We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Bliss”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Nest

Cosy bed with  topper and freshly pressed linen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy bed with  topper and freshly pressed linen
Lounge Fully equipped kitchen inc dishwasher oven and microwave sufficient for 4-6 place settings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Cosy bed with  topper and freshly pressed linen
Lounge
Fully equipped kitchen inc dishwasher oven and microwave sufficient for 4-6 place settings
Miles of unspoilt beach
The outside ground floor
Fully equipped kitchen
The bay
Filey seafront
The Italian Restraunt
Quirky statues on Bridlington roundabout
Miles of unspoilt beach Perfect to blow the cobwebs away!
Peaceful lake for a spot of fishing
Glorious dog friendly flat sandy beach
Cook at your leisure of eat in the cafe or pub within a stones throw .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colleen R
2 reviews
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at this beautiful cottage in August this year.It was beautifully presented throughout and was spotlessly clean.The owner has obviously thought of everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible.We would definitely be booking again.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Really lovely to have such a glowing review , look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Thank you
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhian J
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab little home from home”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here in April for a mid week break. Fab location close to the beach which is ideal for walking our dog. Very quiet, lovely homely place to stay. The owner Christine was very helpful and was most welcoming. Will definitely look to stay again for another break.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review , it's so good to have guests who appreciate the nest and enjoy my comfy little place.!
I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valwood69
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The nest is just lovely”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a great place to stay.Every thing you needed beautiful and clean.All mod coms you couldnt ask for more.Just a short walk down to the beach.Christine the owner is the most obliging person.would highly recommend it.Thankyou.Valerie michael

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Valerie Thrilled you loved the nest as much as I do ! ! Come again soon
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home!”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked The Nest just a couple of days before our stay. Christine was in touch giving excellent directions and we found the apartment easily. The Nest is spacious and homely, well equipped with beautiful white towels. We very much enjoyed our stay, which is more like being in someone's home than an austere minimalistic rental. This was our first stay at The Bay but we'll be back to it and The Nest.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Such a lovely review , thank you !
I hope to welcome you back again soon!
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Standards - Hasn't been cleaned properly for weeks”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here over the recent Bank Holiday weekend and on initial impressions the Nest seemed relatively clean and tidy. However, after unpacking and then sitting down to lunch we noticed that the kitchen and living room floor was covered in black dog hairs, there wasn't an inch of the floor that didn't have a covering of them! The floor had definitely NOT be hovered or mopped in between the last guests staying and us arriving. On closer inspection it turned out the floor wasn't the only thing that was dirty, there was clumps of fluff, hair and dust behind all of the doors, there was splatters of food/drink down some of the units in the kitchen, the glass shelf in the kitchen was thick with dust, and the bathroom had definitely not seen a cloth for a while!!! Left feeling a little deflated we decided to ring the owner who initially defended her cleaner but said she would get them back that afternoon. We made ourselves scarce so that they could do what they needed to do and returned at 6.30pm expecting a nice clean fresh apartment.....wrong, the cleaners had still not been back. We rung the owner back again who made excuses for why the cleaners had still not returned and said that they would be 'there soon'. We felt that it was unfair of the owner to expect us to sit and wait until they arrived even though it would impact on our evening, when we had already given them sufficient time to come and clean it how they should've done in the first place! We ended up telling the owner that we would do it ourselves, which is what we did, we spent the next hour of our weekend away, cleaning the apartment......poor service

To top this off, the owner didn't even offer us an apology until it was pointed out that she had yet to do so.....

Date of stay: August 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
I am saddened by this review , especially as my reviews before and over a prolonged period are all positive and praise the clean and cosy apartment, with lots of clients returning throughout the year
I apologised immediately ,my cleaner returned and was sent away .
All seemed resolved after the refund was accepted , shame you felt it nessisary to sully my hitherto unblemished reputation perhaps that's why you didn't answer my follow up normal courtersy call.
Christine Boothroyd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula A
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, could do with some TLC”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Nest is a beautiful apartment in an ideal location. It was just what we needed for our 1-night stay. The owner is helpful and attentive. The Bay has almost everything you need for a long or short break - restaurant, pub, swimming pool, pharmacy (no shop is a shame but can't be helped) and just a short walk (15 mins) down a quiet footpath to the beach. The Nest is beautifully decorated with a lot of care and attention taken, however, it is now in need of a deep clean and some TLC in parts. The shower, for example, is leaking and mouldy in some areas, the duvet cover split in places, pillows stained, some of the glassware, cutlery etc dirty due to the shelves/drawers needing a thorough clean. The Nest is wonderful, let down, potentially, by the cleaning staff who turn the place around on behalf of the owner, which is a real shame.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of property
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
TLC to the rescue ! It's been a busy summer and although we have a rolling programe of maintinence , we thank you for pointing out these things to me I will act on your comments .
Glad you enjoyed your break !
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing