We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a nights stay at The Pheasant as a quick escape from our busy business.

We stayed in Plum Cottage, which, if like us you want privacy it is perfect. The room is well appointed with everything you need, including an honesty basket of goodies and complimentary Damson Gin. Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to make use of the private terrace, but would be perfect for evening drinks or just sitting and relaxing during the day. We did make use of the pool which was a lovely touch and really helped to get us in a chilled out mood.

The bar and lounge have open fires with big squashy sofas you can hunker down in with a drink and read the paper or the wonderful interiors magazines (a personal favourite of mine!!) there is also a diverse library to choose from.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt at home and well looked after. The staff were all lovely and knowledgable regarding food and wines and nothing was too much trouble.

We ate in the restaurant and choose the Asparagus Tasting menus with wines to match - this proved to be an excellent choice and our waiter was able to talk us through the pairings and also how the food had been cooked. Even though the restaurant was full we felt as if we were getting personally service and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

I had one of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time and as it is so peaceful you are not disturbed by any traffic noise.

Breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice, as well as a selection of newspapers.

We are both agreed that we can not wait to return and experience what The Pheasant does so well - a huge thank you to the team for providing such a wonderful relaxing environment and helping us forget work for 24 hours!

Chrysta and Tony Newman

Room Tip: Plum cottage is secluded and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrysta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 400 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from a wonderfully relaxing night away with 11 friends to celebrate 3 of our number's 'significant' birthdays! The hotel was beautiful, quaint and very welcoming! Our twin rooms were all spotless, very tastefully decorated and had wonderfully comfortable beds! We had dinner in the conservatory which had been reserved for us alone which was super so we could enjoy our meal and a few bottles of wine without fear of being too noisy (which we weren't anyway)! The meal was from the set menu which was imaginative and unusual and definitely offered something for everyone. The wines we chose were delicious and reasonably priced which is refreshing for a hotel of this quality. The staff were all very knowledgeable about the hotel, the area and (most importantly) the food they were serving! After a great night's sleep we enjoyed a varied breakfast from the traditional full English to a mushroom frittata with herbs or eggs Benedict which was amazing also! We had a peep into the swimming pool building on our way home and, although small, looked clean and well cared for. I would definitely return to The Pheasant and bring my husband as I know he would enjoy the place as much as I did.

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the pond are in my opinion the nicest, but they are all of a high standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolacH4585FD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a brief over-night stay with dinner, en route to Scotland. My wife and I like it from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. All the staff we encountered were friendly, very helpful and totally professional. This is a well run establishment in a lovely Yorkshire village.
Our room was spacious and well fitted with a view over farmland and the village pond.
We joined two friends for dinner, as they too were staying at the Pheasant on their way to the same wedding. All four of us were impressed with the food and service.
I had the fish pie and my wife had the roast rump of beef. Both were really good. We both had a wild garlic risotto with Lincolnshire Poacher goujons to start and that was a delight.
All four of us finished with a lemon posset raspberries and ginger meringue, which was excellent.
Also had a pretty good wine list at reasonable prices.
Breakfast more than lived up to our expectations, given dinner.
A great selection and some unusual things in offer - excellent smoked salmon, brilliant lightly-smoked kipper. The latter was so good, I asked were the fish came from. It came from fisherman in Hartlepool who also did their own smoking.
The full English breakfast was also very good, by all accounts given the comments from the others. Breakfast is served in a conservatory room which was light, airy and very pleasant.
We'd definitely recommend the Pheasant at Harome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingfisher1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited here with another couple for an overnight stay and have to say it is a beautiful place. The lounge area and dining is top class and very relaxing. We went for the tasting menu which was good and reasonable at £55 for 5 courses. Rooms are gorgeous (bathroom was a bit small). There is also a pool. The pool is a nice addition but very small and is not really a swimmers pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beartravels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We decided to stay at the Pheasant as a special treat as it is on the pricey side for us. Glad we did as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us up to our rooms, which were very comfortable, welcoming and clean. We did not eat dinner here as we thought the menu was too sophisticated for our family and would have been a waste of money. However, we did enjoy our delicious breakfast. Our children also enjoyed using the leisure pool. Would loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticSpirit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Superb hotel where the staff make ones stay very comfortable.The food is well presented and sourced locally. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed linen is of a good quality rarely seen in hotels these days.
Stayed for four nights and would recommend it for its outstanding quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROGER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Had an amazing stay with my family last weekend at the pheasant . A warm welcome awaited us from front of house staff. All our four poster bedrooms were of great quality and luxury with nice finishing touches. The bar area was warm and inviting and our evening meal in the orangery was outstanding. Service exceptional and they catered remarkably for coeliacs. Breakfast was relaxed and leisurely and again good choice and quality . Sure I will be returning to this hotel in the near future.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Claremcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
22.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,970 reviews
2.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
19.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
896 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Main Street, Harome YO62 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harome
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pheasant has arguably one of the most beautiful Country Hotel settings in North Yorkshire, over looking the duck pond in the picturesque village of Harome. Originally converted from what had been the blacksmith's shop, village shop and barns, the main part of the hotel offers one single and eleven double rooms, whilst in the sheltered courtyard are two suites, the Pheasant Suite and Plum Cottage, each with its own private entrance, two further family rooms which each have two bedrooms and the heated indoor swimming pool. The stylish and highly individual interiors - designed by Director Jacquie Pern - give the accommodation a homely and welcome feel, which continues throughout the public areas: the lounge, bar, conservatory, dining room and terrace, providing a variety of options of where to eat or enjoy a drink. The Pheasant has established a reputation for great food under the capable hands of Chef/Director Peter Neville. Residents and non-residents can choose from a wide range of menus, all taking advantage of the wealth of local, seasonal produce, including a fixed price daily Market Menu, the A la Carte, and a Tasting Menu with optional matched wine package. The Pheasant has been awarded Welcome to Yorkshire's "Small Hotel of the Year 2016". In 2014 The Pheasant was awarded the Yorkshire Life "Small but Special Accommodation" Award. The Hotel has recently been awarded Three AA Red Stars Inspectors' Choice Country House Hotel. Seasonal and special breaks are available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing