We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downcliffe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, food & service. Lovely room overlooking the sea; breakfast on the terrace & excellent dining facilities. Welcoming management and friendly service. Great value. Visited for business, but would return for a break. Have recommended to friends & colleagues. Good for relaxing by a lovely beach or as a base for exploring North Yorks coast and moors; well worth a try.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    68
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
93
302
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you to Downcliffe House Hotel for making my suprise stay in Filey so special!

I was given a 40th birthday suprise of a trip back to Filey (now I am a southern softy) and I was absolutely bowled over by this hotel. Set on the beachfront with an impressive outlook over the beach and sea, the Downcliffe House Hotel breaths a lttle luxury into what is still a quaint seaside town that has been preserved within this ever changing day and age.

From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome, check in was easy and no trouble and within minutes we were sat outside having a lovely cold glass of wine and beer watching the world go by. We ordered a lovely goats cheese salad which was very tasty and just what we needed before heading to the beach.

The meal in the evening was impressive, I order the cod with chunky chips and minted mushy peas. The fish was the size of a whale and delicious. Julian ordered the pork which looked amazing and he said tasted even better. We were quiet for a good 10 minutes which is rare!

Our room (eleven) was at the top of the house and looking straight out over the beachfront. The bathroom was impressive, with a free standing bath looking out to the sea. The room was sumptious and very well appointed, catering for all your needs. The quality of the fittings throughout the hotel are second to none with quirky pictures and deep, thick pile carpet.

On our second day, we enjoyed another lovely meal of scallops, lamb and a sharing pudding plate which is probably the largest sharing plate I have ever seen but again delicious.

Darren and Lizzie are so welcoming and happy to chat. They are constantly on the go and you can see this is a passion of theirs to deliver quality at every level.

Thanks guys! It made my stay just perfect and re-kindled my love for Filey. We will be back with my daughter next time! :)

Room Tip: We loved room 11 at the top of the hotel however if you are a family they do have 2 family rooms to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Another fantastic weekend at our favourite hotel in the UK. This must be about our 20th visit and, again, we were not disappointed. Darren and Lizzi are fantastic hosts who cannot do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay. The staff are professional and very friendly. We never get tired of the view from our room - looking out over the beach and the sea. The food in the Waterside Restaurant is mouthwatering. We're already looking forward to our next trip. If you've never been to this hotel - you must give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheDevil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Downcliffe is beautifully situated on the front at Filey. There’s a road separating the building from the beach but as that’s only used as an access routed for the front it rarely gets busy.

We had room 8; we’ve stayed before so knew what to expect. The room has three windows with views of the sea – it really is beautiful. The room was well appointed with a settee in a sitting area – plenty of space to spread out. There’s complimentary tea and coffee as well as sweets, the bed was large and comfy and the bathroom more than adequate – the shower stall is larger than you find in many hotels. The only downside was the fact that the carpet was dirty, to helped by the fact that it had a white pattern which did nothing to offset the marks. This was so bad I didn’t walk bare foot on it.

Our evening meal was excellent. The food is very good; I don’t mean very good for Filey, I mean very good full stop. You’d be paying a lot more for food of this calibre in, say, Leeds or York.

Filey itself is lovely, a bit like Walmington on Sea from the Dads Army TV show and a perfect vision of an English seaside town. On a hot July day when we were there it was beautiful, not having any of the more trashy baggage of nearby places like Scarborough and Bridlington. Even the seagulls seem more civilised than their cousins up the road at Scarborough. We had a walk after our evening meal and the town was almost deserted. Our big mistake was going for a drink in a pub called the Three Tuns. Honestly, everyone in there seemed to suffer from Tourettes syndrome. I’ve never heard the F word used with such frequency, as a verb, noun, passive, aggressive. You name it, it was there. I suspect that if Noel and Liam Gallagher had been in there, they’d have been asking for a little decorum themselves. I wondered why the landlord didn’t step in to stop things, then I realised that he was the main culprit! One to avoid I’d say.

Regardless, don’t let the pub life and the carpets put you off. On a lovely summers day there’s not many places to beat this.

Room Tip: All twelve rooms have a sea view, although some are from the side. We booked the more expensive opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

On a day out to see friends in Scarborough we were told we were booked in for Lunch in Filey because there wasn't a good place for Lunch in Scarborough,so we were whisked through to the Downton and how pleased we were the group of us had a pleasant pre drink in the bar then went through to our table in the dining room where I had a delicious sea salad.and so we will certainly return to this small hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went to Filey for the day to take advantage of the weather.

My wife & i had a pot of tea on the terrace which cost £5-00 & was worth every penny.

The ambiance, the service + the friendly people sitting round us made our day..

The food people were eating looked mouth watering

Quite surprised to find a hotel of this caliber in Filey..

Hope to come back & stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times and the hotel is amazing - it has a very high end finish, each room having a individual design! It is conveniently situated on the beach front making the view from the room I stayed in, superb.
The owners are exceptional hosts who genuinely receive alot of pleasure from making your stay as warm and welcoming as possible. Nothing is too much trouble.
The food is excellent and the portions ample. Would highly recommend this establishment, it is fine dining in Filey!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
386 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
187 reviews
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,847 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downcliffe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downcliffe House Hotel

Property: Downcliffe House Hotel
Address: The Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note Downcliffe House is a Hotel with 24 hour reception, please note we are not a bed and breakfast and amend our listing to a hotel Kind regards Darren Booth ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downcliffe House Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing