We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Fortunately with work,as a wee treat, I get an experience, each quarter, to treat myself to. And this time round, I chose The Star. I brought with me my girlfriend (saturday 28th december). We had lunch, stayed overnight (room 9) and also had dinner.

I myself work within the industry, I am a Food & Beverage Manager for a large UK hotel brand and since graduating at University, the whole foodie scene has hit my heart.

I have to say it, I found The Star absoluetely enchanting. A truly magnificent experience. The bar (the pub side of the dining experience) is like a film set. It is as if you had to design the perfect country pub! Good ales are on offer (the only thing that really interests me!) and my girlfriend went down the wine list. Slowly but surely.

The restaurant was truly wonderful. We both had six courses over the two meals - got to say, my favourite was the ox cheek, whilst my girlfriend loved the goose starter - she had it twice. All is fantastically well priced. The staff were attentitive, yet stand off ish. Just how I like it. Nothing potentious. We drank the night away (my girlfriend goes for the wine, but it was very well priced, cheaper than my hotel!), had a few in the bar, and then finished up at the honesty bar back in the accommodation quarters (this was so quaint, absolutely wonderful idea).

The accommodation was brilliant. The room was massive, which justified its nightly rate, and was cosy and beautifully designed (it also had a sofa bed, next time I am bringing mates!). Whilst the chill out sofa areas are brilliant (we were in a drunken snooze on the sofas by this point!)

Overall, a truly fantastic experience. I'll be back. I have one more quarter to treat myself from work and well, why not go back to where I had a terrific time. Only downside was forgetting to buy the chefs book, but i'm sure I can pick that up online..

I understand the importance of TripAdvisor from working in hotels, hence why I felt it of such great importance to pass on my experience. Readers, it is as simple as this - book into The Star!

Joseph.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Wow, cheers for that - it seems you've got what we are all about! Many thanks, we"ll have to change the wine list again if your girlfriend has tried them all!! (Joke!) It's a great place to eat drink and be merry; see you next quarter! AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    78
    42
    24
    13
See reviews for
86
343
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived and stayed in a beautiful room the night before the wedding my kids loved the jacuzzi bath! We were looked after brilliantly by the staff and had a wonderful meal for 40. Beautiful place beautiful setting for a wedding

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0phie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Perfect and thank you! And a very good excuse to get the kids to have a bath (although quite expensive to bring them here every time they need a wash!) Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Booked as a treat for a Saturday night - it's not cheap!!. Location lovely, pub is across the road from accommodation. Room was beautiful, spa bath (but no shower), huge comfy bed, piano if you fancy a tinkle!!. Nice touches like proper milk for tea and coffee, home made biscuits, bottled water. Staff come in and turn down your bed whilst you're at dinner - when we came back we found someone else's clothes in the bathroom - bit strange!!! We reported it when we booked out but they didn't seem overly concerned which was a bit disappointing. The comfy seating area was very relaxing, real fire, honesty bar and cheese, crackers, grapes, little pastries to help yourselves too - and the most delicious rhubarb liquor.

The food was very good - the pub was rammed!! Would have been nice if they could have a few more handpulled real ales on. Great selection of wine for dinner. I think this pub had a Michelin star but not sure if it still has - certainly expert chefs tho and not too formal.

Breakfast was on the accommodation side - everyone who stays gets served around a large round table which could be a bit intimate for some. Took a while to get the food and it was ok, but not the best cooked breakfast I've had (sausages were under-done) and for the price I expected it to be perfect.

The place is clearly very popular and I can see why. The atmosphere was lovely - not at all pretentious but high class stuff!! It's a shame I can't give it the full 5 stars but I really didn't want to find someone else's underwear in my bathroom!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Sorry about the underwear; not sure why someone had tried to hide it but we should have found it first. Glad you enjoyed everything else! Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here this weekend and had an absolutely lovely stay - friendly and welcoming staff, afternoon nibbles to help ourselves to, a roaring fire to warm up by and a wonderful bedroom (room 1). The bath at the end of the bed was absolute bliss! The bed was a little harder than I'd like, but that's just personal taste. Loved flicking through the books on the bedside table. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and served in the most beautiful setting. One and only criticism would be that I would have expected a slightly "fancier" shower in this kind of place - not that the one there didn't do the job!!!! Very pleasant to have the lounge (complete with honesty bar) to go and relax in after our delicious evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Excellent, thanks. A good place to relax before and after your 'feast' reviewed separately. Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is so magical. It appears to be a thatched pub in the middle of Harome near Helmsley but is much more than that. When first entering you are met with low beams, a crackling log fire and a lovelly cosy little bar. We were warmly welcomed and asked if we wanted a drink in the pub before going through for dinner. Having ordered our choices we were taken through to the 'old' restaurant where we were seated next to another crackling fire. The atmosphere was all we had hoped for with wooden tables, low beams, wooden floor boards covered by a large rug and an eclectic mix of artwork on the walls. Our meal was beautifully cooked although the food is extremely rich and we failed to finish our main courses for this reason. Upstairs is a very cosy private dining room set in the thatch along with an even cosier lounge where you can have coffee after dinner. The back garden was beautifully designed for summer barbecues. They also have rooms in a neighbouring property which are all highly unique ie a billiard table in one room.
All in all a wonderfully romantic evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
A real gem, indeed, especially at this time of year with all the fires lit to add to the warmth of the hospitality. Thank you for your comments and hope you'll stay for a game of billiards next time! Cheers AP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Been our fourth visit and stay at the Star, you could say we are a big fan of the place!
Rooms are so comfortable and well appointed, very homely.
The food and service are amazing, heaps of local ingredients superbly cooked and presented with some very well thought out dishes.
The staff are very attentive and so polite, if anybody wants to see how it's done properly then these guys are the ones to watch!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Excellent - keep watching!!! Very kind,thank you and I'm glad was all to your liking. Hope to see you on the 5th visit? All the best AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We vist the star every 2-3 Months as we live in Gloucester and been going there since 2005, really can't understand why this places has not got the Michelin back, we got two pubs local to us both awarded michelin star and the STAR Harome cooking and execution of dishes outshine both .

Service was so good again, Thank u: We have two young boys and always the staff are so good, The food amazing as normal , belly of lamb and sole , Would love to see the miniatures desserts back, aslo a couple years back they done a assiette of chocolate £10.00, one of the best desserts ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Brill, thank you. Why not write to Michelin and tell them of your thoughts? Baffles us too! (I'll do you a taste/ chocolate indulgence!) Cheers AP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
22.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing