We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marie W "excellent guest house"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rose Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rose Guest House
Ranked #8 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marie W "excellent guest house"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

i wanted a short break for my husband and me and chose the White Rose guest house and it was really a lucky find.Not only was Paul and Caroline such lovely hosts but they also make sure all your needs are met and more .the rooms are top class and spotlessly clean and the Breakfasts are everything you could want.Little details such as fried bread in different shapes each day and my favourite was smoked salmon and scrambled egg,delicious.i would certainly recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie2w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
152
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Upon arrival, we were served a pot of tea whilst our bags were taken to our room. We were given a map of the town with pointers to restaurants etc.
The room was spotlessly clean and decor excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had sweets and crisps as well as the usual hospitality tray.
Breakfast was very tasty with first class ingredients.
Our hosts were helpful and very friendly. They couldn't do enough for us.
11 out of 10!!!

Room Tip: Number 5 was top notch! Front facing room but no loud traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was looking for a relaxing weekend away from it all and I certainly got what I wanted! The overall décor and cleanliness of the room that I stayed in was outstanding. The bathroom was amazing, with a huge walk in shower and again the décor was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Caroline & Paul, and they have a great knowledge of local things to do & places to go. In regards to the food, there was very good choice on offer, whether you wanted to keep it simple or have the full English (definitely recommended!) or indulge with a huge stack of pancakes!! The guest house has a very welcoming environment, and would be top of my list of places to re-visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We so enjoyed our first stay at the White Rose we just had to return! We were greeted as if we were friends, Caroline and Paul are so warm & welcoming. We stayed in room 2 again, everything looked as new, loved the treats on the tea tray. The shower with its colour changing lights is just heavenly. Breakfast was so good, didn't need to eat again until afternoon tea (had to be done!). Whenever we come to Filey, we will be staying here! Thanks for a wonderful weekend & we'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaby-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just returned from the White Rose run by Caroline and Paul. Well, we have never stayed in Filey before so my hubby Alan did a lot of research to suss this out. We were delighted with the whole simple, classy, calming package. Caroline and Paul are just lovely and make the stay perfect. My birthday was started with a wonderful smoked salmon breakfast decorated with a butterfly shaped toast delicious. The breakfast choice is great and lots of lovely fresh extras. The rooms are serene and classy design. We loved the bathroom with the double shower. Never seen the like since our stay in Rome. Filey is so quaint and the White Rose near to the gardens, pubs and beach. Caroline & Paul thank you for helping to make a 'big' birthday very special and I still have not eaten the chocs! Kind regards Denise & Alan Casbolt xx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend in Filey where we stayed at the White Rose Guest House. We received a warm welcome, had a lovely room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and a delicious breakfast. Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, it is at the top of the house, I think on 3rd floor, lovely and quiet, at back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed three nights at White Rose based on the reviews here. Thank you folks for steering us to this absolute gem. Caroline and Paul have got everything spot on. Their hosting skills are excellent and Paul's breakfasts are the best possible way to start your day. We were given Bedroom 5 as it was a special trip to celebrate Gina's birthday. Wow! Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom.....well, it should be listed as a tourist attraction in its own right!
To top off a perfect stay Caroline and Paul left a birthday card, enormous box of chocolates and birthday balloon in our room for Gina. A fantastic touch by the owners and one which was really appreciated by Gina and myself. Thanks guys. We will be seeing you again.

Room Tip: Bedroom five is so comfortable and the en-suite facilities have to be seen to be believed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Guest House

Property: White Rose Guest House
Address: Southdene, Filey YO14 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rose Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's business or pleasure, your hosts, aim to make your stay in Filey a pleasant and enjoyable one, offering a high standard of accommodation and service to make you feel relaxed and at home. A former convent, this seven en-suite bedroom guest house has been totally refurbished to offer you comfortable rooms to relax in, before stepping out into the beautiful town of Filey. Have a look at our rooms page for pictures of our accommodation. We provide a welcome drink on arrival, full Yorkshire breakfast including vegetarian options and complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits in all guest rooms. White Rose Guest House is within five minutes walk from the train station and all main attractions making it an ideal place to stay whether you are travelling by car or by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Guest House Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing