We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments, good location and great overall experience”
Review of The Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our apartment was great, could of been a bit cleaner, especially when you are advised to clean after yourself when you check out. Modern furniture and loads of pots/pans and cutlery. Flat screen tv's in lounge and bedroom, we had a 1 bedroom apartment and it was comfortable for us as a couple. Leisure facilities were good, not much on site for kids. Pub is reasonable price for food and drinks. Scarborough and Bridlington not that far. Great location. Some building work still going on, but luckily we was away from that, but not much noise anyway. Would recommend to people especially couples and people with young babies....

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbyshire_Lady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 838 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have just returned from a three night break in a Chatham (39 Sunrise Drive). The property was excellent, in almost every way. The kitchen was well equipped with a plentiful supply of good quality equipment. The house had the added touches of seaside pictures in every room, plenty of lamps throughout and cushions on all three sofas, giving it a homely feel. The only concern I have is the absence of locks on the bedroom windows. My four year old grandson went straight into the twin bedded room, stood on the bed and opened the window wide.

The Bay suited us just fine, we used the pool and although I did find it a little cool, it was okay if you kept moving. The children's pool was lovely, just like a warm bath. The pool is perfectly adequate at the moment, but not sure that it will be once the site is complete, especially on a wet day in the middle of summer. We never saw the cafe open, so cannot really comment on it. I think the chemist only opened on the Monday morning just before we left. The Bay really does need a decent shop as there is nowhere to buy basic items of food or toiletries when the chemist is shut. I think it would be nice if there were more play equipment for young children.

If you are looking for non stop entertainment then don't go to The Bay, it isn't for you. If you like peace and quiet by a beautiful bay, with a few activities available, then I would recommend it. Hopefully we will return sometime soon.

Thank you to the owners of this property, it was a pleasure to be able to stay there.

Room Tip: Chatham is a spacious family sized house with two bathrooms and downstairs cloakroom.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpudDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and 2 kids 5 and 8 over the October half term. House was very clean and had everything we needed, very warm!! Pool was ok for what we needed but concerned that once the development is finished may prove to be a little small. Went for a meal at the pub was great value and excellent standard of food, it was all home made. Only poor point was no information about when things on site were open, this would have been helpful. Overall a lovely place and will book for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqualineclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

On our 3rd visit , in a cutter , just like home from home , come every yr for the last 3 yrs , people that stop in caravans must be mad ! We've 2 kids under 4 so its ideal , lovely and quiet , plenty to visit , pub is superb , just wish we could afford to buy , cutter that we stopped in absolute immaculate , both kids in the 2nd bedroom , plenty of room , all modern appliances , washer drier for the wife ! This place will be awesome when complete , do not delay , book today ! Hollins clan from Barnsley .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollinsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had a great midweek break - stayed in a 'Dartmouth'. The accommodation was clean and very spacious. Location was excellent for touring. Still some building work going on and the site will be excellent once completed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Etchasketch_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed in a Clipper (2 bedroom) property for a long weekend at the start of October with my 3 year old Son and my Mother.

The accommodation was very spacious for a holiday cottage, with a high spec kitchen and plenty of living space downstairs. The cottage was fairly clean, but not spotless. The living room had a cream coloured carpet which was stained and still had quite a few pet hairs on it as the property allowed dogs.

The bedrooms were of ample size but the mattresses on the single beds where of a low quality and I found I could feel the springs in them when in bed. A detail that could be easily changed by the owners.

There was plenty of parking and the site was quiet, which I liked. The pub and the swimming pool seemed nice, although I didn't use either of them. The staff on the reception seemed very friendly and efficient.

As other reviews site, it was quite a walk to the beach, too far for my 3 year old son, but you could drive part of the way, leaving only about a 200 yard walk down a steep slope to reach it.

I would consider staying at this resort again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Been to The Bay 3 times, and due to go back in Oct. We have stayed in various accommodation whilst there and never been disappointed. The accommodation standard is fantastic, with everything you need. The houses are very homely and clean.
We have a 2 year old who loved the pool. The downside is that the attendants allow older children in the baby/toddler pool, which can be abit too much during busy times.
There's other sporting facilities you can do at an additional cost.
There is also a pub onsite, where I'd recommend people to book tables if you were wanting to eat as it's a nightmare and the pub isn't big enough.
A nice walk into Filey, and the beach is a short walk away with its own private access.
We found The Bay to be an excellent base, with Scarborough and Bridlington easy to get to.
I would recommend The Bay to anyone (families or couples) who are wanting lovely, high standard of accommodation with the added bonus of being central to visit other coastal areas. Its a relaxing holiday. Anyone who is wanting lots of entertainment and things to do onsite, I'd recommend them to go next door to Haven Primrose Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyf1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filey hotels
34.9 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
410 reviews
36.1 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
35.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
55 reviews
35.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
135 reviews
32.9 mi away
Valentino's
Valentino's
#13 of 16 in Filey
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing