We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant lunch”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A most pleasant lunch and a reservation wasn't necessary.

A Very reasonably priced fine dining experience.

The restaurant is well set out and the tables are not crammed together so the dining experience is private.

The staff are very helpful and knowledgable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodopsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

My son had his wedding on 22 December at this hotel. We arrived on Friday 21 to be greeted in reception. We were quickly checked in and taken to our room. The room was very nice and spacious. After lunch my husband, sons, daughter in law and granddaughter decided to go for a swim in the very nice pool that is in the hotel. My son and his family had a room in the courtyard which was very nice. 2 bedrooms and a sitting room and kitchenette. After chatting with the staff about the wedding I was totally impressed how the hotel wanted to accommodate every wish for my son and his bride. On the day of the wedding the staff arranged an early breakfast for us so we could get to the hairdressers. The breakfast was extensive and very well presented and cooked. I requested an iron on return from the hairdressers and was instantly produced to the room. After the ceremony we returned to the hotel where we had excellent canapés and drinks. The meal itself was excellent starting with amouch bouche and then a choice of starters, main course of beef and choice of dessert. Followed by coffee and petit fours. I cannot fault the hotel in any way. The evening Buffett consisted of bacon sandwiches with chips and cheese and biscuits as my son choose a cake of cheeses which the hotel dressed excellently. The whole weekend was so good including breakfast next morning. I have only one complaint although small is that the shower in the room we had was not very powerful but I believe they are refurbishing the bathrooms as my daughter in laws mother had an updated bathroom with a powerful shower. They certainly go all out to make your stay enjoyable and even included a small bottle of slo gin in the room and plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. THe hotel is very cosy with big open fires in all the downstairs room. Well done will definitely recommend to all of our friends and for anyone who is considering a wedding there definitely book it they made the day so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refurbished bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Met friends here for lunch and a natter. The building is lovely the decor is extremely comfortable and tasteful - very country house with plaid furnishings with log fires and the menu is tempting. However the staff need to be advised that guests like to be served. After being told our friends were already waiting and after 1/4 hour wait for service we hunted down a waiter to order our drinks and then again after a wait had to ask for menus. The food was excellent but we were never asked if we required anything additional and again had to ask for more drinks. At the end of the meal no -one asked if we would like more coffee. At reception the bill was presented with no smile or pleasantries. Would I return? Sadly no. The following day we had a light lunch at the Black Swan Helmsley - the staff at the Pheasant should go there to pick up tips on how to look after guests. A welcoming smile costs nothing - but sadly it must do the The Pheasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at The Pheasant for one night to celebrate a birthday; from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were excellent (especially the evening waiting staff), dinner was fabulous (the cheese board was lovely), breakfast was great (quality and varied ingredients). Only 3 people staying when we were there (including us) but it it still had a fantastic cosy feel and the lounges were excellent with the fire roaring. Wi-fi signal was weak in the room but still connected for email. The bed was huge, we also used the pool which was very clean - shame you've got to walk across the car park to it (in the snow!) and shame the breakfast room looks onto the car park rather than the village pond - but - a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A smll hotel with excellent food, warm atmosphere, and friendly staff. The log running fires create a lovely atmosphere at this time of year, and the food is excellent. The rooms are good, though the coffee is too weak! Very helpful and friendly staff. Don't miss out on this little gem.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night recently and I'm still not sure what star rating to give.

The Good;
Food. Breakfast was very nice. Quality ingredients used and although the amount was a little on the short side, it was delicious.
The furnishings and ambience in the public areas. Very warm and welcoming.
The pool. Spotlessly clean and warm.

The Ugly
In the room we had there were a number of things that really let the place down. A rather old and tired avocado bath suite, very 70's, with grouting missing from the tiling. There were also long-established cobwebs in the room but especially the bathroom as well as marks on the wall that hadn't seen a cleaning cloth for some time.

The Bad.
The quality of service was very poor. On arrival we were "greeted" by the kind of employee that obviously doesn't want to be in the service industry. Not so much as a smile, let alone a cheery greeting or attempt to be welcoming. The impression that we had interrupted her private phone call was to be a recurring one.
After being shown to our room, we visited the bar and ordered two drinks from the same member of staff who was presumably multi-tasking. She managed to fail at this task too, as pouring a pint of beer was too much and she called for assistance. (Why have a member of staff in a bar who cannot carry out such a basic task?) The second member of staff was little better, managing to only get around 3/4 of a pint in a pint glass and no offer of filling to the line. Having said that, it was a better job than he managed with my wife's coffee. This was ordered, and paid for and we waited. Then waited a bit more, Then read the paper. Then waited a bit more. Then decided that maybe a memory jolt was required. Twenty five minutes later we reminded him again and were greeted by a "hurumph" response followed a minute later by a coffee being dumped on the table. An apology for the delay? Not a chance. Given the time we had waited, we thought it best not to mention the huge chip in the cup, it might have been Christmas by the time we got another one.

We mentioned that we could not access the wi-fi in the room, indeed neither could our ipads, iPhones or other appliances actually get a wi-fi signal at all. All we got is "it should be". That was it. No explanation, no attempt to solve the problem. Some time later a member of staff told us that the rooms upstairs did have problems with wi-fi and we should try to access it in the public areas. This proved to be the case, albeit with the slowest wi-fi I have ever encountered. Having found the network it still proved impossible to access it in the room or anywhere upstairs. Again, no apology was forthcoming, just a shrug of the shoulders.Not the sort of service that I would expect from Premier Inn, let alone an alleged high quality hotel. Why advertise something, and include it in the charge, if it cannot be used? This was made even more annoying as neither of us could get a signal on our mobile phones. Granted this is not the fault of the hotel, but it does make reliance upon other things even more of an issue.
After dinner at The Star that evening, where the service was exemplary and charming), we returned to The Pheasant and quite fancied a nightcap before retiring. No member of staff could be found at first, but eventually we located one. When that drink was finished I attempted to purchase another but no member of staff could be found anywhere, so we just went to bed.

For a couple of hours after our arrival, an interesting selection of used bed linen and coffee cups sat proudly on the window sill opposite our room.

The bed had a large headboard fitted to the wall which was overhanging the bed itself, thus reducing the operational use of the bed. I'm not incredibly tall, a average six foot, but the mattress stopped at my ankles, leaving my feet dangling over the end. There were also no spare pillows in the room either.

In the bathroom, the washbasin had the taps on the wrong way around. Cold taps should always be on the right in order that persons of reduced sight, or those who cannot read English, know which are the cold and hot taps. This is very basic health and safety and known by even those with rudimentary plumbing skills.

In short, this could be a lovely and charming hotel if the incredibly poor and surly service, the cleaning regime and the dated bathrooms were addressed. If this was a cheap hotel, these things would be a minor annoyance. In a hotel with the pretences and prices of this one, these are serious shortcomings.

Room Tip: Downstairs, if you want wi-fi,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CraftyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here only one night, and it was difficult to leave...
The rooms were cozy and very pretty, with a modernized "shooting party" decor theme throughout.
The bar was extremely welcoming with comfy armchairs and sofas.
And the food !
Dinner was really excellent and the menu was varied and not overbearing. It managed to be formal without being pretentious.
The wine list was excellent too : varied and interesting, with more than a large selection at fairly reasonable prices.
My only regret is that I had to leave early and miss their excellent breakfast...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlmostHome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,644 reviews
2.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
23.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,910 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Main Street, Harome YO62 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harome
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pheasant has arguably one of the most beautiful Country Hotel settings in North Yorkshire, over looking the duck pond in the picturesque village of Harome. Originally converted from what had been the blacksmith's shop, village shop and barns, the main part of the hotel offers one single and eleven double rooms, whilst in the sheltered courtyard are two suites, the Pheasant Suite and Plum Cottage, each with its own private entrance, two further family rooms which each have two bedrooms and the heated indoor swimming pool. The stylish and highly individual interiors - designed by Director Jacquie Pern - give the accommodation a homely and welcome feel, which continues throughout the public areas: the lounge, bar, conservatory, dining room and terrace, providing a variety of options of where to eat or enjoy a drink. The Pheasant has established a reputation for great food under the capable hands of Chef/Director Peter Neville. Residents and non-residents can choose from a wide range of menus, all taking advantage of the wealth of local, seasonal produce, including a fixed price daily Market Menu, the A la Carte, and a Tasting Menu with optional matched wine package. The Pheasant has been awarded Welcome to Yorkshire's "Small Hotel of the Year 2016". In 2014 The Pheasant was awarded the Yorkshire Life "Small but Special Accommodation" Award. The Hotel has recently been awarded Three AA Red Stars Inspectors' Choice Country House Hotel. Seasonal and special breaks are available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing