We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, unfortunately…”
Review of The Old Dairy Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Disappointing, unfortunately…”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our cycling holiday. The Old Dairy Farm menu tempted us to cycle an additional 4-miles off our route between Hawes and Swaledale: our cycling routes are always dictated by food. On arrival, we received a warm welcome and excellent cup of tea. However, we were then informed that the restaurant would not be open that evening. Very disappointing. Instead, Paul drove us to (and from) the nearby Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel (on our cycling route!). We had a very nice meal there, but it did rather defeat the object of this leg of our trip.

Accommodation was very comfortable and very nicely designed. But a few details in the room need attending to: broken toilet-seat repaired using sellotape, loose and chipped floor tiles, broken sink plug, TV with a mind of its own, and a bedroom door that needed coaxing to lock and unlock.

A final note: we understand some businesses make additional charges for credit and debit cards. This one did, but this detail was not mentioned on the Old Dairy Farm web site or at the time of booking.

Room Tip: When you book ask if there are any broken or dysfunctional parts of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
111
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stopped the night minus the kids and had a lovely relaxing stay. Great food,good informal company and stayed in a fantastic place.
Will be back

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norhpennine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have just spent the night in room 3 at The Old Dairy Farm and found it to be utter perfection. We were greeted with a welcome drink before being shown to our room. The room was beautiful and had a double jacuzzi in the bathroom. Stunning views and it's own balcony, wish the weather had been nicer so we could have sat outside. The meal we had in the evening was delicious, cooked to perfection! We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the double jacuzzi bath....worth paying a little extra for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

5 star accommodation, 5 star food and a 5 star setting.
Truly homely intimate setting, ideal break to relax. It makes anything other than relaxation impossible.
The owners of this property go beyond what is expected, and deliver a stay with memorable food and hospitality.

We will be back.

Bear in mind booking this property for a group trip, 3 beautiful bedrooms.

Room Tip: All rooms amazing, room 3 with jacuzzi and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJS363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A wonderful place to stay in an absolutely beautiful setting right in the middle of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Beautifully renovated rooms, ours with high ceiling beams, amazing views of the sheep clad hills and a wonderful spa bathroom. The owners are so welcoming and kind, and make you feel very at home. We would love to come back again and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We loved room three with the spa bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Old Dairy Farm is in a wonderful setting where peace and tranquility are guaranteed. The building has been beautifully renovated to a very high standard where thoughtful details abound. Our room with balcony had lovely views from windows on both sides and was extremely comfortable as well as having a luxury bathroom with spa bath and state of the art shower, all of which added to the sense of wellbeing.

As well as being a lovely place to stay, the area has so much to offer, however active or not you may feel; the surrounding countryside really is incredibly beautiful and is dotted with unspoilt towns and villages.

Paul and Pam were extremely welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and we felt thoroughly pampered during our stay. The generous dinners were beautifully and imaginatively prepared with a wide range of choice and flexibility (one of us is a non red meat eater which presented no problems) and were accompanied by an interesting wine list with expert advice on hand. The breakfasts were also in a class of their own, in fact, we've never had such delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts!

What makes this place so special is the personal touch (no managers etc) supplied by Paul and Pam who we felt really wanted us to have as good a stay as possible and due to their imagination and commitment, succeeded admirably. We are certainly planning to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stationmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed in the autumn and could not be more complimentary. Great hosts, marvelous accomodation and fabulous setting. Plus Red Squirrels too ! Not to mention the food !!
Readers, get yourselves there soon, don't miss out !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slapporowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
3.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#4 of 23 in Hawes
287 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Property: The Old Dairy Farm
Address: Dairy Farm Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing