We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star still shines.”
Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A benchmark for quality for many years in this area and quite rightly so. Revisited after a few years absence and was not disappointed. Outstanding food, excellent well kept beers and attentive service, a truly charming place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waltthewaitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

And a truly charming review - many thanks and we'll keep at it! Cheers AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 506 of 749 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have visited The Star each year for 7 years. We began by making a 5 hour round trip for lunch which speaks for itself! On the last three occasions we have stayed in The Garden Shed and in Cross House. Nothing changes. Accommodation is first class, the service exceptional and friendly. Mr.Pern and his team continue to excel with locally sourced seasonal produce, beautifully presented and creatively executed. The plates are always a feast for the eyes and good appetites are satisfied. We were offered more vegetables if we needed them. The Star has a unique , unpretentious atmosphere where everyone is made to feel comfortable and welcome. Customers can eat in the bar or the dining room - the menu is the same. If you stay, the breakfasts are superb, offering so much choice to start your day . The whole experience is a delight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Delightful review, thank you! Glad to hear that it was worth the journey and 7 years is a good track record. Here's looking forward to many more! Many thanks AP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Called in on Sun without a reservation,very busy but they found a table for us.Always think it adds to the whole experience when the chef (owner) appears and actually says hello and we were lucky that he did as it made our day that bit more enjoyable.Bustling country bar,slick service by polite efficient young staff.I had roast rump of lamb that you could have cut with a spoon,my partner had the beef~very good.We finished with an Eton Mess which came as a beehive,placed the back of the spoon onto the top and pressed it down,all the juices of the gorjus fruit inside the meringue beehive came out of tiny holes in the sides (very clever) brilliant.The plate looked just superb with a straight 10 for presentation.Lovely way to spend a Sunday lunch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tommykite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

A straight 10 is good enough for me! It really is the perfect place for a Sunday lunch isn't it!
Thanks AP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Haven't been to The Star for quite a while so we dropped in for Sunday lunch after doing the charming walk from Helmsley to Rievaulx and back. Had a smoked haddock cassoulet to start and an exquisite halibut with risotto for main with vegetables which had only travelled a few yards from the kitchen garden. It is almost unheard of that I couldn't find the slightest fault with anything but on this occasion, the whole experience was genuinely flawless. The food was utterly delicious, the service was friendly and polite and neither too fast or too slow. I also love the beer (Two Chefs Ale) developed by Andrew Pern from The Star at Harome and James MacKenzie from the Pipe and Glass at Dalton Home (our nearest Michelin starred pub). Try it if you get a chance.
I could not recommend this place more highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony_from_DCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Ladydodds, sorry that you couldn't find any fault with your visit - one type of 'problem' we like to hear about! We'll raise a glass of Two Chefs to celebrate. Thank you. AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful, perfectly executed food. Not overly messed about with, just superb seasonal quality ingredients, served by wonderful friendly staff with flair and professionalism.Great range of local ales and world wines too.

Thank Ladydodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

That's what we like to hear - and the thatched roof, wonky walls and open fires all add to the experience, not to forget the duckpond, cricket pitch, village church - all part of the quintessential English setting. Tell your friends, tell everyone, tell the world! Thanks AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing