We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place-perfect place for a treat”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We went to stay at the Starr Inn for my husbands birthday as there was a special guest chef evening (Paul Heathcote) in the restaurant and we thought we would treat ourselves and stay over.

The service was very good, once we had found reception (a few more signs would be helpful) we were shown to our room and everyone was very polite and helpful. The hotel is a beautiful old farmhouse complex and had some really lovely features-if you are like me, you will appreciate this place if you shy away from the big corporate chains who all look the same.

We stayed in room 7 which is in a little annex with room 8-i bet it would have been lovely to sit out in the private garden but it was blowing a gale so we stayed indoors! The room itself was very charming and finished to a very good standard. It is in a very traditional style without being dated in any way. The bed was very large (if a little hard for my taste) and the bathroom was very well appointed. There are some lovely little extras such as homemade biscuits and some squashes which look homegrown. There are full tea and coffee services which is always appreciated (and with only fresh milk) but no mini bar-I had asked for there to be champagne in the room and this was perfectly chilled when we arrived.

We also ate at the Star Inn, which is across the road (we were late because we werent really sure where to go, so again a few signs maybe?) and the food there was very good indeed. I had read some poor reviews of late but I was definitely impressed. I think the only thing that was lacking maybe was that once the meal had been served (it was a set menu on this occassion and thw whole room had the same thing at the same time) the servers disappeared. We weren't asked if we wanted coffee and had to hunt comeone down for some port. . It was a lovely touch to have both the head chef and the guest chef talk us through the meal, ingredients and cooking processes and also they came round to chat to all of the guests. I would be intrigued to go again and see what level everything was up to but this night was very good

I dont think there are many additional facilities, but you dont really need them. The villages in the area are lovely and the scenery is great. Failing that, the less adventurous could just stay there and eat great food and sit in the cosy bar area.

Overall this is great place to go, it is very romantic but would also be a fantastic place for a group or family. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 693 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the Star for one night in room 3 - billed as a bath with a view - suppose that's true once you look past the car park and bins outside the kitchen. The room has a window beside the bed which overlooks the public lounge/bar - not great for privacy and you can hear everything going on in the bar late into the night. The room is also above the kitchen so clanging and banging from 7am. Certainly not worth the £170 price tag, Positives were the food - breakfast was good and dinner at the Star was excellent, but wouldn't recommend it as a top notch boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy064Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

this was our first visit to the star and it certainly wont be our last

we stayed in the lodge at Black eagle cottages, a short stroll from the inn/restaurant and
our accomodation was extremely clean, well furnished and comfortable

we ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the quality of the food was outstanding and everything we had anticipated a michelin quality restaurant would be.
The service was also of the highest standards, being extremely attentive yet not overly fussy. in fact all the staff we met at the Star, were extremely pleasant, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dick0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in very small barn. Big complaint no shower only a bath, which although pretty not at all practical. Barn was so small there was no room for 1 let alone 2 comfy chairs to read in. The only comfy chair was located in the bathroom and was impossible to move. The meal to celebrate our anniversary was poor and no way michelin star standard. There was no 'tasting menu' available, just the basic 3 courses with luke warm soup served while we looked at menu.
Starter was good, plaice gujons and scalops. However main course (fatty steak chips and green salad) over priced and not at all special. Pudding was burnt and when we told waitress she said 'Oh'. we had gto compain again when paying and this was deducted off the bill. Cheese was tasteless and not very well explained by the waitress, who in fact was inexperienced and nervous. No maitre'd as far as we could tell. Certainly no-one came to check on our overall experience. This place does not deserve its Michelin Star and appears to be trading on past reputations. I'm sure if inspector came any time soon their award would quickly disappear.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank rossrothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Booked a table for lunch, wife's birthday. Much quieter than when last here. Only two other tables in use in restaurant. Limited menu. Too many dishes with extra ingredients. Is this a Michelin trait? Why not simpler and better? Specials on boards ludicously priced. £14 for a queen scallops starter? Give me a break! Both had Caesar salad starters. Nothing sparked the imagination. Both OK. I ordered Rib-eye (£24) for a main. Presentation poor. When it came, some-one in the kitchen had decided to cut it into strips and then poured a glutinous sauce all over it. Dreadful! Paid less and had better elsewhere. Puddings expensive and tiny. My pannacotta was almost missing, for £9.50 and only average.

I think Andrew Pern has spread his wings too far. This is not a Michelin restaurant! The food is only average. It should be simpler and exciting. I know people will still eat here as it's one of those places to be seen, but really it isn't that good.

As always, only two questions to ask

Would I return. No

Would I recommend. No.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrparticular987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at the Star Inn accomodation a week ago. The rooms were very nicely done, with a contryside style, which we like a lot. We had our dinner at The Star Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had reservation for four of us which was confirmed by one of the reception staff few days before our coming, which we found very profesional.
The dinner was booked at 8, we were welcomed by very friendly staff and offered drinks in the pub before our dinner. Later on, we were invited to the new restaurant which was stunning. The decore is fantastic. We were looked after by very nice staff, profesional service. The staff was very helpful and made us feel very relaxed, but still offered great service.
The food was excellent!!! We had three courses meal. The food was beautifuly presented and tested amazing, specially guinea fowl. The starters and desserts didn't let down either.
We enjoyed the whole experience very much. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and we would certainly come back to eat there again.
They suerly deserve Michelin Star award.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

If this was my first michelin star experience i would be rating The Star Inn at Harome with Five big stars. But it isn't and in my view it is not a michelin stared pub. On the other hand it is still very good.
The accommodation is superb. We stayed in the converted barn across from the pub. We got a really warm welcome and a guided tour. The honesty bar was a great idea,no waiting for somebody,just help yourself. We stayed in room three, which was cosy and had a really warm feel to it. The bathroom may not be to everybody's taste but i liked it. It was a cross between a sauna and a the inside of a garden shed,lots of wood. I felt like King Arthur whilst having breakfast at the very impressive round table. Breakfast by the way was superb.
Now to the but. The Pub itself is a lovely old pub,loads of character and friendly service. We were handed the menu straight away,and before we got our drinks the amuse arrived,i would have preferred this after i have ordered and sat at my table. The food was very nice but not up to michelin star quality. The black pudding and fois gras was a let down,maybe i expected too much from it. Our mains were very nice,pudding was too,but i ordered Chocolate indulgence,which was a selection of three chocolate based desserts. It came and i had to guess for myself what each part of the dish was. it would have been nice to have been told what i was eating. Likewise,when each course arrived we had to be asked whom was having what. The service was very pleasant but way,way too fast.In for seven out for half eight including coffee,we tried to slow it down but to no avail.
Some people may think reading this "what a nit picking sod" maybe i am but the point is when you pay for a star experience that is what you expect. Service where you can savour each course before the next one. Food just placed in front of you without being asked what you ordered. And the food you are eating explained. That is all part of a michelin starred meal in my opinion.
If you are going here never eaten at any other michelin stared food establishment it is a great introduction to the flavours of food. If you have eaten in others though,don't expect something out of this world because you won't get it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,662 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
810 reviews
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
406 reviews
24.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,270 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range: $198 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing