We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage with everything you could need...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Horseshoe Cottage

Horseshoe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horseshoe Cottage
Exterior of Horseshoe Cottage Lawned garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Horseshoe Cottage
Exterior of Horseshoe Cottage
Lawned garden area.
Kitchen
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Original features
Cosy Lounge
Dining area
Sauna (Finnish style) Robes and slippers provided. Relax let your worries and tensions melt away.
Cool down and take a refreshing shower after a relaxing sauna.
Walk in shower
Bathroom
Traverine tiling to all main areas including hallway
Spacious Bedroom
King size bed
Views from the beach of Filey Brigg and cliffs.
Filey beach fishing boats returning with the days catch.
Fishing boats on Cobble Landing.
Peasholme Park Scarborough for a relaxing stroll or boat ride.
Bempton White Cliffs -seabirds nesting site
Bempton Cliff RSPB reserve - a bird watchers paradise.
Flamborough Head with spectacular white chalk cliffs
Flamborough Lighthouse- stunning views from the top
Bridlington Burton Agnes Hall and Gardens ( approx 16miles)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TerriMorr...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage with everything you could need...”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself, husband and little dog stayed at Horseshoe Cottage for a long weekend.
Everything we needed was there , the cottage is so comfortable, clean and homely.
So close to Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington and of course the Cleveland Way.
We shall hopefully be back for a longer stay. Cant fault the cottage at all.
Wifi would have been a bonus.. but didn't really matter.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is really well done out to a high spec. Has a luxurious feel and the sauna is a lovely relaxing addition. Comfy beds, on a nice quiet farm. The soft robes and spa slippers were a lovely touch. Lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a1_mandy
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent 2 night stay.”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

e went to celebrate our 12th year wedding anniversary, we uaually go abroad but this time decided to stay in the UK and quite happy we did. We had the beach close by (5 min drive) even though it was cold the sun was out and we dressed up warm, so taking a romatic walk on the sand was lovely. The accommodation was a pleasant suprise (looks way better than the pictures). The sauna was an added bonus for those cold days and nights. The local shops and restaurants (including a tesco) were a short drive away also, but we mainly got take aways as the cottage was so warm and cosy we enjoyed staying in rather than eating out. Would definitely recommend. *****.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H
1 review
“Farm Yard Retreat!”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely time staying at Horseshoe Cottage! The owners gave us a very warm welcome, the cottage was beautiful and the dogs loved it too. We sure will be returning, cheers!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey-V...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage, for a perfect proposal”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I decided to visit Flamingo Land in Malton and propose to my girlfriend whilst feeding a giraffe. But I didnt want the perfect weekend to end there so booked a cottage, Horseshoe Cottage.
The cottage is beautiful, clean and massive! The sauna is an amazing addition and we enjoyed wrapping ourselves up in the warm and soft robes provided in front of the tele.
Milk, tea and coffee is provided and the cottage is so well equipped, massive shower, amazing kitchen and bedroom has a eves window that lets in the morning sun!
Amazing location for Whitby and Scarbourough.
Met the neighbors dog, Poppy, who greeted us at the car each morning. Perfect!
A definite must and a definite return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the bed, soooo comfy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44fionab2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay, couldn't fault it”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from 2 nights in the Horse shoe cottage and it was excellent. The cottage was modern but with traditional touches. It was superbly fitted out with good quality kitchen, shower room and Sauna (loved the sauna). The living room was cosy with a comfy sofa. The property was warm and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Nice touch with the fluffy dressing gowns and slippers. Would definitely recommend. 10/10 Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Horseshoe Cottage”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights at Horseshoe Cottage from 26th-29th September 2014 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary-so happy that we did!
The driveway to the cottage can be a little difficult to spot-it is located at Newbiggin Farm West off the Scarborough Road. Look out for Magpie Cottage; it is more or less opposite. The cottage is in a tranquil, secluded environment behind 2 farmhouses and about a 30 minute walk from Filey town centre. Taxis are quite easily available and the cottage supplies info about public transport
Upon arrival we were greeted with a fresh bottle of milk, tea, coffee and biscuits-a perfect welcome. The facilities and attention to detail in this cottage are simply wonderful. The kitchen is well stocked with cutlery, crockery and general kitchen equipment. You could easily cook a meal from scratch here, they have thought of everything-dishwasher included! Basic cleaning supplies, clean bedding towels and even slippers and robes are provided. The cottage is spacious yet very cosy with fab central heating and a wood burner style fire in the lounge. The Sauna is a brilliant finishing touch and very easy to use. It was also completely spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The shower is also lovely. We could have quite happily stayed in the cottage for 3 days without venturing outside!
The proprietors were extremely helpful in dealing with any enquiries prior to, during and after booking, replying to emails very promptly. They are also only a phone call away should you need them. The cottage also supplies plenty of information on public transport timetables if you wish to venture out and about-Bridlington and Flamborough are not far and are worth a visit. The views at Flamborogh are particularly stunning
We celebrated our anniversary at San Marco Italian in Filey which we also highly recommend.
We look forward to returning to Horseshoe cottage and will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing