We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable modern house with easy access to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Greenwich Cottage from The Parade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greenwich Cottage from The Parade
Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Greenwich Cottage from The Parade
Sitting Room
Fully fitted kitchen
Dining room to seat 8
Master bedroom with en-suite shower room, and TV/DVD
Second twin room with TV/DVD
Downstairs twin room with TV/DVD
Greenwich Cottage
Heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and steamroom
Filey Bay
Moorland and fishing lake
Lake in the moorland opposite Greenwich Cottage
Filey Bay at dusk
The lighthouse at Flamborough Head
Coble Landing, Filey seafront
Filey Brigg
Parkland and footpath to beach
A family Christmas at Greenwich Cottage
Guest book comments Jun-Aug 2015, family names removed for privacy
Guest book comments Aug-Sept 2015, family names removed for privacy
Guest book comments Oct-Dec 2015, family names removed for privacy
Filey beach on 29th Dec 2015 - yes, honestly!
Looking towards Filey from the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kiwi-in-H...
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable modern house with easy access to kilometers of beach and pool.”
Reviewed December 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The house is modern and cunningly layed out. It is amazing how many rooms fit on a relatively small footprint. Because of this, none of them is generous but all adequate. The house is furnished with everything a visitor could need and everything worked.
The Bay development is currious. All the houses look different and are set out around communal green spaces to give a manufactured village feel, think Truman Show. There was almost nobody else there in mid December but I could imagine it to be very lively in summer. Every house has outdoor living and cooking facilities around the green spaces and I imagine it could be noisy when populated. Near the centre is a pub, pharmacy, restaurant and sports centre with heated indoor pool. The restaurant was closed for the winter and we never caught the pharmacy open. We used the pool and sauna and these were excellent. Next to The Bay is a vast and expanding static caravan park.
It is a 5 to 10 minute walk through the development to the beach, and then a further 30 minutes to Filey along a broad beach.
The only slight negatives are that the WiFi is a bit slow and an 11 o'clock checkout would have been more comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
Many thanks for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I’m sorry about the Wi-fi - it’s BT’s highest-speed fibre package and is usually very good, I can only assume there was some sort of issue with the network at the time of your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely, clean house”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely house, ideal location for the beach, even let the dogs stay which is great, would definitely recommend

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2017
Many thanks. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franl671
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Accommodation was spot on for our joint family holiday to Filey. Situation of the site was brilliant and the kids loved the pool and the access to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your review. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew p
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great holiday”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A few minutes drive from Filey, this cottage is an ideal choice for a getaway. Located within The Bay complex, there is a leisure centre, pub and pharmacy on site a few minutes walk from the house. You get free access to the gym and pool at the leisure centre and table tennis, tennis and spa at a small extra charge. Having a pool nearby is very useful, the pool has a school lessons only slot on Tuesday afternoons in term time. The gym is not great but ok for a short stay. The pub is good, has very welcoming staff and is dog friendly. The food is pretty standard pub fayre, service is quick and most tastes are accouted for. The beach is 15 minutes walk from the cottage and has a steep descent onto the beach. If you have never been to Filey beach you are missing out! It is a huge, safe expanse of golden sand with beautiful views. You can walk to Filey easily, just check the tide times. Don't ask me how long it takes because time no longer exists while walking on that beach. The cottage itself is really lovely. It has a very homely feel, is warm and comfortable. It is very well furnished, the beds are super comfy, with ample storage space in the wardrobes. The owners have spared no expense to make your stay as comfortable as possible, there are TV's in each bedroom (definitely my son's favorite part), a host of games and dvds and a very well equiped kitchen including dishwasher and washer/drier. Everything is easy to use and well maintained. The cottage is dog friendly too, just check with the owner first. The cottage is privately owned and the communication from Nick, the owner, was first class right from the start. I really got the impression that our satisfaction was his priority and he made every effort to make sure we had the best experience possible. I thought the property was very reasonably priced and don't hesitate to recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thanks so much for that review Andy. It is so gratifying to know that we are getting it right. I can only agree with you about the walk along the beach to Filey - I love it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benbo441
Deryshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Fabulous Clean house!”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A girls weekend, great location, spacious clean comfortable and safe house.
Swimming pool on-site, sauna, 10minutes walk to safe sandy beach, where you can walk into Filey!
TV in every room, tissues, hand wash, dishwasher tablets, coffee, tea & sugar!
Already planning our return visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review Catherine - nice to hear you enjoyed the cottage and had a good break
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
200017
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our second stay at Greenwich Cottage and we were not disappointed. Greenwich cottage is clean and has plenty of room, fully equipped for 8. No shortage of cutlery, plates, glasses etc.

A short walk to swimming pool, tennis courts and the pub and then a little further on to the beach. The Bay is a great base and very dog friendly.

Really helpful communications beforehand too.





Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Many thanks Dionne. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2017
Many thanks for your review Helen and for staying at Greenwich Cottage. You will be very welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing