We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Faced with all the 4 and 5 star praise this place gets I suspect I am going to sound like a curmudgeon. We have probably eaten there around 6 times in the last 2 years, 3 times in the last 2 months as we switched our fortnightly destination from Sinnington as the place had become obsessed with fish as, it turned out, the Star has to some extent. We actually like Dover sole and Halibut but usually have it wonderfully fresh at home the night before.

Why just the 3 stars? Well, basically, if you could eat the actual menu rather than what it represents it would probably be 5! The menu is a masterly piece of spin with the suppliers/source of the ingredients proudly listed as if this somehow adds value to the result. Additionally, the main menu did not significantly change in the 6 weeks we have recently been going there. Somehow, the actual taste of the presentations was never remotely close to the spin. We have cancelled our regular booking. It's 'sister' hotel The Pheasant in the village is even worse.

We find the food at The Anvil, Sawdon better and tastier at half the price. The same can be said of The Fox and Hounds at Sinnington (about 20% cheaper) and the Feathersham arms at Helmsley (about the same price) although the latter two need to change their menus more often.

35 years ago the Star was second to none in the area but nowadays the competition is stiff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meditek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
There are other names which spring to mind rather than 'carmudgeon'. I must admit having read your review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Dover sole and Halibut the night before you came to us. Oddly enough we do not tend to ask our guests at the time of booking what they plan to eat the night before their intended trip to us! (I bet some even have meat??? and then fish with us!!!! Who knows... maybe we should do a survey?)

We change the menu dishes as and when the season and the market allows us, not as some strict rule. I wonder how many times it has changed over the last two years and was it six visits you paid us?

Fish is more abundant in the summer months, with hopefully warmer weather a lot of our guests enjoy these dishes, as is game in the Autumn and Winter months.

I know of the places which you seem to enjoy, particularly what we all call locally 'The Feversham Arms' not Feathersham (Lord Feversham and Duncombe Park are quite well known around these parts!)

I am not quite sure what the 'piece of spin' is on our menus, although it has not changed for the last sixteen and a half years and seems to have been quite successful thus far. I have just taken delivery of the 2013 Good Food Guide, "the stiff competition" (on the same score as us are The Pheasant and the Pipe and Glass near Beverley, both former Star Inn Chef's who cook at and own these places) which I am sure would like to have our reputations, as mutli award winning establishments, who clearly know what they are doing unlike some people who write strange reviews, only thinking to be honest of themselves.


I know that all of my staff looked after you well and asked if everything was to your liking at the time, so to send a review weeks later seems a little strange! Never mind, I am sure the customer is always right... just look at all our other reviews!

Cheers

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    82
    42
    25
    13
See reviews for
90
351
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband booked a meal here as a weekend treat, we have never been before so did not know what to expect. All i can say is wow, the walnut bread fantastic, the belly pork the best executed my husband has ever eaten(and he has had this at our local Michelin Starred pub)my turbot perfection on a plate, and the garden dessert quirkiness and good looks / taste on a plate (so clever the little snail)in the garden scene, the waiter was so attentive overall a fantastic dining experience, hope to be back and next time we will be booking into a stay in the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snapdragon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Brilliant, Pork Belly and Turbot! I love the snail too, everyone thinks that he is great! Write to Michelin and ask them why we lost our star???!

Many thanks and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here twice now. In The Garden Shed and more recently in the main building. Both rooms were excellent the latter having a winow overlooking the Wheel kitchen. Breakfast was amazing with great choice. The hamper on our first visit to cook our own breakfast was filled with all sorts of niceties. If you are looking for a special treat, a little bit differenet and can afford dinner - go for it.

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for. All are very different. The rooms up at the barn are quiet and cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jofog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Excellent!!! Only seven more rooms to sample. Come soon, don't wait for your birthday!

All the best

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My daughter brought me here for my birthday - Walnut Bread to die for, fabulous food - and what can I say about dessert(S!) AMAZING - can't wait for my next birthday hint hint!! - the corner shop even got me some of the bread from the restaurant to take home :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeriBidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We could make you a Walnut Bread 'cake' with a candle in it next time although a year is a long time to wait!

Thankyou for your great comments .

All the best

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire. UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had such a wonderful weekend here. We were part of a wedding party, which is this hotel's speciality. (Actual wedding at different venue). We ate fabulous food in restaurant over the road in the Star's pub/restaurant. The food and service was unbelievable. Wonderful menu and wines. The rooms were quirky and beds to die for - so comfy.(i unfortunately had the shower door fall to pieces, but the staff rectify this for the duration but we had a huge Victorian bath at the bottom of the bed, so this wasn't too much of a problem). Great facilities and staff SO helpful . Lived up to it's 5* status.
Only one problem but am not moaning exactly.....not enough handy electric plug points in strategic places, needed a lot of crawling on carpet to put the kettle on for example, also could have easier reaching plug near mirror for hair dryer.

Breakfasts had so much choice it was almost impossible to choose. Loved it.

Can't wait to return for a proper holiday. This is how to run a hotel!!!

Room Tip: I think they're all good, but we had room 1, which was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatSpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write your lovely review. We have a great venue here with so many great areas, we appeal to anybody and everybody from all walks of life. We do not offer dull wedding 'packages', so whatever the customer wants...we can do it!

We will certainly look into your point about the plug sockets, we certainly don't want you having to crawl across the carpets!

All the best

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for a foodie break i.e. 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Room 8 is beautiful, relaxing and has its own outside sitting area. Extremely quiet. Beautiful bathroom. Spacious luxurious bedroom. Breakfast is wonderful sitting round a huge 16 seater table. Cereals, local smoked salmon, pickled herring, great cheese and fresh bread. Then a cooked breakfast of great quality particularly the kippers.

The restaurant offers a la carte or a tasting menu. As part of the foodie break you can try both.

I'm not a great fan of tasting menus as I'm convinced that the secret of a good meal is choosing what you like - so the tasting menu was fine but not great.

The a la carte was the best meal I've eaten in a restaurant in 20 years. Tagliatelle cooked perfectly with girolle mushrooms in a cream and herb sauce was devine. Then the most wonderful piece of fillet steak cooked perfectly with a plate full of interesting and complementing flavours. Each flavour enhanced the next. Finally a Yorkshire cheeseboard that would make a Frenchman jealous. The waiter talked about each cheese as though he'd just tried every one. What a joy. And that brings me to the perfect service. Not overbearing but helpful, cheerful, there when you want them, knowledgeable. To finish off, truffles to die for. All in all the meal you put in your memory banks as the yardstick of how great food should be.

And all this for £450 for 2 people for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. A steal

Room Tip: Room 8 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjrLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Excellent... We like making Frenchmen jealous with our own version of 'cuisine terroir' . As you say, our front of house staff take great pride in their knowledge of our menu and the seasonality and provenance of the food that we serve. Our Cheese board is one piece of the whole jigsaw which makes up the whole of 'The Star Inn's' picture.

Tell your friends, tell the world....particularly France!!!

`a bientot
Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Star Inn is a truly unique place - we had the pleasure to have our wedding here and I'm so glad we chose this venue as it delivered the perfect day! If you want a relaxed, unprententious day, where you and your guests feel spoilt (but without being too overly-fussed over), where you can enjoy time together in an intimate setting, with amazing views, stunning food and the best staff around then you need to come here!
When we first arrived, there was a gorgeous complementary afternoon tea which was amazing (even my friends that lack a sweet tooth were converted!). The amazing Anna showed us to our rooms, let us get a feel for the place and left us to catch up before the big day! The atmosphere of the place just allows you to instantly relax (all our guests felt the same) as the the staff and the place itself is so welcoming and warm; you feel that it is your own fancy pants home for a few days!
The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and had so many personal touches - we all felt very spoilt!
The food was the best I've ever had at any wedding (our guests were allowed a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts) and the way the staff laid out the room was fantastic - everyone was blown away and said it was the best wedding they had ever been to!
We also had the pleasure to meet Andrew Pern and he was so welcoming and cheery! I would also like to say a special thanks to Anna - she made sure that we got the day we wanted, she is full of energy and nothing is too much trouble, everyone one thought she was great!
So we just want to say again - a big thank you to Anna, Andrew and the rest of the team for making the day so very special - we'll never forget it! x
We can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for the 'Fancy Pants' review! Perfect! It is brilliant that you and all of your friends and family had such a great time. The idea is to come and be spoilt, relax and indulge and you seem to have done all! All the best for your lives together and we look forward to welcoming you back again for your anniversary!!! (Is everyone coming???)

Best wishes

Andrew Pern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
21.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing