We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #24 of 92 Restaurants in Filey
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Took Mum her for an 86th birthday lunch. Menu had abroad range of choices, my lamb cutlets were excellent. The landlord was friendly and helpful. Let us try the beer before we bought it. The room was spacious and had a lovely woodburning stove. Would definitely recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    105
    46
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bigbum0204
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wonder staff and landlords.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a carvery on the Sunday. Lovely atmosphere. Fantastic food.great welcoming.
We book for a new year meal and was not disappointed. Four people and a baby.we was made so welcome.roaring fires fantastic food fillet steak to die for cooked to perfection. No complaints.great food wonderful service thank you so much.we will return soon keep up the great work .take care Janet and Steve

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great wellcome”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were on holiday and tried due to the trip advisor comments, after a long day walking we called for the Sunday carvery, we were met at the bar by the current landords and it was such a great one hense my title.
We didnt know which beer to try as there was such a selection so we were offered a taste of them all to decide, this I have to say is a rarety in most places.
Then to the carvey the amount of meat given was huge even for my husband, there was plenty of chioce of veg and the potatoes cooked in lots of butter was gorgeous we have since recommended to family and friends who I hope will give it a try I know we will the next time we are in the area, well done guys for making such a great atmosphere and such a wellcome keep it up

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had a Sunday carvery here and was impressed with the value for money. We have never been here before although we have often passed the place. I only had a small plate but there was plenty of meat and all the veg etc I wanted. The quality of the food was good. Would definitely recommend this place and will return to sample the full menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Can't stay away from this place.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The title says it all.Once again had a great meal to their usual high standards.If you haven't been here before give the Oak a try.You won't be Disapointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfredStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing