We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best rental property I have ever stayed in”
other travelers have booked this property
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access) Living/dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access)
Living/dining Area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Entrance hall
Cottage from the front (it's the one with the red door)
Meadowside cottage taken from the meadow.
On-site swimming pool
On-site gym
More beach view en route to the Beach (via direct access)
Jetty onto Fishing Lake (in wildflower meadow). A great place for a glass of wine
View from Beach to Filey (which is an approx 40 min walk away via beach)
Hmm which way today
Dogs love it on the beach
A dip in the sea
Outside the pub area
Tennis Court
Play area outside the pub
Beach view towards Bempton Cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
expatjane
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best rental property I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

As soon as you walk into the cottage it feels like a home from home. The welcome basket is a thoughtful and lovely touch and the kitchen cupboards are stocked with everything you could possibly want.
Our grandchildren loved the selection of DVDs and games and the beach toys were an instant hit,
I would recommend this property 100%, Suzie provided all the necessary information and even sent me a text to make sure we had arrived safely. We hope to be able to return next year if not sooner

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and comfort
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
It's so nice to hear your lovely comments. I'm glad you found the things supplied useful and it's great to hear you will be returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tassibell
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful cottage would recommend in a heartbeat”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was just great, really spacious for all of us along with our dog. Welcome pack on arrival for us and the dog was really a lovely touch and a cupboard with essentials was a great we haven't come across before. The cottage was warm and cosy, which due to the cold weather was good. The Bay holiday park is much bigger than I thought it would be, shame the Cafe wasn't open. Swimming pool was good for kids although water was cold, we were told it was a part waiting to be fixed. Great location to walk to the beach and to access Brid, Scarborough but we recommend a visit to Flamborough Head to explore the caves.
I will definitely book again, we had already booked to stay at Primrose Valley in Easter and gutted I didn't know how relaxing the Bay was otherwise I would have chosen it over a caravan holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage
Liked least: cold swimming pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. I'm very to hear that the swimming pool was cold but I'm glad to hear it was being address. I'm glad you found the cottage warm and cosy though. It's a shame the cafe was closed whilst you were there. It was being refurbished and has now been re-opened as Lorenzos Italian. It's more of a restaurant now but still does breakfasts and sandwiches, paninis and cakes at lunchtime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilo2008
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely break despite the weather! ”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We've just returned from a short break and we were really impressed with Meadowside Cottage. Everything we needed was there and it was warm and cosy despite sub zero temperatures outside. It was very child and dog friendly with toys provided for both. We tried out the swimming pool - our children enjoyed the splash session with inflatables, as well as the onsite pub where we had lovely meals. The owners customer service was excellent - thank you again for a lovely break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're very glad you found it warm and cosy and enjoyed it, despite the outside weather and are glad the children enjoyed the splash session at the pool. I hope the children and dog enjoyed the toys.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJF1971
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend highly enough - absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed November 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for a week in October with our dog after being recommended to the Bay village. We struck gold with Meadowside Cottage. It was beautifully decorated and lots of thought had been put into it and no expense spared. The kitchen was fully equipped and the welcome package was a lovely thoughtful touch. It is based one minute from a wildflower meadow and a short stroll from the beach so absolutely perfect for the dog. We had a pamper session at the beauty room on site which we can also recommend and enjoyed a lovely meal in both the pub and Italian restaurant. There is also a swimming pool on site and Leisure Centre. It just had everything. We will be going back to Meadowside Cottage again and again and again and would highly recommend it to anyone including families or couples.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank your very much for your great review. It really good to hear you liked the cottage,The Bay, the extra touches and appreciated the quality of what is provided. It's also good to hear you recommend the pamper session. We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for recommending us to others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Sheffield”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

thank you Suzie for our wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage. everything was ten out of ten. the only thing that could have been better was the weather but we can't do nothing about that! we will be booking again for next year definitely! thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. What a shame the weather wasn't better but I'm glad you liked it anyhow and it's great to hear you will be booking again for next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jivequeen...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too Good to Miss”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Booked a short weekend break with my husband in the Meadowside Cottage. Well what can I say! What a beautiful cottage every thing you need! A welcome pack awaits incase you do forget anything! The cottage is immaculate you only have to turn up with clothes that you need! My husband and I went the weekend of the 9/10 not expecting good weather! little did we know that we would be sitting on the beach sunbathing! watching our dog having fun with other dogs on the dog friendly beach! Thinking I would need to go and buy a beach towel! No the owner Suzie of the cottage thinks of everthing! (Spare beach towels) in the cottage!

You walk in the entrance of the cottage and it really is home from home! if you take children! buckets! Spades! games everything you would want if you take your children! teenagers! won't sulk with out gadgets! Wifi is in the cottage!

We took our pooch! and there is even thoughts for your pooch a basket with knick knacks and toys!

The beach is two minutes and there is a lake whether you fancy going for walks with your family or taking your dog for a holiday break! This cottage is a must!

The John Paul and Italian Cafe are 2 mins! very nice for eating and the Italian Cafe do a lovely breakfast both allow pets!

What a lovely place the Bay Village is everyone speaking to each other very friendly place to visit!

We enjoyed ourselves so much in the cottage! We have already booked again in November! A lovely cottage! I am sure we will be spending more happy times and with the short journey we have it could be our little weekend retreat after a hard week of work!

Fabulous! and Truly not to be missed! Thank you to the owners for making the cottage a special place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything the cottage is absolutley Fab
Liked least: There is nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you felt at home straight away and love the place as much as we do for very much the same reasons. How fortunate that the weather was good! It sounds like we can look forward to welcoming you back lots in the future, which is great.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie E
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Meadowside Cottage for three nights in September 2015 with our two children, age 9 & 12. It was superb! The cottage is sooo comfortable and spotlessly clean. It had everything we could need and more! The extra touches added by Suzie really make the cottage feel very welcoming and super cosy. Outside the patio doors is a lovely green space where we could let the children run around whilst we watched (from inside on the cool day and outside on the warm day) - very relaxing! The pub on site offers good pub grub and Cafe Italia is great - the food and service were very good. We took the kids to the swimming pool for the 'inflatable obstacle course' session and they had loads of fun. Wish we had time for them to do some of the other activities on offer eg: sea scooters! We can't wait to go back to Meadowside Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your great review. It's really nice to hear the extra touches make a difference. The green space out the back is a great place for the kids to play. I'm glad the children liked the splash session and hopefully you'll have a chance to try out more activities next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing