We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country luxury”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having stayed at the Star Inn 2 mins away a few times, I was excited to stay at the Pheasant. It's slightly bigger but still manages to feel very intimate, relaxing and secluded. The reception, lounges and terraces were fantastically decorated and comfortable (we didn't try the pool). Whilst the rooms were also very comfortable with a few nice touches, they weren't quite as individual or luxurious maybe as the Star but to be fair I think that is reflected in the price. The bathroom was a of a disappointment to be honest but there was a nice big bath. We stayed in 'Ashdale'. We didn't eat there for an evening meal but enjoyed the beautifully cooked breakfast in the morning. Overall a lovely stay, we'd probably stay at the Star next time but choose to try dinner at the Pheasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely relaxed country inn and great food. Our room was lovely - Bransdale but just a bit surprised at the old and tired bathrooms. However the rest if the inn is beautiful. Our meal was very good and our waiter excellent and very interested in what we thought if the food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We returned to The Pheasant with our 18 month old daughter recently having got married there in 2011. It was as fabulous in every way as ever, a very treatful and special place. If you go with young family it's worth asking for one of the two rooms "over the court" (we stayed in Peartree) as they have a lovely living area with a small kitchen (including a fridge and microwave) and 2 separate bedrooms. We are already looking forward to returning in a couple of years time, please keep up your wonderful work everyone at The Pheasant!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay here, beautifully appointed rooms with some special touches (sloe gin and home-made biscuits), fresh milk, cafetiere coffee and turn-down service with a modern twist on pillow-chocolate! The staff were welcoming and attentive, the swimming pool was quiet and warm and the ambience is just perfect for congenial relaxation. The bar and lounge are so comfortable, coupled with outstanding, caring service - how can some places get it so right? Harome is a super village, the terrace overlooking the village pond is delightful and breakfast was delicious. I felt refreshed and revitalised after just one night!

Room Tip: We had a four poster room, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshSinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just had a superb stay over and meal at The Pheasant. We live nearby and have been a few times but never stayed before. This was a special occasion and It was just lovely. The room, Service, food, ambience all excellent. We will be back. Thank you all

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at the Pheasant recently with my daughter and could not fault it. It was a last minute decision enroute to the dales and loved it. The village had a lovely feel to it as we drove through and found the pheasant tucked away at the end of the village. The welcome we got was lovely and we were shown to our room which looked out over the courtyard. There was music playing on entering the room and the windows were open, lovely touch. We had a four poster bed which was not fussy and a lovely sitting area. The outside terrace was where we sat and pondered our afternoon over a glass of wine and a browse through the papers.
The bar area and sitting room was very well laid out and very tastefully done out. We had breakfast in the conservatory which was laid out well with lots of choice. Would not hesitate to book again and look forward to returning when that big fire in the bar will be roaring.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank chris6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

we returned to the Pheasant this year for a 5 night stay having fallen in love with the place after several shorter visits. We were not disapointed ! The staff , without exception , were outstanding and attended to our every need (Liz and Sarah jane worthy of special mention). The food is exceptional and the tasting menu was a particular highlight - although to call it a highlight is misleading as the quality of food was outstanding throughout our stay. We were given one evening meal at the more famous Star Inn (as a treat for longer stay) and whilst the meal was very good it did not live up to the standard at the Pheasant.
We used the swimming pool and really enjoyed it - an excellent facility.
We had a thoroughly relaxing stay and really did not want to leave - we will be back !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramseypg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
22.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,970 reviews
2.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
19.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
896 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Main Street, Harome YO62 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harome
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pheasant has arguably one of the most beautiful Country Hotel settings in North Yorkshire, over looking the duck pond in the picturesque village of Harome. Originally converted from what had been the blacksmith's shop, village shop and barns, the main part of the hotel offers one single and eleven double rooms, whilst in the sheltered courtyard are two suites, the Pheasant Suite and Plum Cottage, each with its own private entrance, two further family rooms which each have two bedrooms and the heated indoor swimming pool. The stylish and highly individual interiors - designed by Director Jacquie Pern - give the accommodation a homely and welcome feel, which continues throughout the public areas: the lounge, bar, conservatory, dining room and terrace, providing a variety of options of where to eat or enjoy a drink. The Pheasant has established a reputation for great food under the capable hands of Chef/Director Peter Neville. Residents and non-residents can choose from a wide range of menus, all taking advantage of the wealth of local, seasonal produce, including a fixed price daily Market Menu, the A la Carte, and a Tasting Menu with optional matched wine package. The Pheasant has been awarded Welcome to Yorkshire's "Small Hotel of the Year 2016". In 2014 The Pheasant was awarded the Yorkshire Life "Small but Special Accommodation" Award. The Hotel has recently been awarded Three AA Red Stars Inspectors' Choice Country House Hotel. Seasonal and special breaks are available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing