We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short escape away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of seaside cottage

seaside cottage is the one with the green door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
seaside cottage is the one with the green door
King size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
seaside cottage is the one with the green door
King size bed
on site pub
Italian restaurant & cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazel-Ric...
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short escape away”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was perfect for us and everything was lovely and clean, ready for our arrival. We stayed during the visit of ‘The Beast from the East’ but were perfectly cosy, day and night.
Lorraine gave us all the information that we could have wanted with lots of information in the accommodation too; we had a lovely Chinese delivered whilst we were staying.
We’ll definitely be back. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Thanks for the review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimothyw2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed for a long weekend over the Easter break. The house was spotlessly clean on arrival. Well equipped and lovely and warm. This is our second visit to The Bay, the first in this property and we would definitely stay again. The position of the property was perfect, just across the road from the leisure centre and the pub. Ideal in the cold weather. It’s also a short(ish) walk to the beach. All in all a great stay! Thank you to Lorraine, you have a lovely property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I would also like to thank you for leaving the cottage as you found it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great short break”
Reviewed March 2, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Bay was in a great location for visiting various locations. The accommodation was great and close to good facilities including pool, pub and beach. Good value and would definately visit again. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Thank you for your comments, we would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2018
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and thank you for leaving it clean and tidy on your departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joel W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really really lovely holiday, perfect cottage, great location.”
Reviewed December 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We wanted a relaxing holiday and that's what we got, The cottage was spot on, warm, clean, simple and had everything we needed for our holiday. The beds and sofa's are nice and comfy. dishwasher and washing machine are a bonus if you need them.
Lorraine and Ian were very accomodating and helpful.- you have a lovely holiday home.

THE COMPLEX>>>>I wasn't sure what to expect from the complex but it was lovely. Obviously as it was the first week of December it was very quiet on site but I got the impression it would never be a rowdy place, very homely. Lacks a shop for basics but Tesco is less than a 10 min drive and there's a petrol station nearby.
The pool is basic but just enough to keep the kids occupied for an hour or 2, and the range of activities offered is great and fairly priced, our eldest and my husband enjoyed the archery despite it being bitterly cold £10 pp for an hour.

WHAT TO DO >>>>>We took our wellies and made the most of welly walks on the beach. you can walk to Filey lifeboat station in an hour (with a 4 yr old) we got hot choc and watched a seal playing in the incoming tide then got the bus back.
also within easy reach are nice short walks ideal for young kids or cold days ...
filey brigg , Dalby forest (£4 parking all day) we did the gruffalo walk near the visitor centre, Danes Dyke, Bridlington bird of prey and animal park was well worth the money - talks or displays every half hour and they have a hands on approach to the animals which our little one especially enjoyed -feeding wallabies, pigs, emus, sheep, held lizards ,snakes ,owls etc.

our 11 yr old phoned gran on the 2nd day and said 'oh, we're definatley booking again for next year!'

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I think the house definitely gets a 5”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was excellent, clean, well furnished and conveniently located for the pool, pub and Italian... with 2 children under 5 it provided a perfect 'home from home'.

The Bay village is very quiet, almost has a 'Stepford' feel about it, as it's so clean, tidy, well kept and did I mention quiet. I think it could benefit from having an on-site general store and maybe a few more things to do with the little ones, but that shouldn't detract from the property itself.

The beach is great, you'd assume it was private and it is very clean... worth noting it's a 15 minute walk with children and the last 150m down is increasingly steep, buggies are difficult, we used a baby carrier that made it a lot easier.

Filey centre is a 10 minute drive away, but well worth a visit... nice 'mini seafront' and the shops are like steeping back in time.

There are plenty of things to do nearby, just not on site... so be prepared to travel for 10/20 minutes but places like Playdale Farm Park are worth it with the children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing