We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tastiest fish”

First Catch Fish and Chips
Ranked #31 of 91 Restaurants in Filey
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
s yorks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“tastiest fish”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

my husband and I recently spent a weekend in Filey and fancied fish and chips Most fish and chip shops close early evening but the owner of our B & B said that first catch would be open What a treat was in store We both ordered haddock and were told it would be 10 to 15 mins wait which was no problem The fish was piping hot and absolutely delicious It was the whitest fish I had seen in years Would recommend to anyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mummymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    61
    37
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
clacks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely fish & chips!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great value fish & chips, had the haddock & really enjoyed it.

Was very reasonably priced & would def go back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kubo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best fish and chips in Filey”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family of 8 visited this fab fish and chip restaurant twice during our holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The service is exceptional and we were all allowed to sit at the same table, unlike at Inghams who forbade us all from sitting together. Our food and drinks were delivered quickly to our table. The food is great value for money, when we were there in early July you could order 2 fish suppers for £10.
The batter on the fish was nice and crispy and the chips were delicious, our side orders of curry sauce and mushy peas were good also.

Would definitely recommend this place and will be returning again during our next holiday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 455Nimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best I have had in ages”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had popped into Filey for a walk around and to get some dinner. We decided to eat in the Restaurant as we have 3 children aged 7,4 and 2. The food arrived quickly and was hot and was beautiful, even the children eat everything which given their ages they often just pick, so we were very pleased. The fish was very white and fresh-it is the best we have had in a long time.

The gentleman that served us was very helpful and attentive-we would definitely return if we go back to Filey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate in the restaurant area, although they also have a take-away facility. The waitresses were very pleasant and very chatty with our 9 year old. Nothing seem to be too much trouble. When the meal arrived we were very pleased. The cod was really thick and chunky, an excellent fish. The chips are well cooked and the meal is served with mushy peas and a side salad. We really enjoyed the meal that we went again at the end of the week. We visit Filey regularly and have tried fish and chips in other local cafes/restaurants but we feel that this one is the best that we have tasted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14Deb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Catch Fish and Chips also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to First Catch Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing