We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh joy oh bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ne england
Level Contributor
177 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“oh joy oh bliss!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What a wonderful menu! Can't wait to try some of the other dishes. We had a complimentary bowl of soup, quite delicious, gorgeous bread served in a cloth cap[!] One of us had a menu, very good value, but the rest of us had a rabbit dish with lobster and a mouthwatering array of tiny veg: cooked radish, carrot, baby turnip [was it?] crab apples, onion, can't remember the rest, then big bowls of roast spuds and greens. Puddings were equally yummy. Next time I'll have a chocolate one all to myself. Furniture with mice carved in it, Moulton Brown in the loo, wood fire, lovely service, good beer. Faultless

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roeyNeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We like 'faultless', and 'joy' and a bit of 'bliss' too! Peter Rabbit's new look seems to be a winner; the ultimate Surf"n'Turf! It's what we country types dine on all the time and there's lots more to go on, as the surrounding area provides us with a brilliant pantry of ingredients to work with. Many thanks from us all. AP(and Head Chef Steve, who thought up the dish!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    111
    56
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never the Michilin this palce is a Star”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We called for lunch on a very quite Friday and the food and service where top notch.. Dish show both imagination and a high technical content, worth the trip

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Excellent news! 'Top notch' is what we aim for! Many thanks AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing !”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Living just a few miles away we tend to try places a little further afield . We went to The Star as a group for a catch up and were not disappointed in the slightest . Amazing food , service and staff . We will be back without hesitation ! Thankyou for a fabulous night .

Helpful?
1 Thank Gmjb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for your comments! It's great that we appeal to our locals; we like to be part of the community and have built up a great customer base over the years. Thank you for coming and I'm glad that everyone looked after you. Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a treat!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We just had two nights dinner bed and breakfast at the Star Inn at Harome - an absolutely fantastic experience. The accommodation was really comfortable and the attention to detail second to none. Dinner on both nights was out of this world and the level of service certainly matched the quality of the food. This was one of the most relaxing two days we have had in a long time and we will definitely be going back. If you haven't been to the Star Inn then we would certainly recommend that you treat yourselves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for the review; It seems like you enjoyed the whole experience! Tell your friends, tell the world! (Oh, I think you have!) Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience, very nice venue.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We called into for Sunday lunch with our 7 month old after the wife said she wanted to go to a nice place to eat.

The star has been here for some time now and this was the first time we called in. Very nice decor, polite, astute waiting staff and a fabulous selection of drinks. The food menu was enlightening and totally unique offering dishes of which you'd have to ask the waiter for further information!

I had roast beef and the wife had the risotto. Both were perfect! Light to eat, freshly prepared.

It would be a lovely place for special celebration with special people.

We will most defiantly return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Great; 18 years in June, we'll have been 'cooking our stuff'! We pride ourselves on our regional and local ingredients which, together with the seasons, write our menus for us. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

 
Harome, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing