We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downcliffe House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downcliffe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Bramley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

just had 3 more fantastic days and nights at the downcliffe Lizzi & Darren and the team as friendly and helpful as ever like another reviewer we didn't want to come home but we will deffinately be back

Room Tip: room 9 is a favourite,spacious and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    68
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
89
286
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Saturday 16th February decided to drive to Filey as we had not been for years!

Walked along the beach and saw people sat ouside Downcliffe with their dog!
Decided on our return walk to stop for a drink which turned into a light lunch, Potted crab with homemade breads and Cheese board. Just delightful and a must when you go to Filey, beautiful views amazing service so friendly, we decided even though we are only 45 mins away will be coming back for a weekend.
Water for the dog, it's the little things that made it just prefect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speight-McGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a really good lunch, sat in the window overlooking the beach. Very modern sopisticated decor. Excellent fish and chips and a crab sandwich. Has a varied menu and not too long. So obviously freshly cooked.

Want to try a stop over soon. It is in an ideal location on the sea front smack in the middle of Filey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WentworthFoodiesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent 3 amazing nights at downcliffe, everything from my room to the service to the food was fantastic. This was my first time at downcliffe and I cant wait to go again. Liz and dazzler made us feel more than welcome. Would recommend downcliffe to anyone! X

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights over New Year here and had an absolutely fabulous time!
The rooms are great, fantastic bay window sea view with table and chairs situated to watch the waves roll in and out!
The food is exceptional!
The hosts are so friendly!
All staff courteous, respectful, and helpful!
Brilliant!

Room Tip: Sea view, exceptional - tv, bose music system, huge bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YokiMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are going to Filey there is no other choice. Food is sensational, service is exceptional and the rooms are incredible. Beats expensive hotels hands down. I will not be staying anywhere else in the area in future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlejennyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Downcliffe for 2 nights in November 2012 for my 50th birthday. We had been let down at the last minute by another hotel elesewhere and managed to get booked in here - talk about every cloud having a silver lining! We will never know what the hotel was like that let us down, but all I can say is that we had a superb weekend at the Downcliffe.
The room was well appointed and the food in the bar and restaurant was of a high standard and Lee (the manager) couldn't do enough for us.
The weather for early November was great and we spent our days exploring Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Filey. When the sun came out, it was like summer with places opening up and day trippers arriving to make the most of it.
We have visited the hotel before, but only for lunch on a day trip and had always said we would like to stay, and now we have we will definitely be staying again - maybe in March for my wifes birthday!?
A big thanks to Liz for getting us in and making it a memorable stay.
OK. it isn't the cheapest place in Filey, but so what - it is worth it and you get what you pay for. Save up and treat yourselves!
I have to admit to feeling a bit smug watching day trippers having to move on after their drinks/lunch and knowing we got to stay there.

Room Tip: Sea views are best in our opinion but the all looked well appointed from what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metaxaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,503 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downcliffe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downcliffe House Hotel

Property: Downcliffe House Hotel
Address: The Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note Downcliffe House is a Hotel with 24 hour reception, please note we are not a bed and breakfast and amend our listing to a hotel Kind regards Darren Booth ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downcliffe House Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing