We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECTLY WONDERFUL FILEY RETREAT”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Number 8

Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio
Garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Patio
Garden
Lounge
Master bedroom
Front elevation of Number 8
Lounge
Fitted dining kitchen
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Second bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
glynis74
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECTLY WONDERFUL FILEY RETREAT”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Try the very best of accommodation in Filey. A beautifully furnished chic bungalow, cosily tucked away at the head of a very quiet cul-de-sac. Private secure rear garden with perfect decking, where you can relax after your days exploring the wonderful coastline. A Ten minute walk takes you to Cobble Landing or into town, and easy access to the bus and rail station for going further afield. The owners Roy and Carol are amazing, and will do everything to make your holiday perfect including a meet and greet on arrival. A perfect stay in first class accommodation. We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect for us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenis L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy,clean and welcoming”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were greeted by Roy and Carole who showed us around number 8 and gave us all the information we needed. The bungalow is well kept and looked after. It was a pleasure to come back each evening to a peaceful area. The walk into Filey is pleasant and trips out to Scarborough, Whitby and York were enjoyable. Sewerby Hall near Bridlington is a must if you like stately homes with lovely gardens and a small zoo, and the price is very good at £6.50 each. If you are looking for a homely place to stay in Filey then this is it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly greeting, cleanliness and peacefulness of the area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCB1976
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday home”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had another lovely stay in this fantastic bungalow....has everything you need for a lovely stay in a quiet location yet within walking distance to town and beach....Roy and Carole make you feel very welcome.. Would recommend x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winebuff7...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a three night stay at No 8 and wish we had booked for longer. The bungalow is in an ideal position for Filey and the surrounding area. We were met by Roy and Carole who were very friendly and helpful.We will certainly be returning to No 8 in the not too distant future if we can find a vacant date! The best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in, what more can you say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and condition of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnymope...
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Supoerb”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have visited Filey many times, but our first visit staying at Number 8 and hopefully not our last. The bungalow is excellent, we wanted for nothing (other than good weather)... Facilities are superb, very clean, everything we needed (including great Wi Fi for my sons).! Hope to see you again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn B
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second visit to No 8, Its a fantastic place to stay. Both Roy and Carole are great, they looked after us very well, nothing is too much trouble.

No 8 is a great place to stay, very clean and tidy and has a nice warm feel about it.

You also get a great nights sleep, beds are comfortable and its so quiet.

We will be back!!

G & Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing find”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just got back from a week at no 8 and what can we say? It's absolutely perfect, a total home from home. Carole and Roy were there when we arrived to show us round and show us how everything worked. It is in a lovely quiet location but a short walk away from the beach and the centre of Filey.
The garden is a little sun trap and it was lovely sitting out catching the last of the sun watching the children play.
We didn't want to come home and would love to go back again.
We will definitely be recommending this to our friends. Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing