We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very mixed feelings”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very mixed feelings”
Reviewed August 13, 2008

me&my husband stayed in room 4 it is the smallest of the rooms but very nice&stylish what a gorgeous hotel attention to detail is fantastic candles everywhere all the time including at breakfast a very romantic special unique place BUT our room overlooked the lounge &at midnight a group of people came back been very loud we went down to ask them to be quiet but nothing changed we didnt get to sleep until 4 am so that spoiled our stay we tried to phone reception which just rang downstairs as there was no one downstairs then tried to phone the owners home no which was given if there was an emergency but no joy something needs to be in place in case of situations like this as it could of got very nasty as my husband wanted to go mental at them and we ate in the restaurant which was lovely but very suprised it has a mitchalin star and it does need major updating so overall was a little disapointed with the restaurant the hotel gorgeous would go back but in a quieter room probably 7 0r 8

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mozmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    82
    42
    25
    14
See reviews for
92
359
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

we have stayed at the star inn around 7-8 times - in cross house lodge and black eagle cottage - up to now we have always been delighted with our stay. this time was different and we noticed lots of subtle changes.

we missed in particular, the patrolling presence of mrs pern and her attention to detail: as if the empire, having been built, is now in the hands of less enthusiastic others.

we enjoyed a drink in the bar and specifically told the waitress we wanted to spend at least half an hour before moving to our table. she called us through 5 minutes later and our starter and main course had both been served within half an hour! our evening was over, it seemed,before it had even begun.

the food was ok but very average and the main course was positively bland and boring - not worth the money. in particular we noticed our room was shabby and in need of refurbishment: scuffed wall paper, tatty carpet, shower doors not moving easily / coming off hinges to reveal less than clean grooves! bathroom corners definitely needed attention to detail - wouldn't have passed mrs pern's inspection! not worth the money.

breakfast in the wheelhouse ok but again, attention to detail. nice waitress but bit dizzy: i asked for coffee with my breakfast-it came straight away and went cold. we have always been automatically served a basket of toast in the past but this was not forthcoming this time. by the time we realised we had to ask for it, our breakfasts had arrived and we were left waiting ages (how long does it take to produce a basket of toast?). chipped crockery too.

all in all a disappointment from start to finish and not worth the £300 bill at the end - time to look for pastures new. as my husband said: the perns have built their empire and are clearly taking a back seat.

  • Liked — cosy, rustic
  • Disliked — shabby - in need of refurb
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reviewqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My boyfriend manged to book a room thankkfully due to a last minute cancelation, as I have recommend this to friends since and they've been full up for weeks in advance.

We stayed in the room which had the mini pool table in it. The room was jaw droppingly beautiful, I've never seen so much attention to detail, they had thought of everything! The bathroom was immaculate and very spacious - couldnt fault any part of the weekend.

The pictures on the website dont do it justice. We ate in the bar on Saturday evening, making sure we arrived as the pub opened as we had been warned it got very busy later on which it did! The weekend was perfect and will definitely be remembered as one of the most romantic getaways we have been on
We especially liked the idea of the honesty bar back over in the barn, the lounge was a perfect place to come back to when the pub got too busy and a game of pool in the room was a great way to end the evening ( however some of the pockets had holes in them, so apologies to the room below!)

Cant wait to go back!

  • Liked — They had thought of everything
  • Disliked — I couldnt take the room home and exchange it for mine!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletcher137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

A treat from my sister took us to The Star for a second time.

It's a lovely homely relaxing place and we had a very nice stay. The food in the restaurant was excellent again and the breakfast was the best cooked breakfast I've had for a long time.

Only gripe was that every where was very hot and this is in a poor english summer. We opened quite a few windows in the lodge to try and get some air into the place.

Bed was comfy although firm which is to our liking. We stayed in room 2. Beware the room which is above the cooking area which can get very hot (my brother was in here), although there is air conditioning in this room because of this problem.

All in all a wonderful stay. We would definitely go back. On the Saturday we went to Castle Howard which is worth a visit and only about 20-25 minute drive way.

  • Liked — Excellent food and relaxed ambiance
  • Disliked — Everywhere was very hot
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totoandluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I booked the Star for my boyfriend's birthday. We stayed in the very nice Room 4 - which has a view over the lounge and a floating bed.

The facilities were excellent (the complimentary cheese and cakes were a winner!) and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the pub on the evening.

The breakfast room is impressive and equally matched by the wonderful food on offer. Overall, a fantastic little place to escape to.

  • Liked — Tasteful renovations
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMouseYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed in the Garden Shed at the Star at Harome and ate at the restaurant two nights running. The restaurant was full both nights. The room comes with a welcome pack as you are a short walk from the restaurant. The welcome pack is more than enough for two, with smoked salmon, sausages, bacon, eggs, yoghurts, cereal, coffee, tea, fresh orange and apple juice, cakes, biscuits, crackers, cheese, chocolates and milk. When we arrived at the room there was music playing, fire burning, table laid and of course the wonderful hamper. There is also a little terrace with table and chairs to sit outside. The room is really nicely decorated with quality fabrics and furniture, obviously a lot of effort has gone into making the room look cosy and welcoming. Very quaint and cottagey but in a nice way. Molten Brown products in the bathroom,fluffy bathrobes and the room is turned down at night so that when you return the lights are on and the fire is going and more home made biscuits provided - very nice!! The staff were really friendly, just the right amount of attention paid, food gorgeous, such a nice choice of locally sourced foods. The shop has a great selection of things to buy from cards, books, locally made foodstuffs to teddy bears. We saw 'the Star' in our Mr and Mrs Smith book and took the card with us, when we left we received another hamper to take with us, again filled with things from the shop in a star shaped hamper complete with teddy bear.
A great place for people really into food !!

  • Liked — Nothing was too much trouble for the staff
  • Disliked — Mattress could have been a bit more comfortable!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We've tried to book at the Star two or three times, admittedly at short notice, and couldn't get in but this time we were lucky, presumably because it was midweek at the end of February.

We stayed in the Garden Shed, about a five minute walk down the village from the Star, and the wait was worth it. Our 'room' consisted of a gorgeously romantic bedroom complete with four poster bed and Egyptian cotton bedlinen, a beautiful bathroom, Molton Brown bath products, plenty of thick fluffy towels. Plus we had a small sitting/dining room, prettily furnished, and a little kitchen area. There was plenty of tea and coffee, a teapot so we didn't have to dunk teabags in the cup, and fresh milk in the fridge, which also contained fruit juices, smoothies, water, smoked salmon, and cheese. There were also other snacks in a basket on the worktop. The kitchen was equipped so that we could cook if we chose to, and the table was set with lovely spotty china. As we walked in music was playing on the radio and the fire was 'lit' (admittedly an electric cast iron stove but very welcoming all the same). French doors led from the sitting area to a very private patio area with table and chairs, and beyond the patio a pretty garden. It all looked to have been newly decorated and refurbished.

There were plenty of books, a CD player, radio, various films in the TV cabinet, and a selection of current magazines, plus that day's copy of the Independent. The attention to detail was brilliant right down to a couple of night lights and a box of matches in the bathroom should we want to bathe by candlelight !

We had dinner at the Star which was absolutely delicious. The staff struck just the right level of attentiveness without being in the least bit annoying and we just floated through the evening rounding it off with coffee and drinks up in the rafters before wandering back down the village to our Shed.

Breakfast was served in the Wheelhouse just across the road from the Star and the choice was fantastic. It's served at a huge circular table so we easily got into conversation with two other couples who were eating at the same time. Had we wanted we could have had a breakfast picnic delivered to our room.

It isn't cheap, about £250 for one night including dinner, drinks, and breakfast, but worth every penny. The room itself was £130 for b&b and we could have had dinner elsewhere (Helmsley is only five minutes away) if we'd wanted to cut costs.

We couldn't fault anything and would recommend the Star wholeheartedly although this will not doubt make it even harder to book again in the future.

For those who want to explore the area the Walled Garden at Scampston (stunning), Duncombe Park, and the Ryedale Folk Museum (an absolute gem) are all well worth a visit (although some of these aren't open in February) plus the delights of Helmsley (and its own walled garden) on the doorstep, and wonderful Whitby if you want to venture a little further afield.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendsreunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
21.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing