We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of two perfect places to stay in Filey!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of the House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the House
The back of Meadowside House with patio area and BBQ, backing onto grassed area and boules court.
Stunning views - Direct access to the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Front of the House
The back of Meadowside House with patio area and BBQ, backing onto grassed area and boules court.
Stunning views - Direct access to the beach
The cosy living area, with plenty of seating
The cosy living area, with plenty of seating
The dining area - seats 10
The dining area - quality crockery, cutlery and glassware provided.
The dining area - quality crockery, cutlery and glassware provided.
Meadowside House by night - all cosy with the candles lit.
The kitchen area with easy access/ patio doors to the outside patio area with BBQ.
The master bedroom with king sized bed and ensuite bathroom off (with rainfall shower)
The ensuite bathroom off the master bedroom (with rainfall shower)
Main bathroom with bath and rainfall shower over bath.
Bedroom 2 with double bed
Bedroom 3 with bunk beds and single bed, Bedroom includes smart TV with netflix subscription.
Bedroom 4 with double bed (downstairs bedroom)
On-site swimming pool with sauna and steam room.
On-site Gym
Views towards Filey from beach
What to do today?
Dogs love it on the beach
Outside the on-site pub/restaurant and café area
Sea View - Direct access to the beach
Jetty onto the Lake - In Wildflower Meadow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NSF1
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of two perfect places to stay in Filey!”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at and reviewed the owners other property at The Bay, we knew exactly what to expect from Meadowside House.

Just as Meadowside Cottage was perfectly presented with all the essentials and little treats, Meadowside House is no different, just a bigger version allowing more people to enjoy! The same touches are there, After Eight mints, dog toys for the beach etc, but the house itself is even more spectacular. There is an en-suite in the master bedroom plus a main bathroom and another WC downstairs.

It's been very well thought out and at no point did our party of 7 feel anything other than like we were on holiday! Never cramped, never struggling for a bathroom and the seating means we could all snuggle up on the big sofa's with lit candles (provided!) and watch the TV/Amazon/DVD's when the weather was not so good.

In my review of Meadowside Cottage I said we'd never stay anywhere else in Filey, but I have to correct that now based on how many of us were coming! What I can say instead is that no matter how many, we'll never stay anywhere other than one of these two wonderful, immaculately presented properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches and the en-suite bathroom
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you so much for your great review. We're so pleased you enjoyed staying at Meadowside House just as much as Meadowside Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jivequeen...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meadowside House The Bay higly recommended dream retreat.”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I can highly recommend Meadowside House. Stayed with family 13th November to the 16th November. The House feels very welcoming has you come through the door. A welcome packs awaits from the owners to keep you going incase of forgetting anything before you explore where to shop!. The four bedroom house is very clean and spacious whether going with family/friends the four bedroom house is very accommodating.

There are plenty of games/dvds if having a night in after an exhausting day exploring local places! Where ever you want to visit you will find all the informaation you need in the information pack . The beach is about 10 minutes away if you have children with you there are ample buckets and spades to take to the beach for children! if you take your pet you will find even the pets catered for throwing balls on the dog friendly beach! (The owner has thought of everything!). The House is also at the side of the lake whether you want to walk your pet or take the children to see the Ducks and Swans.

There is the John Paul Pub which is dog friendly and caters lovely food. The Italian Cafe is also dog friendly and I have enjoyed their full English breakfast every morning. If you fancy a night in I can also recommend the Monsoon Indian Restaurant excellent food and deliver to the door.

The weekend we went was mine and my husbands 35th Wedding Anniversary and could not have wished to stayed anywhere but Meadowside House we had such a fantastic weekend.

Sunday evening we were sad to pack! but SMILED.... because we will be definatley going back.

Highly Recommended. A Big thankyou to the Owners you have a fantastic House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House offers everthing.
Liked least: There is nothing not to like about Meadowside House.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is nice having the house close to the wildflower meadow and lake and it is particularly convenient for a quick dog walk. It's good to hear you appreciated the welcome pack and extras. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyandcy...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A truly beautiful home from home. Everything was new and spotlessly clean. As a mixed age group;grandparents, son and daughter and 2 grandchildren it worked wonderfully. The welcome box and the emergency supplies were much appreciated.
We took the car to the pub parking to make the beach an easier access for the oldies.
Loved the swimming pool but take balls and water toys with you for the children to play with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall set up, quality of furnishing and cleanliness.
Liked least: Distance from beach and lack of internet access but this is in the pipeline.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you for your great review. We're very glad to hear the house worked well for all 3 generations, particularly since one of the reasons we bought the property is that we felt it would be ideal as a holiday home for families including different generations to get away together to (including our own).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing