We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downcliffe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Beautifully decorated, lovely room, thick carpet, fat towels, lovely quality bedlinen, Bose radio/CD, well-appointed bathroom [Molton Brown toiletries], sea view, excellent breakfast with really good coffee. Great night's sleep, quiet location right on the sea [I don't think there's a brash and noisy area in Filey anyway but the town is up the hill and behind the seafront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

We got married at Downcliffe House on the 9th of April and we couldn't have picked a better location or hosts. Lizzi and Darren carried out our all instuctions to the letter and the day far exceeded our expectations. It really was the best day of our lives thanks to all the staff working so hard to make the day run smoothly and seamless. The food all weekend was amazing, well presented and hot. The chef put his own interpretation on our chosen wedding menu. The rooms are decorated to a high standard, each one having an individual theme. Everyone was very impressed with their room and the facilities. We were able to make full use of the terrace due to the lovely weather. We can't wait to go back. This hotel is a gem and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: as far as I know most of the rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

There can't be many better small hotels than this in Yorkshire. In fact, there can't be many better in Britain. Right on the sea front in the most beautiful bay on the Yorkshire coast, this is the perfect place for a special treat.
The rooms (I think) all have great sea views across the bay, and have been superbly decorated and furnished. The food is excellent. For breakfast, the choice is huge whether you like the healthy option or full English (or both), and sat eating whilst looking at the sun shining in and the sea looking sparkling was the perfect way to start the day. The standard of cooking doesn't drop with the evening meal either. The choice and quality is excellent, but be warned - they don't do small portions! This is Yorkshire after all, and they serve big!
What makes the dining experience extra special is the service. The staff here are young, very enthusiastic and a pleasure to talk to. A real credit to whoever trains them!
Weve been to lots of hotels, but rarely enjoyed a stay as much as this, although it helps that we love Filey and the weather was great. Can't wait for the next time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfwaySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Last visited this hotel about 3 years ago and it was good then. It is now even betterin all respects especially the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernonBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I booked this short break as a birthday surprise for my very hardworking and lovely partner who generally needs to be ambushed into taking a break from work and overall the experience had the desired effect of enforced relaxation I was looking for given the limited period we could manage to get away. He loved the hotel and the location of Filey was exactly the stress- and lout-free environment we needed. .
The rooms are extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and although the decor is often a little unique, the owners have clearly put in a huge amount of effort and expense to ensure that they are furnished and equipped to a very high standard. Our room looked out to the beach and despite its location above the main entrance to the hotel, it was very quiet during busy times. We had a wonderfully comfortable nights sleep in a bed we would have been delighted to have taken home with us!
We were met on our arrival by a particular member of the hotel staff who continued to impress us throughout our stay with his wonderful manners and obvious focus for hard work and great service for the guests.........a real credit to the team Jordan.
The restaurant and chef are aspiring to impress which I really like, although I think the hotel website is overstating it's abilities somewhat by making reference to the Michelin standard, something which good head chef in the know would know is simply not the done thing..................a restaurant either has a Michelin star or it doesn't and whilst visitors can easily see how hard this team is trying, it really isn't anywhere near that standard of fine dining.
Overall, we had very comfortable and enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to other visitors.
I was already aware of some of the less favorable reviews, when I booked this trip, and was curious as to what the real experience was going to be like.
In short, this hotel is trying really hard to live up to its own vision of excellence and its only real fault is probably a degree of inconsistency of service which it probably isn't aware that it has. During our stay, we observed differing styles of interpersonal skills from the hotel staff..........some were a little dismissive and this could easily be perceived as rudeness. However some really did seem to understand exactly what level was required for different guests and I hope this will be how the hotel continues to operate.
A simple illustration of this type of inconsistency was the differing levels service at breakfast: on the day of our departure I was offered my breakfast tea by being served a tea bag on a side plate which I was clearly expected to construct myself into the required end product. In addition to this, the toast I ordered never materialized.........shame on you blonde girl who couldn't be bothered!........if I'd wanted to squeeze my own tea bag, I could have done this at home.
If the Downcliffe team had displayed a consistent level of politeness and service during our stay to all its visitors, I would have been happy to give it a "perfect" review, but I felt that some of the guests were pretty much ignored, which I thought was a real shame. The owners obviously understand the importance of attention to detail and are desperate for guests to be impressed.
I conclusion, its a great luxury hotel in a lovely seaside resort, which just needs to match the standard of its manners to the quality of its sheets and then it'll be an absolute gem!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dalesgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Friendly but professional, excellant food, beautiful decor will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobydsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have just stayed at the Downcliffe House Hotel with a group of 16 friends celebrating an important birthday. We were met with a very warm welcome and had a wonderful evening. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and so tasty, served by very attentive and polite staff. The rooms were fabulous - we managed to have a peek at most of them, they were all so different! Lizzie and Darren made us feel very welcome and I would highly recommend a stay at this gorgeous little hotel any time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WELLTRAVELLED0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
443 reviews
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,970 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downcliffe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downcliffe House Hotel

Address: The Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range: $70 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note Downcliffe House is a Hotel with 24 hour reception, please note we are not a bed and breakfast and amend our listing to a hotel Kind regards Darren Booth ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downcliffe House Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing