with me in front of the log burning stove in the bar!!
This Hotel/Pub is certainly worth seeking out, book for a couple of nights it will truely be worth it!

Room Tip: I asked to see some of the other rooms and must say there are all delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    40
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
146
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Recently stayed in Hawes for a few days, and ate in the White Hart twice. I would recommend booking for weekend meals as it is very popular. We booked for Saturday and only waited about 10 minutes for our table in the bar (otherwise I doubt we would have eaten for about 90 minutes!) We had garlic bread which was OK, and a good portion size. The for mains I had trio of fish and hubby had Cod loin. Both were beautifully cooked and arrived with crushed potatoes and delicious vegetables. Portions are not big, but food is delicious and very well presented.

We went back on Sunday night which was much quieter and got a table in the bar. Again we ordered garlic bread and then pie & chips and chicken on tagliatelle. Personally I found the pastry the pie was in a bit on the heavy side (possibly slightly undercooked?) and I suspect the vegetables we had may have been cooked for sunday lunch and then reheated for us, but the food was very tasty and piping hot, the chips with the pie were delicious, hot and crispy.
We decided to share a cheeseboard for pudding and this was very nice. There were 2 fruity Wensleydale cheeses, which I found a bit repetitive, but as we were only round the corner from the Hawes Creamery where its made, maybe that was to be expected.....

Both times the service was very friendly and the price of the food was very competitive (£28 for a starter, 2 mains and a dessert).
The surroundings are very pleasant and the bar staff are very friendly. We will definately return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLovedSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on our trip around the UK. Friendly staff and the refurbished rooms are fantastic, a lot of thought went into the decor and design.
The evening meal was great and so was the breakfast. Wish we had of had more time as we would of stayed another night and explored the area more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire U.K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited the White Hart twice during our stay in Cotterdale, Hawes is a ten minute drive from Cotterdale but as my husband is the real ale freak and I was driving it was no problem. Our first visit was on steak night (tues) two rump steak with chips and all the trimmings for £16 excellent value for money and surprisingly big portions you do need to book to avoid disappointment. On our second visit we ate off the evening menu couldn't fault it very very tasty well presented and staff were helpful and friendly. We had our 2 dogs with us so we ate in the bar area which was clean and very pleasant dogs were also given a treat each.
Thanks to all the staff for doing such a great job and we will return on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly&Bensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in Hawes on a caravan site and ate in the White Hart. The hotel was closed for refurbishment last year but is now fully re opened. On this occaision we went in for a drink and were impressed so returned for a meal. We ate in the bar lounge which has a real woodburning stove giving a warn cosy feel to the room. The staff were freindly (even brought biscuits for the dog). The food was very good standard pub food. the separate dining room with differnt menu for eveing meals and which seems very popular. We will definitley eat there again on our next trip to Hawes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the White Hart for three nights at the end of October 2012. We took advantage of the Bed, Breakfast and Dinner offer. The room was large with walk in wardrobe and a flat screen television. The bathroom was spacious and modern and everywhere was scrupulously clean. The food was excellent with a varied menu containing some interesting choices not normally seen in a standard pub restaurant. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall we think the White Hart gives excellent value and is a cut above similar places we have stayed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 but we did not see any of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We came here after being disappointed at another pub in Hawes that we have visited over many years. However the meal here more than made up for it. We booked in the morning for the evening in the dining room, but the bar/lounge looked just as inviting. The food was first class and so was the service. The staff were very helpful and did not rush us at all. I would say it was value for money because most main course meals in the pubs in the area are around £10 or £11 and I think you pay for what you get and if that means good service and food then it's worth it. Would recommend this pub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 23 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Country Inn

Property: The White Hart Country Inn
Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QL, England (Formerly White Hart Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In September 2011 Pat & Matthew Kirkbride took over The White Hart Country Inn, Hawes. After a HUGE renovation the bar opened for drinks only in October 2011 followed shortly after by food in December 2011. Work is now completed on the refurbishment of our luxury bedrooms. We have three king-size doubles and two twins, all with modern en-suite facilities, plasma screen TV/DVD players, WiFi throughout and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Hawes
The White Hart Country Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing