We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rutland West Guest House
Ranked #12 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We took over all rooms for two nights for my 50th birthday. Debbie and Chris could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Everywhere is spotless and the breakfasts are delicious (especially the locally smoked salmon and eggs on bagels). I would thoroughly recommend. Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It's nice to know we helped in adding to your special occasion. Please say thank you also to your Mum for the card.

Have a great Christmas, Chris and Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at this guest house due to a friends wedding, stopped in the family room which was fabulous very clean the beds were no comfortable none of us wanted to get up in the morning but the smell I breakfast soon got us out of bed and we wasn't disappoint the food was great and so was the service I would recommend this guest house to anyone planning a trip to filey

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and that the wedding went fabulously. Thank you so much for your comments.

Kind regards
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Despite arriving at short notice and without having booked, we received a very warm welcome from Debbie and Chris. We were given a beautifully spacious ensuite room at the top of the house which very tastefully decorated. A lovely touch was the flask of fresh milk for tea and coffee which was brought up to our room. After sleeping very well, an excellent cooked breakfast awaited us the next morning. We couldn't have asked for more. A special mention must be made of one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

If you are visiting Filey, Rutland West is just a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach. Debbie and Chris are wonderful hosts who couldn't be more considerate of their guests' needs.

Room Tip: No tips to pick a 'good' room because they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbd119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you had such a good stay with us. It is a lovely compliment to know our guests to feel so at home. Thank you very much.

All the best
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived in Filey without having booked anywhere and called at the Rutland West on spec!! How lucky were we - what a fantastic B&B - probably the best we have stayed in. Debbie and Chris are delightful, our room was very clean and comfortable. Fresh fruit salad for starter at breakfast and the full English breakfast is a belly buster!!!! If you can cook a good poached egg you can cook and Chris cooks a mean poached egg and gave me his secret to cooking one!! If we ever come back to Filey we will not stay anywhere else!!

Linda & James

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the poached eggs! Hope you've got that knack of cooking them. We look forward to seeing you both again if in Filey.

Best wishes
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this accommodation by another hotelier in Filey as they had no twin rooms available. I would like to thank them for this as the Rutland West is a fantastic place to stay and a treasure I am pleased to have found.There are no bad points at all, room spotless, comfort beyond belief and the breakfast is to die for, we didn't need to eat again until late evening. Debbie and Chris are most welcoming and make your stay complete and they are willing to help whenever they can. I can honestly say I will book again and I am already looking at when I can fit it in. Having looked at the other reviews on here for Rutland West then trust me they are all good and believe me are not exaggerated. Thank you Chris and Debbie your accommodation is a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Wow! What a fabulous review, thank you so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope you'll be back again to enjoy our hospitality.

Kind regards
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our granddaughter, Jodie. What a lovely place, the family bedroom was immaculate and the breakfasts were delicious, especially the home made waffles. Debbie and Chris made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely weekend. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbackhouse136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is wonderful to know that we make our guests feel welcome. Please come and stay again.

Very best wishes
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this B&B in July. The owners Debbie & Chris are very welcoming. The house is really clean with modern fresh decor. The bed was extremely comfortable, nice toiletries in the bathroom and the breakfast was fabulous. Next time we stay in Filey we will definitely try to stay here because it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
It was very kind of you to right such a kind review. We hope to see you here again next year.

All the best
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#8 of 15 in Filey
134 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland West Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland West Guest House

Property: Rutland West Guest House
Address: 2A Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully refurbished Edwardian Bed and Breakfast, which is perfectly situated between the town and beach. Our aim is to make your stay with us as relaxing, comfortable and memorable as possible. Our family run accommodation comprises of four luxury guest rooms, all with en-suite, one of which is on the ground floor. Each room has Freeview TV, DVD player and radio, hairdryer, alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and hospitality tray. WiFi is provided throughout. High chairs and travel cot available on request. Our rooms are double, twin, king, superking and a family room. You can also relax in our cosy TV lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rutland West Guest House Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing