We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Last, A Real Restaurant”
Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“At Last, A Real Restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The setting is outstanding, an old Inn with a thatched roof, a welcoming hello from the barman, who then escorts you through to the dining area where more smiling staff are waiting to assist.
One of my guests asked if the background music could be changed as it was not to his taste, with no hesitation or questions asked it was done immediately and without fuss, complimentary tasters were brought to the table with chilled water, menus delivered and explained in detail, so far the place was in sync, would it last I wondered and the answer, yes it just got better, I asked the waitress about a yellow "Y" she was wearing and the polite young lady explained about the Tour de France and how wonderful that it was coming to Yorkshire, On to the food, home baked bread served in a flat cap was a novel and different idea, a souffle that was perfect, a starter of fish from a different menu to the a'la carte' was no problem, the mains fared even better a rissoto, perfect Veal cooked as ordered, drinks delivered by staff who were effective without being intrusive, all in all a very good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am glad to hear that you had a very good experience, the hospitality of Yorkshire, cheers or Allez Yorkshire???

Merci beaucoup

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    113
    56
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious in parts, but seems to have lost it's way”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall we had a delicious meal at The Star Inn. However, it was not as good as I expected and in fact had it not been a special occassion and i didn't want to cause a fuss, I would have sent my dessert back.

The roe deer sausage to start was fab and the turbot was beautifully cooked and plentiful. However my pear sponge was clearly reheated in a microwave and was dry and burnt/ crunchy in the middle. This was very disappointing as I expected more of a place with such high accolades. It is attention to detail like this which will impact on advocacy and returning guests.

I would return to eat again at The Star Inn. The potato dauphinoise was some of the best I have ever eaten, but I will be watching for the attention to detail at such high prices with competition in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loobylou119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
You should have told a member of staff about your over cooked pudding, as everything else was as you put it 'fab, beautifully cooked and plentiful, some of the best I have ever eaten'?

So after eighteen years at the helm and still going strong and still gaining awards, this is obviously a blip and a very unusual one I can assure you! I will be watching out for the competition in the area in years to come!

Apologies
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here at 17.00 during an inpromtu afternoon drive out 'dressed down' and what a treat. Food was still being served so we took advantage and ordered and it was amazing. We sat in the garden with our dog. The service was fantastic and we are so pleased to have visited and look forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Very good to hear, dressed up or down, everyone is welcome including your faithful hounds (did it have Scarborough Woof???!!)

Thank you

AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had the Market Menu which was excellent as was the service from all staff. We would definitely return if in the area again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheilaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hurry back, tell your friends, tell the world!!!

Thank you

AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top Class Inn Serving Great Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times and have never been disappointed. As the weather was so good we ate in the garden. We tried to dine in their new York establishment but it was fully booked.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Al Fresco is the way forward when the sun is shining in one of the best pub gardens in the district (although I am possibly biased!).

The country cousins of The Star Inn The City will always look after you!

Cheers

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

 
Harome, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing