We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Filey Grange Guest House
Ranked #7 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had a brilliant few days at the Filey Grange. Micheal and Jenifer are so lovely and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is superb! The rooms are spotless and are very comfortable. Cant fault it! I would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting a nice relaxing break in lovely Filey!

Room Tip: Stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Filey Grange, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
161
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a very enjoyable weekend at filey grange. The room was beautiful-contemporary but classic with lovely antiques. The location is great and the host are very friendly and welcoming and were sypathtic to our needs. The breakfasts were outstanding and we had something diffeent each da. All in all a wonderful experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your brilliant review of Filey Grange. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and wonderful breakfasts!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Overall an excellent experience. The room was comfortable, very clean, and well equipped. It was wonderful to have "real" milk in the fridge instead of those little cartons. The en-suite was also of a high standard with toiletries and accessories provided. The breakfast was also of excellent quality. So much choice is was difficult to decide not to eat too much!! Beautifully cooked and well presented. Again "real" butter, "real" jam and marmalade. No fiddly sachets. I would recommend the Guest House to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a pretty seaside town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Filey Grange guest house.Its lovely to know you had a comfortable stay,enjoyed the breakfast and would recommend us!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, england
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about Filey grange.
- Owned by a lovely couple who seemed to have genuinely thought about what makes a place nice to stay in. Lovely little touches like being greeted with a hot pot of tea and the offer of lending beach towels / drying wet clothes for you / a flask of tea for your day out.
- 5-10 mins walk to the beach (view of the sea within 1 minute walk) and 2 mins to local shops and restaurants / pubs.
-We had room 3, which is a double with a single room accessed within it - perfect for a couple with a toddler.
- Huge choice of breakfast options, owners very willing to accommodate our little one's allergies.
- Style-wise id describe filey grange as traditional but not chintzy and everything looks new and spotless.
- Only vaguely negative thing I can think of to say is that our room would have been a little small if we were going to spend lengthy periods in it during the day.
- also as other reviewers have said, you can't park outside the b&b but this seems to be the same for most of filey.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsZamboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Room 3 is the smaller of our 2 family rooms and is reflected in the price, we also appreciated your feed back form. The TV in the single room is a TV/DVD player which we have now labeled as TV/DVD. It is really nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the little extras we offer our guest to make their stay as special as possible
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first visit to Filey Grange but it won't be our last. Jennifer and Michael made us feel so welcome, our room was excellent with lots of little extras and the en-suit was spotless.The breakfast in the morning was superb with such a wide variety and cooked to perfection and the home made bread was a real treat. We would recommend staying here to anyone it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Filey Grange. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I'm a very fussy customer so I was so so pleased when Filey Grange lived up to all it's great reviews, Jennifer & Michael are obviously passionate about their business and it shows in all the small details, too many to list.
Our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough to try everything on the vast breakfast menu !! Much of the food is locally sourced or home grown including home made Jams & Bread which really shows in the quality...Fantastic !
Jennifer & Michael couldn't have been more accommodating & friendly...Thank you.
Just don't think you'll find better anywhere ,Quite "Simply The Best"
Looking forward to our next visit
Ian & Joyce Carr

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of Filey Grange, we re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lovely hotel, gorgeous rooms. I loved the vintage glass dishes, teacups and the small touches that made it so homely. Great service, a tea when we arrived, chocolate by the bedside and a good selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the bedroom, with fresh milk. The rooms were spotless and the bed very comfy. The breakfast was perfect, a full English. I can't praise this place enough. We will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisemabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Filey Grange Guest House. We look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#8 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filey Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filey Grange Guest House

Property: Filey Grange Guest House
Address: 27 West Avenue, Filey YO14 9AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Filey Grange Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* accommodation. Beautifully clean, comfortable rooms with lots of luxurious little touches; a huge choice of delicious, freshly cooked breakfasts using only the very best locally sourced ingredients; and hosts who look after all your needs without being intrusive. Sounds too good to be true?Not at all – it’s exactly what you’ll get at Filey Grange. The house may be Victorian, but the service is anything but. One recent guest was moved to tell us that the ‘worst part of staying was having to go back !And if you can drag yourself away from the ‘faultless accommodation (that was from another recent guest), then you’re just minutes’ walk away from the spectacular sweep of the beach at Filey Bay – great for relaxing in the summer, and something a little more bracing in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Filey Grange Guest House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing