We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Review of The Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've just got back from a 4 night break at The Bay & didn't want to leave!!
Stayed in a Plymouth apartment which was lovely - really nicely furnished with modern fixtures & fittings & very clean. The only slight complaint would be that there was a distinct lack of free cupboard space for food storage & no drainage facilities for drying pots etc.
The site itself is still under construction but the building work didnt interfere with our stay at all.
It took about 10 minutes to walk down to the beach & it was quite steep so could be a bit of a struggle for some people. The beach itself is beautiful.
We used the gym while there (£4 per session), it was small but had enough cardio machines & plenty of free weights. The swimming pool, which is free, was very nice too and the steam room felt like something out of a sci fi film - try it!!! Again one slight niggle was that the changing facilites weren't particularly clean & very basic.
We eat in the pub onsite every day & the food was gorgeous! We also ate in the bistro one day which although there had been a problem with the delivery & they didnt have much that was on the menu left was still very nice.
All the staff we dealt with were really friendly & polite, including the cleaning ladies who helped us find our apartment when we first arrived & the bar staff who brought Harvey (our dog) a free bowl of water when he joined us in the pub!!
The real bonus of this site is that dogs are allowed pretty much everywhere which makes it feel like a proper holiday for them too.
Filey, Bridlington & Scarborough are all within easy driving distance & are very pleasant drives.
As other people have mentioned the site really does need a convenience store, although the pharmacy does stock a limited range of basic household items & there is a petrol station for newspapers about 15 minute walk away. The nearest supermarket is in Filey which about 10 minute drive.
We will definitely be going to The Bay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 858 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed previously in a variety of 'houses' this time we choose a 'helm' property and whilst very functional and with all the mod cons ,being near to the front of the complex it has obviously been one of the first properties to be built and, is showing its age- whilst very clean , the walls had obvious scuff marks and stains on them (coffee /tea spills?) there was no hairdryer in the property despite asking n reception one did not materialise so I suggest you take one with you.other than that the site is quiet,very aesthetically done with lovely touches such as benches to sit and admire the view, garden furniture Etc .The onsite pub and cafe are excellent value for money and the onsite beautician Vanessa deserves a special mention -extremely professional service and excellent value

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We come to "The bay" at least 3 times a year we found it through Hoseasons when they were first building the site so we have had some great deals in the past few years. We love this place for many reasons, they are dog friendly which is important to us, the accommodation is usually exceptional, it is a very peaceful place unless you are near the building works which is stated on the booking info with Hoseasons but we have only had one occasion where we noticed any noise and this was one weekday in all the years we have stayed there and it wasn't too much of a problem as we like to be out walking during the day so was only a little while on the morning before we went out. The main site is now finished so it shouldn't be a problem to most people now.
We usually stay in the solo apartments which are fab but our last visit in September we treated ourselves and stayed in a Bucanneer cottage, we loved it it was fully equipped and tastefully decorated.
"The John Paul Jones" pub on site is lovely and the food is nice although when we first started coming here the food was exceptional, it's not as outstanding now but decent food none the less. We have also eaten in the cafe on site and the Italian food they serve is lovely, the pasta I had was really well cooked and the Pizza my hubby had he said was delicious.
If you are an active person there are plenty of activities to book and a lovely pool to use. We usually just go off on walks as the beach has it's own private access and the beach is one of our favourite places with the dogs. The Bay also has a big wild meadow that is great to walk the dogs around. The walk to Filey down the beach is well worth it to tire the dogs out and grab a pint and pub lunch at the three tuns before heading back.
The lack of a shop on site doesn't bother us as we eat out or usually bring enough with us to see us through. Staff have always been helpful and polite and the accommodation has always been clean and well maintained. Can't wait to stay again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syntheticsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

When booking this accommodation was impressed by reviews, photos and price of the accommodation, we paid £99 for 3 nights and stayed 28th September to 1st October. From the smooth booking process, informative e mails and response to direct emails with questions the service was prompt efficient and second to none.

One of my concerns was a key deposit of £100 which is normally taken by swipe of debit/credit card, I did not have this facility available to me, so left a cash deposit which was placed in the safe and was told would be returned upon satisfactory inspection of the property on departure.

On choosing this sight, we were not choosing it for funfairs, sports, activities or facilities that normal families with children may want/need - its certainly nothing like the Butlins style site of yesteryear in that respect.

However what it is, is a lovely quiet, well maintained site, which is pretty, spotless and well located for Bridlington, Scarborough, Filey and Whitby. Local eateries (Hunmanby) are of a good standard and staff were at all times giving of first class customer service.

After booking online, about 5 days before travel we received a customer service call ensuring we knew what was and was not included in the property. Questions were answered/advised and dealt with and a anticipated arrival time was asked for.

We checked in close to 4pm, it was smooth friendly informative, with a map of site, high tides, entertainment sheet etc provided as well as a notice for our vehicle.

We found our Solo Apartment on plot 140, apartment 16 on the first floor. On opening the door there was a good sized spacious hallway with coat hanging and storage provided, telephone on the wall and a door at the end which housed a boiler. As you turned left there was a further extended hallway with bathroom off to the left, open plan kitchen/dining/living area and to the right our bedroom with thermostat for the free constant heating on the wall.

The bathroom consisted of the usual toilet/basin/full size bath with shower over and shower screen. The water was hot and plentiful at all times, heated towel rail, bin, toilet rolls and cabinet with mirror to store personal toiletries. All in pristine condition.

The bedroom had a tv with remote, lovely curtains, bedside usints with lamps on, sockets to both sides and 2 huge deep chests of drawers. The bed itself was a comfortable double with mattress and four pillows and duvet, the bed was made up on arrival and was comfortable although only of Ikea style standard, the pillows not so comfortable. There was also a closet in the room with hoover ironing board etc in and some hanging space with coathangers for clothes.

The kitchen area was fantastic, when I say fully equipped it really is, fridge, microwave, cooker, washing machine, dishwasher and numerous cupboards filled with pots pans cutlery and all equipment you could possibly need. In fact if anything, over equipped as I have to agree with other reviewers, if you were doing a weekly shop there would be no where to store your food, but nonetheless immaculate and with numerous styles of lighting was a lovely working space. The dining table and chairs were again of Ikea style, basic and ours had a scratch across it where someone had obviously been careless, but small table with 4 seats, ample for the size of property with window view. The TV was a full size 32 ish inch screen with freeview, on our first night this did go off and say no signal, however when I reported it the next morning again the lady I spoke with was friendly helpful informative and gave me the reassurance it was in hand. By the time we returned from our day out this was fully functioning again. There was a small Ikea style coffee table in between the bucket style chair and the two seatr leather sofa. The sofa was not very comfortable and on inspection again had received some heavy handling from previous users as there was a strip of wood underneath it which had obviously been added to strengthen it. The wooden floors were lovely with a large rug covering the floor. The coffee table had 3 games and 2 telephone directories provided also.

All in all the accommodation was superb value, and of a very high standard and would definately recommend to anyone staying in the area.

On check out the same lady called security to check our property and promptly returned our deposit to enable us to get away for our very long journey home.

I have to say as other reviewers have, the site has got a pub which we did not use, nor did we use the activities which worked on a points basis which was £6 a point - 20 points was £95 which would enable all facilities to be used. We did not use any of these. There was a bakery and a italian bistro on site which again we did not use.

The site badly needs a small convenience shop where such things as milk/tea/coffee/papers etc could be purchased, but of course this may be in the offing.

It is not a site I would go with young children as I suspect they would be bored. The pool looked nice what I saw of it through the window but again did not use.

For a very reasonable price, for high quality, clean spacious accommodation, furnished to a higher standard than any of the budget style hotels in the area this is a ideal base to expore the local area.

We ate out at a few local establishments. The Plough for sunday lunch, was £7.95 and was a bland canteen style queueing up experience. Not very good. However we did eat in a pub in Hunmanby called The Cottage, a lovely small public house, with a eating area away from the bar, the food was very reasonable - our meals were less than £6 each, super service, cooked freshly and to a high standard, definately worth a visit.

Well done to The Bay for providing us with a lovely break and may it continue to strive to maintain and improve its already high standards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the bay for four nights, the wife,the dog and myself. Acommodation in a Buccanneer cottage,which we were very impressed with.FurnisHed very cosily in a beach house kind of styling,quality kitchen with all the mod cons ie.dishwasher,cooker,fridge freezer etc. Got off to a bad start though,as i was called to say the boiler wasn't working and the plumber was on his way,so by way of compensating me, we were told we could have a late checkout which is 1pm instead of 10am.Which i thought fair enough, as the house,seemed warm enough already,in fact when the boiler was going it was far to warm! and this at the end of september, these new builds must be really well insulated! Anyway to the site itself,it was brilliant for our pet dog,we were on the doorstep of the wild meadow,which is huge! and a 15 minute walk to the beach,of which the last couple of hundred yards are quite steep, which could be tricky for the elderly etc..Very clean and expansive beach, which i would imagine must be gorgeous in the summer. I agree with others that the site does need a convenience store. As for the building work,i stipulated when booking that i didn't want to be anywhere near, of which they adhered to. The pub was good, although very quite on the few occasions we went in,we ate there one evening,the main was ok but the puddings not so good,mine was luke warm and my wifes canadian waffle was rock hard,so much so she could not cut through it! So on the whole i would say the food was pretty average fare. I would recommed the Bay if you like your breaks on the quieter layed back side, with quality acommodation, not for the late night club kind of person.I would certainly go again, and hopefully have better weather!!

Room Tip: Ask for acommodation away from the building area when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venicevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break at the Bay. The village is still somewhat unfinished and is certainly in need of a convenience store on site. That said the apartments are well furnished with modern facilities and a good base to explore this part of Yorkshire with Filey town centre, Scarborough and Bridlington only a short drive away. Whitby is around 45 minutes away so there is certainly enough to do close by.
One thing I would say about the apartment is that the attention to details is slightly lacking and hence the need for a convenience store. No dish cloths, tea towels, loo rolls, washing up liquid,bin bags, surface cleaner etc provided nor basics like salt and pepper. The grill pan had no mesh so couldn't use it, the stainless steel pans provided were cheap and awful and food just stuck to them even though I used a spray oil.
In the bathroom the fixed mirror for some reason was over the toilet not over the wash basin, so had to shave over the loo.
The on site leisure centre looked very nice but I only used the pool so can't comment on the gym, although anyone wanting to use this beware there is a fee which I think is £8 in the week and £5 at weekends, but if you are into running and feeling energetic the jog into Filey and back is around 11.5km and that is free.
All things considered it is a nice place to stay despite the few niggles and if you are a pet owner many of the properties are also suitable for dog owners too!

Room Tip: Check what is provided in the apartment/cottage. There is a Tesco in Filey Town Centre but if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank South63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the bay for a short break with our two young children. When we first entered the site I was really impressed, it was very clean and modern. We were then given the keys to our cottage. It looked ok from outside, but once we oPened the door I was very diss appointed with the interior! It was so dull and dark , the living room was barely furnished housing a lonely two seated sofa and a tv. Considering this property slept 6 ppl there wernt enough seats. It was like sitting in a student flat! Very cold/dull and unpleasant. I phoned reception just after arrival to see if we could change houses or even uPgrade. I was told they were fully booked, and frankly she really sounded like she could not care a less. We specifically asked when booking for a child friendly space, the living room floor was hard laminate and my two young sons were slipping all over the place, totally unsuited for baby's and toddlers running around. After a lengthy Convo with reception which wasn't goin anywhere I decided to call our travel agent to see whet they could do. Even though the bay insisted there were no available property's to switch to they said they had seven property's free. After the bay reluctantly showed us around the other houses we changed to a lovely three bedroom cottage, this was so much better. Really homely and relaxing. Had a lovely view, no builders in site!!! We. Could finally settle in and enjoyed the holiday! Loved the beach and couldn't fault leisure facilities!! Overall lovely holiday but staff dampened it a little.! They should make it clearer that not all houses have plush luxury interiors.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filey hotels
34.9 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
418 reviews
36.1 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
35.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
135 reviews
32.9 mi away
Valentino's
Valentino's
#13 of 16 in Filey
8 reviews
35.1 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing