We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding reception!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downcliffe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After visiting numerous venues we met Lizzi at Downcliffe House and immediately knew we could trust her in handling such an important occasion. She did not let us down, in fact she surpassed our expectations. Many of our guests raved about the fantastic venue and the warmth and hospitality of Lizzi, her husband Darren and the rest of their team. Those lucky guests that were able to stay for 3 nights all loved this unique boutique style hotel. The food was first class throughout the stay including the meal for our wedding. We were able to create a menu giving our guests choice which is very rare and they were very impressed with the quality. Prior, during and post wedding Lizzi was very thoughtful and ensured everything was perfect for us. We will definitely be returning to this special place, thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 552 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lizzie and Darren as always you more than lived up to my expectations for a wonderful valentines night.(and 3 night stay) The food was to die for especially the desserts. Your staff are courteous, discreet and very professional and a credit to your hotel, nothing is too much trouble. Many thanks for once again taking care of all our little foibles. (thanks lizzy for trying to get me some lobster - may be next time).

Room Tip: room 9 is excellent with a large bed and very large bathroom with stand alone bath and a walk in sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heffalump29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

just had 3 more fantastic days and nights at the downcliffe Lizzi & Darren and the team as friendly and helpful as ever like another reviewer we didn't want to come home but we will deffinately be back

Room Tip: room 9 is a favourite,spacious and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Saturday 16th February decided to drive to Filey as we had not been for years!

Walked along the beach and saw people sat ouside Downcliffe with their dog!
Decided on our return walk to stop for a drink which turned into a light lunch, Potted crab with homemade breads and Cheese board. Just delightful and a must when you go to Filey, beautiful views amazing service so friendly, we decided even though we are only 45 mins away will be coming back for a weekend.
Water for the dog, it's the little things that made it just prefect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speight-McGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a really good lunch, sat in the window overlooking the beach. Very modern sopisticated decor. Excellent fish and chips and a crab sandwich. Has a varied menu and not too long. So obviously freshly cooked.

Want to try a stop over soon. It is in an ideal location on the sea front smack in the middle of Filey.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WentworthFoodiesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent 3 amazing nights at downcliffe, everything from my room to the service to the food was fantastic. This was my first time at downcliffe and I cant wait to go again. Liz and dazzler made us feel more than welcome. Would recommend downcliffe to anyone! X

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights over New Year here and had an absolutely fabulous time!
The rooms are great, fantastic bay window sea view with table and chairs situated to watch the waves roll in and out!
The food is exceptional!
The hosts are so friendly!
All staff courteous, respectful, and helpful!
Brilliant!

Room Tip: Sea view, exceptional - tv, bose music system, huge bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokiMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
24.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,928 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,949 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downcliffe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downcliffe House Hotel

Address: The Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range: $70 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note Downcliffe House is a Hotel with 24 hour reception, please note we are not a bed and breakfast and amend our listing to a hotel Kind regards Darren Booth ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downcliffe House Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing