We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely faultless!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Horseshoe Cottage

Horseshoe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horseshoe Cottage
Exterior of Horseshoe Cottage Lawned garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Horseshoe Cottage
Exterior of Horseshoe Cottage
Lawned garden area.
Kitchen
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Original features
Cosy Lounge
Dining area
Sauna (Finnish style) Robes and slippers provided. Relax let your worries and tensions melt away.
Cool down and take a refreshing shower after a relaxing sauna.
Walk in shower
Bathroom
Traverine tiling to all main areas including hallway
Spacious Bedroom
King size bed
Views from the beach of Filey Brigg and cliffs.
Filey beach fishing boats returning with the days catch.
Fishing boats on Cobble Landing.
Peasholme Park Scarborough for a relaxing stroll or boat ride.
Bempton White Cliffs -seabirds nesting site
Bempton Cliff RSPB reserve - a bird watchers paradise.
Flamborough Head with spectacular white chalk cliffs
Flamborough Lighthouse- stunning views from the top
Bridlington Burton Agnes Hall and Gardens ( approx 16miles)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizlaa
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultless!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I visited this cottage for two nights in the week between Christmas and New Year. It was a surprise for him and as such I spent a long time searching for the perfect place.
Horseshoe cottage is an absolute gem! The whole cottage is finished to such a high standard. The facilities are modern and everything is sparkling and clean.
The bed is very comfortable, the sauna is a wonderful addition and the large shower made us very envious!
The dressing gowns, slippers and welcome package of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were all a wonderful touch.
To sum up we absolutely loved our getaway and will definitely be returning!
Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The sauna!
Liked least: nothing- it was all wonderful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage for a couple!”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stopped here for Friday and Saturday night and on arrival we were very happy that we chose this cottage. It is perfect size for a couple and we would of been more than satisfied if we had chosen to stop for a week. The location is ideal, only a few minute drive away from the sea but in a very quiet and remote area. The cottage was nice, clean and very cosy and the décor was nice, although its a little on the small side we never felt cramped or there wasn't enough space. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely to use. The sauna was a lovely touch and we enjoyed using it when we were there, the owners even provided dressing gowns which was a nice touch (I stopped in mine virtually the whole time I was there) I also thought it was a nice that they provided some DVDs and books. The only downside was there is no internet, but we didn't think it hindered our stay too much. I would recommend this cottage to anyone and would be happy to stop here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sauna, the location, poppy the black lab and the cats!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexx F
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Such a lovely cottage, so quiet and peaceful yet in a brilliant location for Filey and Whitby. Made even better by the animals, horses, sheep plus two moggies who I made friends with! Clean, modern, cosy, we had an amazing time. Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma6292
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The accommodation provided was amazing. So clean and warming. The sauna was a really nice addition but would've been enjoyable without it.
Situated in an ideal location so not too far from all the tourist spots. Would go back again and again. Highly recommend staying at horseshoe cottage

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriMorr...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage with everything you could need...”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself, husband and little dog stayed at Horseshoe Cottage for a long weekend.
Everything we needed was there , the cottage is so comfortable, clean and homely.
So close to Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington and of course the Cleveland Way.
We shall hopefully be back for a longer stay. Cant fault the cottage at all.
Wifi would have been a bonus.. but didn't really matter.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is really well done out to a high spec. Has a luxurious feel and the sauna is a lovely relaxing addition. Comfy beds, on a nice quiet farm. The soft robes and spa slippers were a lovely touch. Lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a1_mandy
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent 2 night stay.”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

e went to celebrate our 12th year wedding anniversary, we uaually go abroad but this time decided to stay in the UK and quite happy we did. We had the beach close by (5 min drive) even though it was cold the sun was out and we dressed up warm, so taking a romatic walk on the sand was lovely. The accommodation was a pleasant suprise (looks way better than the pictures). The sauna was an added bonus for those cold days and nights. The local shops and restaurants (including a tesco) were a short drive away also, but we mainly got take aways as the cottage was so warm and cosy we enjoyed staying in rather than eating out. Would definitely recommend. *****.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing