We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment and good location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 26 The Parade

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoffrey0...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment and good location”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The apartment was very clean and well kept.
The Bay is in a god location, the site is clean and well looked after.
The bay has various facilities for anyone wishing to use them eg. swimming,archery,pub food,cafe.It's a good location to visit nearby resorts and amenities.Will certainly stay here again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anne h
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yes, yes, yes. More of the same, please.”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We (myself, my partner & our dog) have just returned from a week at "The Bay", and are back on this site looking to rebook for next year.
26 The Parade was a lovely apartment, it had everything we needed & required for our stay. The dog walking facilities were excellent, just a stones throw from our door, also a fantastic beech for long, long walks.
I'm not really a review writing person, but felt that I had to write something after reading the total negativity of some peoples reviews.
Our holiday was good value for money as well as being a lovely place to stay.
I would recommend it to anyone, & if my numbers came up (lottery) I would purchase on this on this lovely, well tended site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all good
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Leicester. United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at 26 The Parade from 15 August 2014 for almost a week (we came home early due to cold and rain!) Our son and his family stayed a little further along the road in a beautiful 3 bedroomed house. We were disappointed with the apartment as we found it to be very basic internally. There is no Wi-Fi at The Bay un less you sit in the pub! No mobile phone signal in our apartment, so if we had an emergency (my husband is disabled after a stroke) I would have to rely on shouting through the window for help!
Several gripes about the contents: no proper tin opener, no bath mat inside or outside the bath. (Grab bars would be a vast improvement as many disabled guests will want to use a ground floor property)
The bed was not very comfortable, the wooden surround was quite dangerous as it had sharp edges, which you constantly bump into.
On opening the boiler room door, the lampshade in the hall almost smashes as it is too close to the door.
The TV reception was poor, with constant pixilating.
A huge problem is the very thin bedroom curtains with a very bright street light right outside the window, making the bedroom constantly bright all night long.
There are no welcome touches, ie. no little note telling you where things are or how to work them, or maybe a welcome bottle of water or some fruit.
The windows have no blinds or nets, so sitting in the apartment is a little like being in a goldfish bowl, with everyone who passes by staring in.
The kitchen is well fitted, but on opening the freezer compartment, it was completely iced up and not useable, and the door was broken and only staying closed when the fridge door was closed.
As for parking spaces, we actually got an advisory note under our windscreen wiper asking us not to park on the road (we were parked off the main street). There are nowhere near enough parking bays and as my husband has mobility problems we had to park as close to our door as possible. There is a blue badge in our car, but we still got a warning note....I found that a little unnecessary to say the least.
The Italian restaurant was very good, but very small, we didn't try the pub but did look in and again nowhere near big enough for the amount of properties at The Bay.
There is a lovely swimming pool, but when using the disabled changing facilities (which had excellent hoist facilities for more severely disabled guests) there was no seat with the shower, or any seat or chair for getting changed, which my husband found very awkward.
The Pharmacy is a good idea, but no other shopping facilities at all. So you have no choice but to take the car to one of the supermarkets a few miles away, or go to the garage for basics or a paper. The Pharmacy does sell milk and a few essentials, but the facilities are very poor.
All in all I am afraid we were very disappointed. The weather didn't help of course, cold and rainy in August, after all the lovely hot weather we have had this year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to take the dog was a bonus
Liked least: Too basic internally
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
I cannot understand why you had to leave due to the cold as the apartment has central heating. I do not know why you entered the boiler cupboard as the central heating thermastat is on the wall in the bedroom which you are notefied about in your welcoming letter. Oter companies which have properties on the Bay do not provide as many extra's as we do.
When you booked you did not mention there was a disabled member in your party I am surprized he managed to use the shower which is over the bath which I would have warned you about. All of the Bay has problems with reception. Your sons beautiful house along the road will have the same problem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarabell...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable first family holiday”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We returned from The Bay yesterday after an enjoyable 5 night stay at 26 The Parade, we are 2 adults & 1 8 month old baby. The Bay is well located, halfway between Bridlington & Scarborough, and not far from Filey itself.
It is right on the beach but as mentioned before its a very steep walk down to it. Which we did once. The other times we went further afield.
We arrived last Sunday & were able to get into the apartment about 1pm. We rented the accommodation through HolidayLettings.co.uk so didn't have to go through a check in process, the keys & info were posted to us a few days prior to our holiday.
The apartment itself was great, lovely kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer & of course fridge (with freezer compartment) & cooker. Washing up liquid, scourer & cloth were provided which I thought was good. To be honest it looks a lot bigger on the photo's! But it is a decent size.
Having a baby with us we found the washer/dryer very handy especially as the weather was rather unpredictable! We arrived to torrential rain!
The bedroom was perfectly adequate for myself & my partner & a travel cot for our little one. I slept really well on the bed. Loads of drawers. Decent built in wardrobe but only 3 coat hangers so take your own! TV in bedroom too (with Freeview). Only complaint about the bedroom is the curtains. They are cream & rather thin and there is a street light right outside the bedroom so the room is well lit! Even after midnight! The curtains from the living room would be fine in the bedroom as we closed them early evening to get our daughter off to sleep & thought it was about 11pm it was that dark!
Living room was Living/Diner/Kitchen - open plan but fine for a weeks holiday. To be honest the sofa & some of the dining chairs have seen better days! You can feel the sofa springs if you sit in the middle of it, but again its just a base for your hols so not a great issue! Overall could do with a lick of paint. Big bathroom, good size bath & good shower.
There is a cupboard with the boiler in which we stored our suitcases etc in during our stay, watch the light fitting if you use this! How it is still in once piece I don't know! The cupboard hits it as you open it unless you remember & hold it out of the way! Again not an issue at all but just a heads up!
The Bay itself looks like a new housing estate, looks really nice, clean, quiet. We were across the road from further building work but weren't disrupted by noise or anything.
No phone signal at all in our apartment or Wifi. Though we think the pub may have had Wifi. Was actually quite nice to be 'incommunicado' but with the site being new I would have expected phone signal & Wifi.
We ate in the pub, The John Paul Jones, twice & couldn't fault the food or the service. Food was lovely both times, and all the staff friendly & polite.
The pool was basic, small paddling pool for the kids & then a larger for the adults. I didn't use the larger of the pools as I had our little girl with me. Could be better changing facilities for those with kids/babies. In the ladies changing there was one baby changing station (fold down table from the wall) in the main changing room. Would have been handy to have a cubicle with baby changing facility as I had to stand there dripping whilst trying to get my daughter sorted first. This did put me off returning to be honest.
For us overall this was a good place to stay, a good base to get to the attractions, coast etc. We would probably stay again as a couple though not as a family as we feel as our daughter gets older she will probably need more amusement & entertaining which The Bay is lacking. It is immediately next door to Primrose Valley so for the older children I would suspect that would be a better bet.
Overall a lovely first holiday with our little lady! :- )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M
1 review
“Home from home perfect for us and our dogs”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very clean apartment with everything you need except no bread knife only a small veg knife, bed wasn't too bad but a bit lumpy and was a street lamp outside bedroom window so could do with a black out blind so it didn't feel you where sleeping with the light on,There also isn't a clothes airer so hanged our wet washing around the rads, these are only very small niggles and wouldn't stop us returning. Also note there isn't a direct exit to a patio area as you may think by looking at photos but no 16 has a patio. The Bay is very clean and is very pretty how it has been designed and has a lovely security man going around all the time to keep it safe. There is building work still in progress but that wasn't noisy and didn't bother us. Had a lovely roast in the pub John Paul who welcomes your dogs. The beach is easy to get too and is beautiful. The grass fields with ponds is brilliant to walk your dogs mine loved following all the different paths that is mowed amongst the longer grass. Bev was easy to get in touch with if needed. Will defiantly stay again if we decide to return to Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean bad dog friendly
Liked least: Bed mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy847
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Bay studio rental”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent value for money has all mod cons all you would require in a rental property the bay has a holiday village feel to it with a peaceful quite relaxed atmosphere.
Enjoyed our stay for the week we were there.
The only gripe I have is that no instruction books were available for the Microwave Dishwasher and Washer which had me head scratching to work the microwave and dishwasher didn't use the washer managed to work these, but not sure if microwave was 750 850 900 watt.
Also not sure what programme to use on the dishwasher so not used efficiently!!!
The only other thing was the bedroom curtains were not blackout curtains and as there are two outside street lights found it a little difficult to sleep at times.
Otherwise as said before excellent property and would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolgoan...
county durham
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“top class”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Booked a 4 night stay and took our 2 dogs can honestly say we all loved it, the apartment is perfect everything you need is provided my only gripe if I was to be picky is that the sofa and chair could be more comfortable ,the kitchen is well equipped with all you need to cater for yourself and even a dishwasher to clean up for you .the tv in the bedroom was a nice addition when hubby was watching football ,we enjoyed taking our dogs the the pub for a liquid lunch after a lovely walk down to the beach , the meadow is excellent for a stroll with the dogs after tea so well kept and pathways are mown into the grass nice touch all in all a perfect getaway to a truly dog friendly holiday village will definitely book to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the standard of the accommodation
Liked least: sofa and chair
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing