We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, modern accommodation, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, modern accommodation, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time at The Bay in Filey. The location was good as we went to Filey, Whitby, Bridlington and Scarborough. The park was nice and modern, had some good walks around the lake and meadow also has its own beach which was good to walk the dog on. There was always plentiful parking and it was stress free when returning in the evening to park up. The on site facilities were ok, there wasn't a shop so you can't buy a newspaper in the morning or get food. There was a pharmacy with a limited dry food selection, the pub was nice but surprisingly small so if you were to have a meal you would need to book a table. The cafe was good too. The only negatives about the holiday were minor things in the apartment. The sofa was really small, the TV remote didn't work very well, the tin opener didn't work which was very annoying and the shower head was held up with selotape. We were a little disappointed about these things as the apartment was modern and clean and had good facilities such as a microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and oven, but no oven gloves! Overall, the park was really nice, there was some building work going off but we never heard anything just could see builders and houses being built whilst walking. We would stay here again as the location was nice, it was good value for money but we did have to pay a lot to take the dog and then on top of this you have to pay (although money only comes out if there's a problem) a £100 deposit incase anything is damaged.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachGary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    254
    93
    44
    34
See reviews for
425
172
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic place. Great location and the standard of the property is great. I had a few wee pointers - They should ask if you smoke as our wee house smelt strongly of smoke when we arrived but we soon cleared it! There was no slip mat or shelf in the bathroom but these are little things. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssimpson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at The Bay where we have stayed for several years. Have to say our accommodation (solo) was grubby, dog paws on the dining table and living room floor dirty. Despite assurance that this would be cleaned in our absence it was not . Very dirty seal around bath and 2 drawers without 'fixed' handles. Some small things that need fixing could make this place a real treat as the location and on site facilities are good. Sad to see this as it used to be top notch

Room Tip: If you are not a dog owner you might wish to ask for a none pet accommodation. Despite assurances o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

It can be difficult to find decent accomodation for short breaks that will accept dogs, however The Bay, is a great choice for those looking for attractive, well maintained, well furnished rentals. The property was bright, well decorated and warm, well equiped. The facilites on site were excellent, loads to do for kids and adults alike. The location afforded great walks along the beach and around the local countryside. The only thing which was lacking was a small shop to pick up those small daily essentials, fresh milk or freshly baked bread. Would certainly return and would recommend to friends. The on site leisure pool and sauna, steam room, gym were well maintained and for those wishing there were treatments available for an additional charge.
For those who like scenic walks take a trip to Flamborough Head, take the coastal path and enjoy breathtaking sea views over the cliffs.
Visit Filey for old world seaside charm, with nice coffee shops and some interesting curiousity shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houstonhowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic family holiday 3 day break to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday.The Greenwich cottage slept 8 and was beautiful and well equipped.We booked a day of activities for the Saturday lead by Tom and Michael who were just brilliant and made our day so special.We did archery,crossbow,rifle shooting ,fencing,all the water sports on offer and body zorbing,which suited my 5 and 10 yr old as well as 67 yr old nanna!The staff at the John Paul Jones pub were also very accommodating to our party on what was a busy Saturday night.The food and atmosphere was great! We are planning on returning to do the same for my fathers 70th! Well Done The Bay, great service which made us all smile and have a very memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my Husband stayed at The Bay this year in May for a short break, we had an apartment which was called The Solo, Very nicely laid out, the bath was was huge and very deep,all tiled and very clean,the bedroom was more than big enough with nice bedding too. The lounge/kitchen area and dining was one large room, sectioned up,but for just two adults it was just fine. All lovely and clean,a big T.V which always impresses the fellas of the household I feel than us ladies," Ah boys and their toys" comes to mind.Our overall stay was brilliant,lovely beach to wander along too, just a short walk away. Our overall view would be as "Sharon Osbourne" would say! FAB-U-LOUS, hoping to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Always read up on TripAdvisor, I love this site, reading some of the views can always have me laughi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely peaceful location, well maintained site, great property (The Plymouth), lovely food at the pub, friendly staff. Perfect. This was our second visit to The Bay and the property was even better than last time (The Solo). Will be returning very soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boxy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.7 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
4.3 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
2.1 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 4 in Hunmanby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Property: The Bay
Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing