We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in the dales”
Review of The Old Dairy Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Situated three and a half miles from Hawes this place is a gem. This is not your average B&B but first class accommodation with a touch of class. The hosts Paul & Pam set the tone for a stay beautifully and you immediately relax into the comfortable surroundings. All the menu choices are seriously tempting and cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed and the location ensures a quiet relaxing stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southcroft66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

One feature of a really good hotel is the welcome you receive. Here you're welcomed with tea and home made cake. We had a self contained apartment attached to the farmhouse. Downstairs was a lounge and small kitchenette. Upstairs was a very spaceous bedroom with well equipped bathroom containing a big walk-in shower. Big towelling robes and good quality towels. You need to watch your head on the low roof beams.
Dinner was excellent (£23 for 2 courses or £28 for 3 courses) with top notch wines at sensible prices. Very good breakfast
They are a really hands on couple who care that you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjrLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very comfortable two night stay at premises a bit more remote than I realised but worth the drive. The high quality accommodation was excellent and it is clear a lot of thought has gone into its creation. A warm welcome and excellent breakfast made for a pleasant stay. Hawes is just a few minutes drive away where places to eat are plentiful if you don't want to eat at the ODF. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just recently come back from a short stay at the Old Dairy Farm and what a truly relaxing time we have had. A superb hotel in a gorgeous location with excellent food and the very best in hospitality. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Paul & Pam are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home the whole time you are there. What a fantastic place with a fantastic atmosphere that has been created by Paul & Pam. We will definitely be back.

Nicola & Nick

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strongy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

5 star service, amazing food cooked by Pam and superb hospitality from Paul. Could not recommend this enough if you are looking for a nice relaxing break away. Our cottage was immaculate. You will be looked after from start to finish should you choose to stay here. We'll certainly be back again to enjoy the great food, fantastic service, incredible scenery and good honest genuine customer service. P.s - we both hope your mother recovers from her ankle injury very soon Paul. From Chris and Catherine

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay with 2 other couples at The Old Dairy Farm near Hawes. We can't rate the place or hosts more highly. Having stayed at numerous 5 star establishments, the ODF more than lived up to our expectations. Both Paul and Pam make lovely welcoming hosts but at no time are they ever overbearing. The décor and furnishing are tasteful and well thought out and each of the three rooms has its own style and features. We stayed in room 3 and loved the little extras like the balcony and huge Jacuzzi bath ( Very welcome after a hard days walking !). The food, both at breakfast and again in the evening is literally quite stunning for an establishment of this size. Pam is a wonderful chef.
We loved the attention to detail , the bedding being changed, the plentiful fresh towels, the home made biscuits and the "specials" available each evening to take into consideration dietary restrictions !
Its not often we visit the same place twice, as we like to explore different places to visit or stay ,but its a mark of how impressed we were, that we have booked another stay there already !
We wish Paul and Pam every success with their business as they thoroughly deserve it ! Jackie & Joe

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well what can I say other than what has been said by previous guest's. We went on a Living Social Deal and what a find. from the minute you arrive to be greet by Paul you know you are in for a fantastic time. Accomodation is first class all guest area's are well presented and very comfortable a small bar where you can enjoy a drink before your meal, sitting room with plenty of books and leaflets for you to plan your day and a very very comfortable bedroom. We ate in both nights and enjoyed wonderful food cooked by Pam who is an amazing cook with food very well presented. We will certainly be returning to stay with Paul and Pam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boydy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
421 reviews
3.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Address: Dairy Farm Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing