We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing break”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I decided to treat my hisband to a night away at the Star Inn for his 50th birthday. It was everything we couldl have hoped for. The accomodation was excellent. We particualrly liked the honesty bar. Dinner in the restauarant was superb. Unlike other reviewers we were not rushed at all. We had coffee upstairs in the loft after dinner. Wonderful break. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farthingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 694 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed at the self-contained accommodation a short stroll from the Star itself, over the Christmas period. The 'Garden Shed' was well-presented, and even had it's own Xmas tree gracing the lounge area, which I thought was a charming detail.. We dined in the restaurant for two consecutive nights and found the food fantastic.
Some critics have suggested the staff can be a little abrupt and service too fast.. My feeling is that the staff are courteous and professional, but dont simper and fawn as some might in other ( equally expensive ) establishments.. The service is swift, but we certainly weren't sent out into the night with cofffee in styrene cups. The staff were happy to let us enjoy the ambience..The place is expensive, but dont expect to be treated like Royalty. The Star is clearly working to a successful formula - probably that their market is the affluent professional who doesnt think that spending £300 for a couple of nights is any big deal..We booked to return.. PS Pern's shop in Helmsley is an absolute gem..

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singing_newt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

This was our 2nd stay at The Star and it was just as wonderful as last time. We stayed in room 2 - it was beautifully unfussy with a real luxurious feel. The bathroom is beautiful with a spa bath in front of the window that overlooks grazing cattle with calves. Fullsize bottles of Molton Brown smellies are always a bonus! The complimentary nibbles in the room are very generous and of high quality, as are the nibbles in the lounge. There were also home made goodies on the kitchen bar for you to help yourself to. A well-stocked 'honesty bar' is a great feature.

Once again the food was very good and the service excellent.

Any gripes? - Only one.. When we were sat in the Lodge lounge enjoying a glass of wine and reading magazines, the telephone rang continuously. This is understandable in such a popular establishment but I dont think anybody ever actually answered the phone. Ring, ring, ring - ALL afternoon. To make things worse I think our room was above the shop - that phone never stopped ringing either!!! But believe me, this is such a tiny gripe it's hardly worth mentioning - I will be booking for my Birthday next year too! Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrsMatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed for one night as a romantic break. We stayed in the Garden Shed. It was lovely - more of a mini cottage than a hotel room. It was nice to have the extra room. Bit disappointed with the bathroom as it was a bit dated but the lounge area and garden made up for it.

As other reviewers have said, in the Black House Cottage rooms you have all the ingredients to make your own breakfast. I have to say this was slightly nicer in idea than in reality as there was a just a little combi grill thing but was still nice to be able to prepare and eat at our own pace.

Our only slight criticism is that there was no information in the room and we were just shown to the cottage and then the host left. Would be nice to have some more information about how everything works - eg were we expected to wash up, was everthing provided complimentary (little treats were provided other than the breakfast).

The Garden Shed is a 5 minute walk to the Star, which was nice to build up an appetite. The Star itself is very small - much smaller than we expected but is lovely and very much a traditional country pub.

The food was exceptional. It was unfussy and just good local produce cooked very well. The atmosphere was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome. The service was superb - exactly the right mix of attentive and unobstrusive.

The whole experience was deeply relaxing and we felt very good value for a fantastic meal and wine, good service and a room more like a mini cottage.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

I stayed at the Star Inn with my boyfriend for one night in March 2007 to celebrate my birthday. We had to book ten months in advance to get in on a Friday night, so we had very high expectations!

Upon arrival we received a really friendly welcome and were briefly shown around and made to feel very at home.

We stayed in Room 8, which is in a separate building with Room 7 in the grounds of Cross House Lodge opposite the Inn. The room was huge with a really high ceiling and beams. The room had loads of lovely little touches that really added to the luxurious feel - a CD player and DVD player along with a selection of CDs and DVDs, a jacuzzi bath, a complimentary bottle of water, bowl of fruit, bar of chocolate and bag of nuts in the room, a jar of handmade cookies, a selection of recent magazines, Molton Brown toilettries etc.

I only had two very minor gripes about the room, and these are purely personal preference - the bed had blankets rather than a duvet and there was no stand-up shower - just a hand-held shower for use while sitting in the bath.

We also had a piano in our room, which was fun - it is in dire need of tuning though so be warned if you book this room with some serious playing in mind!

We ate in the Inn in the evening and we loved the ambience and found the staff very friendly. The first two courses felt a little rushed - our table was booked for 8.30pm and we'd finished our main course by 9.15pm - but dessert and coffee was served at a much more leisurely pace!

The food was very good but I was a little surprised that it had a Michelin star. There are a number of other gastropubs in Yorkshire which seem to serve equally as good food but which do not have a star - although I accept that it is difficult to judge on just one meal.

The lounge in Cross House Lodge looked extremely cosy and we ate our breakfast at the huge round table just off the lounge - the breakfast incidentally was fantastic! The lounge was extremely hot but I think this was due to it being unusually mild outside for March, while the lounge had an open log fire. I can imagine this is lovely in the winter though!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KOHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

we just loved the place, we stayed at a b&b just round the corner, the food was the best, the service was so lovely....we couldn't fault a thing, we met both the chief and his wife there professionalism and manners was beyond what you could expect

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank photograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2006

stayed for one night including dinner.

food was fantastic (never had blue shark before)

the lodge itself is a short walk from the pub, but great walk back under uninteruptted view of the stars.

we had a hamper of goodies from the corner shop with which to cook our own breakfast - never tasted sausages like them, and fabulous field mushrooms

disappointed the the pub closed in the afternoon and the hot water for the bath took forever. otherwise fabulous night away

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank velvetknickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,670 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
410 reviews
24.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,279 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range: $201 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing