We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing- great food, and friendly service at an incredible price”

Ranked #19 of 91 Restaurants in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Leeds
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing- great food, and friendly service at an incredible price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited here on Saturday evening to get a takeaway we could eat on Filey Brig at the end of a day at the seaside.

The location isn't the best in Filey- at the back of the town, and a bit far to walk to a view with your dinner- having said that there were a few tables to eat at inside, and a couple outside on the pavement.

We were greeted quickly and asked to order our fish so that it could be cooked freshly- don;t worry about the wait though- we were out in 5 minutes. Whilst we were ordering the staff worked out that we would be better off with a 'special'- we'd not seen the sign in the window; taking less money from us is always a good way to go ;-)

The total cost for us was £10.60 for two lots of Fish, chips, mushy peas, bread and butter and a mug of tea- unbeatable value! Every element was well prepared- the fish was fresh and firm, had the thinnest possible batter and tasted incredible, the chips were fleshy and cooked right, peas had the proper (slightly artificial) green colour and everything was dressed with plenty of S&V.

The staff were friendly and efficient- checking everything was alright before we left, and managing the queue with admirable speed.

We won;t hesitate to go back next time we visit Filey- another addition to our day at the sea ritual (and no doubt our waistlines too!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank abomination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    11
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ordered the small portion which in itself is a decent sized portion the fish was so good nice thick pieces cooked lovely. Will definitely return and perhaps order the larger portion next time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wsfletcher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab fish & chips, forget the rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had checked out other trip advisor reviews, anticipating we would want fish & chips at some point, being on the north yorkshire coast for a 3 night break. We headed for John & Ginny's based on the reviews i'd read. Had possibly some of the best (& certainly freshest!) i've ever tasted. Our party of 5 arrived at 7.05pm on a Saturday night, we asked if we were ok to eat in (it's a chippy, with a few tables rather than a restaurant). We were welcomed in, but told they would be closing at 7.30pm. This didn't put us off. We ordered, the meals were ready in just a few minutes (in takeaway boxes) piping hot & delicious. The portions were good & not over facing or wasteful as so many chippys are, & really good value. Ok, we were back in the car at 7.35pm, but we weren't rushed, the staff were friendly & chatty & they were turning people away apologetically, at closing time. When in Filey, try here for your chippy tea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laemuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Proper Chippy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really good freshly cooked chips. Sadly the fish batter contains dairy so it was sausage and chips for me but Mr Kalina had the fish which he had no complaints about.

Obviously the locals' choice - when I was waiting one man even came in with his own fish he'd caught (I assume for them to cook it for him).

Best of all - you can do your own salt and vinegar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Echoing what others have said, £2.70 for "small" fish and chips of this quality is unbelievably good value. A great local fish and chip shop with a few seats inside for bad weather days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBarra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John and Ginny's Fish and Chips also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to John and Ginny's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing